Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Protester spends 11 days living in car after being clamped.

• 09-12-2013 12:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭

http://www.sundayworld.com/top-stories/news/clamped-protester-refuses-to-back-down
    Heard this on the radio today and found the article.

This guy was apparently clamped while helping a blind lady who was going to mass. He believes that the clamp should be removed as
    “I don’t think it’s right that a person can be clamped for doing what I did."

I think this guy has way too much time on his hands and not enough sense. The last time I checked a parking offence could not be paid off with a good deed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Prodgey

If he was really helping the old lady it means he can't have been gone from his car for over 2/3 minutes.
    Meaning the clamper was a cnut.
    Most of them are.

Good luck to this chap, hope someone with a boltcutter helps him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

“I have the money but I don’t think I should pay,” Kelvin, who earns a living at festivals around the country, told the Irish Daily Star.

a living doing what? by the looks of him and his jumper I'm drawing my own conclusions, maaann.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

Ye get clamped by the corpo you have done wrong its simple!
    Nearly all corpo clampers have a bit of cop on,they private companys on the other hand are retards

Pay the fine and shut up about it,you were clamped for a reason,helping grannys means nothing

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,837 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

“I can’t leave my car,” he argued. “If I do the gardai will impound it and then I will have to pay the 135 euro release fee as well as the 80.”

How is he going to the toilet?? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Feel for the guy but that fact of life is that if you are let off parking illegally because you claim to be helping the blind/weaving baskets with orphans whatever, everybody will start ripping the piss with it.

Hard on the guy though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Prodgey wrote: »
    If he was really helping the old lady it means he can't have been gone from his car for over 2/3 minutes.
    Meaning the clamper was a cnut.
    Most of them are.

Good luck to this chap, hope someone with a boltcutter helps him out.

So in the space of 2/3 minutes the gardas came and saw the car, requested a clamper to come out and the clamper managed to clamp his car. Too much happen too quickly for me to believe what he saying.
    Not even going to mention how he didn't notice. If he was only parked there to help out the blind lady he had to be fairly close by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭lucky333

Too much time on his hands.. Probly wasn't helping any blind person to mass!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

11 days protest over an 80 euro clamping fine?

Seems a bit much.

Does he have a job? How's he been claiming dole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

11 days wages down the drain for a clamp worth more than the car

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    11 days protest over an 80 euro clamping fine?

Seems a bit much.

Does he have a job? How's he been claiming dole?

Maybe he's calling in sick. Probly get a cert

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

He's a right looking crustie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

No sympathy bud, pay the fine and move on.

Looks like the bloke from last years phone add (metor I think)
    Maybe it is him and it turns out to be an advertising campaign for metor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I bet he was one of those 'the dog ate my homework' kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Oh I'd say he stinks!!!!!

We need more details about how long he was gone ect did he see the lady, stop the car, then help her? Or was it parked there already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Doesn't sound like he parked there to help the lady, just that he happened to help her while parked there.

Can just imagine if the precedent was set.
    Clamper: Sorry sir, you're illegally parked. Now before I clamp you, have you done any good deeds on your journey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

“I have the money but I don’t think I should pay,” Kelvin, who earns a living at festivals around the country, told the Irish Daily Star.

a living doing what? by the looks of him and his jumper I'm drawing my own conclusions, maaann.

It's kinda like saying your job is a 'community organiser'. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

A PROTESTER who is sleeping in his clamped car in a stand-off with Dublin City Council has vowed to remain where he is.
    He may live in his car anyway?
    “There is process if a motorist feels they have been unfairly clamped.”
    The process in which you pay, and then never win the appeal, even if you are completely right, and need to goto court to prove it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

He has that tree hugger protesting about the banks even though im on the scratcher since 18 and never had a bank account look!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Nice jumper Lad. Did he get it in the 1970's shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I've met him a good few times over the years. He's a nice guy, completely harmless. I nearly choaked on my sambo when I saw this

Andy-Pandy wrote: »
    I've met him a good few times over the years. He's a nice guy, completely harmless. I nearly choaked on my sambo when I saw this

Does he live in his car?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

I do hope Kelvin will be warm enough in his car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Specialun wrote: »
    Nice jumper Lad. Did he get it in the 1970's shop

I'd say he got a present of it from the blind lady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

irish_goat wrote: »
    How is he going to the toilet?? :confused:

I presume someone is taking the p1ss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

I'd say he got a present of it from the blind lady.

Yea she knitted it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Clamp looks like its worth more than the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Bootsy.

Actually, a fella I work with came in wearing that same jumper recently and he got plenty of compliments from the ladies. He got it in Penny's for 7 quid apparently.

Anyway, I don't care what he was doing or not doing with an old blind women, I think fair play to him because f*ck clamping. Clamping has to be one of the worst things ever invented and should be banned immediately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Bootsy. wrote: »
    Clamping has to be one of the worst things ever invented and should be banned immediately
    Yeah, its terrible. But before clamping the streets were littered with cars and traffic jams always.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

But clamping just keeps those illegally parked vehicles stationery. It's a sh1t practice, but as long as it's the system in place, people can't whinge if they're clamped for parking where they shouldn't have parked. It's avoidable, in other words.

Why it can't just be towing for obstructions and tickets for lesser offences I don't understand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

But clamping just keeps those illegally parked vehicles stationery. It's a sh1t practice, but as long as it's the system in place, people can't whinge if they're clamped for parking where they shouldn't have parked. It's avoidable, in other words.

Why it can't just be towing for obstructions and tickets for lesser offences I don't understand...

I think clamping is following the same mindset as pushing a kid who was caught smoking by having him smoke a whole pack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Bootsy. wrote: »
    Actually, a fella I work with came in wearing that same jumper recently and he got plenty of compliments from the ladies. He got it in Penny's for 7 quid apparently.

Anyway, I don't care what he was doing or not doing with an old blind women, I think fair play to him because f*ck clamping. Clamping has to be one of the worst things ever invented and should be banned immediately

There'd be no need for it of people didn't abandon their cars for their own selfish reasons. I've seen some truly awful parking in my time and a clamp is the least they deserve.

It's very very simple, park properly and you won't get clamped. However, I'm referring to council clamps. Private clampers are well documented to be complete piss takers and should be regulated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

What a kind soul, they should hold a collection at mass for him next Sunday to help pay for its removal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭wawaman

The car was gone this morning. Whether this article had something to do with it or not

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

he could have just picked the lock and been on his way like a normal person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

Alot of judgemental posters here, I bet they would have more sympathy if the person was wearing a suit :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Zed Bank

If he really was helping an old woman I would have some sympathy for him, 80 euro is a lot of money but camping out in your car is counter intuitive. He could be earning the money back.