Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best/worst Xmas present for a runner

• 08-12-2013 10:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭

So we do Kris Kringle and I have ended up getting a voucher for a running shop for the last few years. Now it is useful but over done a bit at this stage. There is little thought in a voucher but there is some as at the end of the day it is hard to buy something running related for someone who seem to have everything. So what are good safe presents to buy a runner.

Good books are safe choice (as long as they don't already have it) rather than gear. So what do you think?

I have included the worst also so let us know if you have any funny ones that you got.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Worst:
    Dean Karnazes books

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Vouchers are grand. Means I can go buy what I need. Otherwise people would just presume I am a marathoner or fun runner and buy me junk which serves no purpose to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭woodchopper

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Otherwise people would just presume I am a fun runner and buy me junk which serves no purpose to me.

Many people who run find it fun regardless of pr's

I find it fun too.

My point was simply that most non runners assume running to mean long distances. Most running stores prove this, with most stock geared towards the longer runner. For that reason I'd be happy out with a voucher as a Kris kindle present.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Vouchers are grand. Means I can go buy what I need. Otherwise people would just presume I am a marathoner or fun runner and buy me junk which serves no purpose to me.

In fairness to them,ur 400 mtr time points to fun running:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭3DataModem

Perhaps - gasp - something not running related? ;)

ultraman1 wrote: »
    In fairness to them,ur 400 mtr time points to fun running:)
    A fun run is a friendly race that involves either road running or cross country running with participants taking part for their own enjoyment rather than competition. A fun run will usually be held to raise funds for a charity, with sponsors providing the revenue to cover organisational costs. Fun runs can include novelty categories, such as wearing costumes, and age categories for child, teen, and mature. Fun runs can also be included as a side event to a marathon or other more serious races. Motorcycle, snowmobile, and other motorized vehicle events are also sometimes categorized as "fun runs." One of the biggest annual fun runs in Europe is 'la Cursa El Corte Inglés' in Barcelona with about 55000 participants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Proud to be a fun runner. The day a runner doesn't have fun in what they are doing they might as well hang up their spikes/trainers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭Itziger

ecoli wrote: »

Proud to be a fun runner. The day a runner doesn't have fun in what they are doing they might as well hang up their spikes/trainers

Lads, and lassies, to be fair to Chivito, we all know what he means. The term fun run is mostly applied to races where 90% of the participants jog/walk/talk/drink. Now, call me a snob, but I prefer to think training 5 or 6 or 7 days a week and striving to improve a pb from year to year is not what a fun runner does. Doesn't mean this runner isn't enjoying it. But difference there is between the two, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Itziger wrote: »
    Lads, and lassies, to be fair to Chivito, we all know what he means. The term fun run is mostly applied to races where 90% of the participants jog/walk/talk/drink. Now, call me a snob, but I prefer to think training 5 or 6 or 7 days a week and striving to improve a pb from year to year is not what a fun runner does. Doesn't mean this runner isn't enjoying it. But difference there is between the two, no?

Not according to Jerry Kiernan :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Worst: my Dublin marathon video!

Best: a kick up the hole to get me back training again.

Actually maybe the dcm video would provide said kick :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭thewolf_ie

Book a race you know they like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭jfh

i got the The Complete Runner's Day-By-Day Log 2014 Calendar on amazon last year & found it very useful.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

jfh wrote: »
    i got the The Complete Runner's Day-By-Day Log 2014 Calendar on amazon last year & found it very useful.

will probably be even more useful next year..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭Briando

Worst:
    Dean Karnazes books

@RacoonQueen I've read his first book and thought it was ok, what is it about him/the book that is bad? Is he a fraud?
    Is there a good running book you would recommend? I want to get my sister a book for xmas?

Surely the best pressie(if you had somebody rich shopping for you) right now would be a Garmin 620?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Briando wrote: »
    @RacoonQueen I've read his first book and thought it was ok, what is it about him/the book that is bad? Is he a fraud?
    Is there a good running book you would recommend? I want to get my sister a book for xmas?

Regards Karnazes - if he could sprint half as well as he markets himself Bolt would be in trouble. :D

He is a decent athlete (in his specific discipline). The one thing I will say is that if the IAAF could learn a thing from him with regards to promotion

Take your pick

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=73261564

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭jlang

What ever gave you the idea I need more t-shirts? Especially cotton ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

A good present will be something both thoughtful and meaningful, but that also expands a person's horizons and opens their mind.

So something like "The triathlete's training bible" or even a subscription to Triathlete Europe magazine would be perfect for a runner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭Enduro

ecoli wrote: »
    Regards Karnazes - if he could sprint half as well as he markets himself Bolt would be in trouble. :D

He is a decent athlete (in his specific discipline). The one thing I will say is that if the IAAF could learn a thing from him with regards to promotion

Take your pick

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=73261564

Agreed about his phenomenal self-promotion abilities. But he really isn't a descent athlete (in any sense). Average would describe him better. The one time he actually turned up to race descent athletes at the 24 hour world champs he was 2nd last (if you count the ladies results in).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭likestosmile

A years subscription to the Irish runner mag..best present for a runner. Takes the hassle out of hounding the shopkeeper every couple of months. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭plodder

MrCreosote wrote: »
    A good present will be something both thoughtful and meaningful, but that also expands a person's horizons and opens their mind.

So something like "The triathlete's training bible" or even a subscription to Triathlete Europe magazine would be perfect for a runner.
    :) Not at all - utter nonsense. No way ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭Itziger

Enduro wrote: »
    Agreed about his phenomenal self-promotion abilities. But he really isn't a descent athlete (in any sense). Average would describe him better. The one time he actually turned up to race descent athletes at the 24 hour world champs he was 2nd last (if you count the ladies results in).

And there was I thinking he was a great downhiller! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

MrCreosote wrote: »

Ya, so they can give up running and just talk about it, and their bike and their gear and their bike...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Triathlete magazines remind me of the Financial Times Weekend magazine. Full of mad expensive stuff that you must own if you want to part of the in-crowd. The descriptions of the products in either magazine are equally ridiculous. And there's always one photograph that is so cringy, you have to hide it from friends...pretty much any issue with a pic of Faris Al-Sultan ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    Triathlete magazines remind me of the Financial Times Weekend magazine. Full of mad expensive stuff that you must own if you want to part of the in-crowd. The descriptions of the products in either magazine are equally ridiculous. And there's always one photograph that is so cringy, you have to hide it from friends...pretty much mag with a pic of Faris Al-Sultan ;)

Faris is a legend. The epitome of self confidence and be secure in one's self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭Enduro

Itziger wrote: »
    And there was I thinking he was a great downhiller! ;)

oops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭Tipp man running

A years subscription to the Irish runner mag..best present for a runner. Takes the hassle out of hounding the shopkeeper every couple of months. :P

Yip I get this every year as a present.....also socks, lots of running socks..luckily enough I can wear nearly anything on my feet without any issues.