Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice on a new tractor please!

• 08-12-2013 4:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭

Well lads,
    We're in the market for a 2nd hand tractor, in or around the 100-110hp mark.
    I,ve 2 questions.
    No.1 what tractor would ye go for if yere budget was €35000?
    No.2 would ye buy privately or stick with a dealer?
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭agriman27

Massey ferguson 5455 with front end loader, good enough reputation and would hold its value well. I'd look around the dealers first and price around

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

agriman27 wrote: »
    Massey ferguson 5455 with front end loader, good enough reputation and would hold its value well. I'd look around the dealers first and price around

spending that money I would be inclined to go with a dealer aswell. I would go massey aswell. Ya 5455 is a good choice or the next model up. A nice 6465 if a 6 cylinder was needed. Even a 6265 would be an excellent choice and id say will hold its value very well.

I think I would rather buy a tractor that never had a loader on it and put one on it myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

My 5465 will be in the dealers yard in early Jan. 5000 hrs from new 08.
    6 cyl never had a loader. Needs tyres otherwise bullet proof

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

delaval wrote: »

what are you going for? that seems highish hours for something with no loader unless your a contractor. out of curiosity what work was it doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭huwboy

Back in the summer my dad was looking for a tractor, saw one he liked advertised (private sale) on the internet, over in the east of England, price and tractor looked good, too good. Made some enquiries, tried calling the advertiser, e-mailed him in the end, he gave some story about being abroad, so we couldn't view the tractor. He said he would send it over to Wales on the back of a lorry, and if we liked it we could buy it, all sounded a bit dodgy. Told him we had relations over in the east of England who could come out and view it, he wasn't having any of it. Google searched the phone number he provided in the advert, it came up as the fax number of a hospital in Norwich! I think the lesson learned is that although most private sellers are genuine, there are some people up to no good!, and if something sounds too good to be true, then it probably is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

For that budget I would have my self a new holland TS/Tl 100 or 110 or a TS 115, What will you be using it for? And I would also go for a dealer too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭TossL1916

delaval wrote: »

Sound delaval but i,ll be keeping well away from a 6 cylinder, especially a massey 6 cylinder, they,re not known for their fuel economy

5455 sounds like its worth looking into thanks guys.
    We're going looking at a 08 100 hp Case that a local dealer has within the next few days, they,re the only details we have on it at the minute. It has a loader on it.
    Any idea what that tractor would be like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

f140 wrote: »
    what are you going for? that seems highish hours for something with no loader unless your a contractor. out of curiosity what work was it doing

Was on a feeder for first two winters. All rest is hauling cattle and slurry. Mowing our silage, fert spreading. Lagoon agitator. All our own work. We only keep one good tractor and a loader. Used to arsein' around with a few middling yokes gave that up as an expensive pastime.

We bought Massey 7614

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭TossL1916

yellow50HX wrote: »
    For that budget I would have my self a new holland TS/Tl 100 or 110 or a TS 115, What will you be using it for? And I would also go for a dealer too.

slurry spreading with a 2000 gallon tanker, fertiliser spreading, mowing, topping handling bales, winter feeding with the loader etc. We have a 95hp Lamborghini but we now need a second tractor to keep up with the workload.

What age tractor would the new holland be to fit into our price range?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭irish_bhoy09

buy a new zetor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

TossL1916 wrote: »
    slurry spreading with a 2000 gallon tanker, fertiliser spreading, mowing, topping handling bales, winter feeding with the loader etc. We have a 95hp Lamborghini but we now need a second tractor to keep up with the workload.

What age tractor would the new holland be to fit into our price range?

2006-2010 depending on condition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

john deere 6330, new holland 6030, massey 5455!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

For that sort of money you'd probably be into a late tsa nh or possibly even the likes of a 6020 or 6030.(depends wether you want loader)

In that power bracket i wouldn't be afraid of going to a 6cyl as there more than likely the baby of the 6's so the engine wont be working that hard wereas a 4cyl will be working hard enough at full power and may actually be thirstiest than the 6cyl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Massey 5455, good machine for loader work too if it has dyna 4 on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Dealer all the way at that kind of money.

Probably go for a TS110A myself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

Id go with the MF. Will have the best resale value come trading in time.
    Ya 5455 or 6475