Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why Aldi milk bottles are dirty?

• 08-12-2013 9:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭

Might be its only me
    but
    why do Aldi 2l milk bottles are so dirty?
    Almost like coal miners packing them not people with white overalls..

Always
    Any Aldi store

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Aldi do milk in bottles ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Why dirty milk bottles always any any

store

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

I accidentally the whole bottle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Probably because they're picked and packed by people in the warehouse that are handling boxes all day every day - boxes that are often a bit dusty. Happily, the milk is on the inside and plastic tends to be dustproof.

You'd want to see the state of the yoke they got the milk out of in the first place - sh1t everywhere. Moo.

Does everything have to be spotless these days? Milk used to come in battered old pails, straight from the cow.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I've never milk bottles seen in Aldi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I think he means plastic bottles

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Nimrod 7 wrote: »
    I've never milk bottles seen in Aldi.

Just ask yourself this.. do bottles have to be glass?

Eh?

Eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I heard Aldi and Lidl use rats milk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

cml387 wrote: »

Eh?

I think its just an image thing, when somebody says 'bottles' we automatically think glass, but now that I see what you're on about I agree with you, although I'm pretty sure that this occurrence is not exclusive to Aldi.

And whats with bananas? why are bananas always wet and smelly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Eh?

Eh?

I've asked,let you know when the answer comes in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

LordSutch wrote: »
    I think its just an image thing, when somebody says 'bottles' we automatically think glass, but now that I see what you're on about I agree with you, although I'm not sure that this occurrence is not exclusive to Aldi.

And whats with bananas? why are bananas always smelly and wet?

The monkeys fart on them to keep them fresh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

I always buy the cartons. There is 1 cent in the difference between a 2 liter bottle of milk and two 1 liter cartons. But the carton milk is from the ROI, but the bottled one is Northern Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Probably because they're picked and packed by people in the warehouse that are handling boxes all day every day - boxes that are often a bit dusty. Happily, the milk is on the inside and plastic tends to be dustproof.

You'd want to see the state of the yoke they got the milk out of in the first place - sh1t everywhere. Moo.

Does everything have to be spotless these days? Milk used to come in battered old pails, straight from the cow.

The milk arrives to the shop on a crate thingy with wheels and is wrapped in cling film type stuff. The crate is wheeled from the warehouse to the shop floor after the cling film* is taken off.
    I've often wondered how the containers of milk is mucky looking. Where is it coming from?

LordSutch wrote: »
    I think its just an image thing, when somebody says 'bottles' we automatically think glass, but now that I see what you're on about I agree with you, although I'm pretty sure that this occurrence is not exclusive to Aldi.

And whats with bananas? why are bananas always wet and smelly?

What's the rainforest like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

kneemos wrote: »
    What's the rainforest like?

So you mean they are totally fresh and in an unwashed state, OK . . . .

Fair enough, makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭banham

Chucken wrote: »
    The milk arrives to the shop on a crate thingy with wheels and is wrapped in cling film type stuff. The crate is wheeled from the warehouse to the shop floor after the cling film* is taken off.
    I've often wondered how the containers of milk is mucky looking. Where is it coming from?

Northern Ireland according to previous the poster. Maybe the trucks are dusty?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Dem Germans wit der durty hands.

banham wrote: »
    Northern Ireland according to previous the poster. Maybe the trucks are dusty?

:pac: I meant the muck, not the milk.

Thanks for enlightening me. Guess who put up the racking in the fridges that it's stored on. The volumes handled are mind-boggling, the warehouses are absolutely vast and are unavoidably a bit dusty, despite being cleaned constantly, the milk gets condensation so the containers are a bit damp, the dust sticks to the containers. The pickers gloves are usually a bit dusty from the massive volumes they pick and pack. Everything else is in cardboard bulk outers, so at least triple packed - no dust on the inners. Dust in big, big warehoues is a bitch - it's inevitable.

MJ23 wrote: »
    Dem Germans wit der durty hands.
    Usually Irish and Polish workers handling the stock as it happens. :D The Germans tend to be the ones in suits..

. Guess who put up the racking in the fridges that it's stored on.

I dunno! Who? ;)

Bottler.

I dunno! Who? ;)
    Some nucking facker I'd say. Flipping freezing in there..the ones for the frozen foods was worse, -26. After 20 minutes, even your snot freezes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

It's because the likes of Aldi don't invest as heavily in cleaning etc. as the likes of the Musgrave group, they have massive warehousing too but their standards are much higher for warehousing.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Eh?

Eh?

Nope, you can have all types of bottles..like a bottle of coke or a bottle of Yop, as long as it has a roughly cylindrical shape with a cap at the top.

But a plastic cuboid casing with a handle on it is just a can..I'm sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Why Aldi milk bottles are dirty?

Milk bottles in Aldi dirty are?

Don't know how they make any money with amount of stock that gets ripped open and strewn around.People wouldn't dream of it anywhere else but feel free to damage stuff in Aldi and Lidl.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    It's because the likes of Aldi don't invest as heavily in cleaning etc. as the likes of the Musgrave group, they have massive warehousing too but their standards are much higher for warehousing.
    I don't agree. My wife was an OPs manager for Musgraves and I specialise in warehouse installations, amongst other things. I have done a lot of work for both Lidl and Aldi - they both have a scrubber dryer running constantly and the warehouses are very clean, but the scale is just so vast that dust is unavoidable. Unless you go to the lengths McDonalds go to -and I have completed total preparation work for McDonalds warehouse audits and passed(a feckin rare feat believe me, I don't know anyone else outside of Metroplex that has thought there might be some)-you will have dust to some extent. Only, IMO, McDonalds don't. Spotless is the word. The only higher standard of cleanliness I've come across is in clean areas and rooms in pharma plants and even that's a close run thing. I've done some damn dusty, dirty jobs in clean rooms that I was amazed were being done tbh)

For big, industrial warehouses, both Lidl and Aldi are pretty damn clean. I've seen some horror stories I'd not bother going into, but Lidl and Aldi are not ones, they're very Germanic. Some places are a feckin joke and I wonder how they are not closed down. Some pretty big ones too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Problem123456

OP do you even english?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The milk crowd that supply Aldi used to rent out space in the warehouse where I work, the dirt comes from the trip down on the truck, the milk comes in on pallets and a guy then transfers them to the metal trollies, the odd one falls on the floor as well and is horsed in with the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Usually Irish and Polish workers handling the stock as it happens. :D The Germans tend to be the ones in suits jackboots.[/S].

Fyp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Some nucking facker I'd say. Flipping freezing in there..the ones for the frozen foods was worse, -26. After 20 minutes, even your snot freezes.

Ah here! some people wouldn't work to warm themselves:-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Ould Mr Brennan

Cienciano wrote: »

Alright now everybody tuck your pants into your socks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Seamus1964

OP do you even english?

No, english is not my first language nor irish, glad if I could make you feel better (little laugh is always welcomed ) and feel free to correct me, danke!

However, when I buy milk from supervalue or even tesco milk bottles, cartrons, cans - whatever, they are clean
    Its just that black marks (fingerprints and spillage) are all over the place and this just puts me off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

Its just that black marks (fingerprints and spillage) are all over the place and this just puts me off
    Just pour it into your china jug and DON'T lick the little drop that runs down the bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Have you ever tried to milk a rat? In reality, they have whales in enormous vitrines. A whale produces as much milk as 100 cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

dammit fat tony, you promised me dog or higher..!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Seamus1964

red sean wrote: »
    Just pour it into your china jug and DON'T lick the little drop that runs down the bottle.

:):):)