Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tanco Demo at Kevin Moore Tractors, Killucan, Westmeath.

• 11-12-2013 9:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭

Got Mod approval before i posted this and thanks again Reilig.

http://www.donedeal.ie/silagegrabs-for-sale/tanco-demo-westmeath/6096353

Tanco Demo Westmeath,
    Friday 13th Dec, From 10.30am to 12.30pm
    at Kevin Moore Tractors, Killucan, Westmeath.

just thought i would throw this up in case anyone would be interested in having at look at this equipment as the winter feeding should be in full swing by now and i noticed a few threads about this type of handlers in the past.
    Any questions throw them at me and ill try to answer them (Intelligent questions now Bob),
    its short notice as its this friday but was just informed of this today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

What sizes and ballpark prices are they ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Check out the back of the ifj for more demos in different counties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

moy83 wrote: »
    What sizes and ballpark prices are they ?
    ill find that out for ya moy as i was just asked to give a hand as i went out the door to work this evening, there will be a tanco sales man there on the day doing the demo and im sure answering any questions too

I think 3600 for some reason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I've dealt with Kevin in the past and found him a likable and straight man to deal with.

Muckit wrote: »
    could be right, be interesting to see one working now. They look like they are a fair weight on their own before they even pick up a bale

Bizzum wrote: »
    I've dealt with Kevin in the past and found him a likable and straight man to deal with.
    Hardly call down for the tae are ya

Their main appeal for me is that they are dual purpose ie bale and pit. They are still 1000 too dear

Hardly call down for the tae are ya

Never know. I spend a bit of time about Clonlost and Sion Hill.

That doesnt sound bad but unfortunately its more money than I should spend for all we will be cutting out . Our own one is getting shook and the father burst 3 tines since we opened the pit so I must price a few bits and pieces and see whats the plan of attack .
    Can you weld new teeth over a straight blade I wonder ?

Their main appeal for me is that they are dual purpose ie bale and pit. They are still 1000 too dear
    yeah i would agree, but as you said one handler does all. we will be be doing both on the day id say aswell

That doesnt sound bad but unfortunately its more money than I should spend for all we will be cutting out . Our own one is getting shook and the father burst 3 tines since we opened the pit so I must price a few bits and pieces and see whats the plan of attack .
    Can you weld new teeth over a straight blade I wonder ?
    I think you have to get the whole set as it comes as a whole edge i think :confused:

Yup thats what I mean , like a new blade the lenght of the sheargrab but with the serrated edge .

you might have to cut the old edge off and weld the new teeth in the same area and line to keep the pressure the same i.e so that not too much pressure is on the new teeth if they were lower than the old blade was but open to correction here

I get you , it shouldnt be a problem to do that . The old blade is worn down too much to cut clean now anyhow and the tines are worn too short giving the same problem . Do ye sell tines and blades up there aswell ?

Never know. I spend a bit of time about Clonlost and Sion Hill.
    you def spent time in my sights so, i live in sion hill

Our own one is getting shook and the father burst 3 tines since we opened the pit [/quote]

She's breaking the tines because they're worn down too short and gap between tips and blade is now too much. Replace the cranked tines and your sorted

I get you , it shouldnt be a problem to do that . The old blade is worn down too much to cut clean now anyhow and the tines are worn too short giving the same problem . Do ye sell tines and blades up there aswell ?
    yeah seen a good few grabs refurbished there in the last few weeks both straight edge and seragated, should have a few tines in the stores im sure. not fully sure if the blades are there but could be got im sure

Our own one is getting shook and the father burst 3 tines since we opened the pit

She's breaking the tines because they're worn down too short and gap between tips and blade is now too much. Replace the cranked tines and your sorted[/QUOTE]
    yeah and i bet your losing a load of silage through the gap too between the tines and blade

Our own one is getting shook and the father burst 3 tines since we opened the pit

She's breaking the tines because they're worn down too short and gap between tips and blade is now too much. Replace the cranked tines and your sorted[/quote]

I was thinking that was the problem with them , the next problem is that all the tines are welded up into the bushings because there was too much play in them a couple of years ago !
    A new / secondhand grab might be the best option yet

You won't loose silage but it leaves big gaps in the pit face at bottom of each grab full

She's breaking the tines because they're worn down too short and gap between tips and blade is now too much. Replace the cranked tines and your sorted

I was thinking that was the problem with them , the next problem is that all the tines are welded up into the bushings because there was too much play in them a couple of years ago !
    A new / secondhand grab might be the best option yet
    you can cut out the tine holder and weld in a new one for the tines

yeah and i bet your losing a load of silage through the gap too between the tines and blade[/quote]

Not a problem there , the young lad goes around after and picks the stray bits up !

yeah and i bet your losing a load of silage through the gap too between the tines and blade

Not a problem there , the young lad goes around after and picks the stray bits up ![/QUOTE]
    ah keeping him busy, i like it

Not a problem there , the young lad goes around after and picks the stray bits up !
    ah keeping the young lad busy, i like your style

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

you def spent time in my sights so, i live in sion hill

Was he sleeping in your bed :D

We mostly stayed awake........ :^)

He's still walking around ain't he ;)

write up in the journal this week about bale shears on test and i think you might not be too far off on the price muckit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Ah yeah buy the shears and then buy tractor to fit it lol

Marooned75 wrote: »
    Ah yeah buy the shears and then buy tractor to fit it lol
    SSSSHH thats our plan tomorrow, dont give it away

Looks like that multi shear only really suitable for a telehandler or wheeled loader. Brut of a yoke!

Finally got round to this :o.
    First photo gives you an idea of the size of the Grab. It holds the same amount of silage as a 6ft Shear grab.
    we used a Landini Power mondial 110 with approx 1 ton of ballast behind (Pics 2+3). To be safe you would need more weight than this as even with the ton the back wheels had little weight on them once the bale was lifted.

These are pics of one of the side rams on the I75. They produce 15 bar of counter pressure and are monsters.
    The I75 seems to be on the heavy side at 630kgs on it own and IMO is better suited to telehandlers or tractors at around 150hp to be comfortable.
    The reason the I75 is so heavy is because the Shear is made from hardox steel.
    The reason for the hardox steel and the high poered rams is because the I75 is designed for Northern countries aswell and they have 4 inches of ice around each bale so the I75 is required to penetrate the ice before it even gets to the Silage

Hope the day went well. Much of a turn-out?

(Pic 1)
    This is the Pitface after the I75 took two bites out of it and (Pic 2) is it feeding in front of barriers

These photos give you an idea of the size of the grab.
    Width - 2m
    Height - 1.75m (Open)
    Height - 0.9m (Closed)
    Length - 1.3m

Pic 1+2 show the way a bale has to be picked up in order for the pinchers to clamp down on the net and plastic in order to hold onto them when the bale is split.
    Pic 3 is the bale already split on the ground
    Pic 4 is a photo of the pincher itself

This pic shows the I75s little brother the I70 which is for bales only and cant be used at the pitface.

Prices are approx (Dealers will vary and bracket options)
    I70 approx E3500 inl vat
    I75 approx E4200 inl vat

Imo you would need to be moving alot of bales (6-10 bales a day) to need an implement like this and as such you wouldnt have a large pit to justify the I75.
    This would mean that you would be looking at the I70 as your main weapon of choice but if i had to buy a bale shear this would be my choice,
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KKr2kxW2JBo
    As the Rohan Bale Slicer is priced at E3000 incl vat and brackets it is cheaper and the pinchers on it are in a better location to grab the plastic and net of bales that are badly out of shape, as this is where i feel the I70 and I75 were lacking.

Hope the day went well. Much of a turn-out?
    Day went well, had about 20-25 people show up which wasnt bad we thought as most farms are very small around us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

How would one of these cope with a proper round bale? The one in the video is only about half a normal bale or less? :eek::eek: It's flat on 1 side andwould be very easy to shear and hold the plastic - it would be interesting to see how it would cope with a bale that was actually round?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭charityboy

They actually handle a solid bale much better than the soft one in the video takes a bit of getting used to feeding soft wet bales as they don't always catch the plastic on them

reilig wrote: »
    How would one of these cope with a proper round bale? The one in the video is only about half a normal bale or less? :eek::eek: It's flat on 1 side andwould be very easy to shear and hold the plastic - it would be interesting to see how it would cope with a bale that was actually round?

Believe it or not as said before a round one is a lot easier to work than the one in the video. The tanco worked fine on nice round ones but when we offered up a bale that was kinked the pincher just caught the net. So that was a kink in its armour IMO.

Also reilig I'd say that bale in the video was on the bottom row of a stack 3 high I'm guessing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Fair play to sharpshooter and other contributors on this thread. Gives plenty of info and a realistic appraisal of the machines. Cant justify one of these at the minute, but maybe in time.

One big advantage for me would be less handling of bales wraps etc by hand so less smell on my clothes / hands. Where I work arriving into work reeking of silage a big no no. With a machine like this could throw on the overalls and feed a few bales or push in silage in the morn before work without getting down off tractor. Wife would appreciate it too! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Any fresh view's on these.

Thinking of the I73 Tanco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Tail painter

I am looking at the tanco 175 because it will feed pit silage as well. I dont like the position of the rams on the outside as they are likely to get damaged. The prodig or OCE shear bucket might be a better option. However, I dont know how easy it is to push them into pit silage. They are more expensive as well.