Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

After Hours

• 06-12-2013 11:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭

So good people of after hours are ye looking forward to a lock in or two or more this Christmas in the local pub?, best nights ever i find, good craic, sing songs and the odd storyteller, free pint or two from the bartender and catching up with friends and family home for the festive season, one of the many things i like about the Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Nah, fúck them all

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 EvenOlderTom

No.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

I see what you did there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I shall spend Christmas alone with a Pot Noodle, a bottle of Louis XIII de Rémy Martin, 20 Silk Cut Blue and the golden dreams of my yesterdays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Smashed drunk.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Nah yer grand :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Lock ins are the most over hyped thing ever.

You're not part of a cool secret club. You're just people still drinking when everyone else has gone home. Usually boring as ****.

The best part of the night is when the pub is busy and you're free to do what you want and go where you want

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Lock ins are the most over hyped thing ever.

You're not part of a cool secret club. You're just people still drinking when everyone else has gone home. Usually boring as ****.

The best part of the night is when the pub is busy and you're free to do what you want and go where you want

Someone never had a decent lock in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

I have exams right up til Christmas eve :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

Nope christmas is sh!t!
    It Is a commercial holiday just another excuse for people to waste money on material things that they don't need
    And eat and drink like pigs
    I won't be heading to any pub to waste my money
    I'm looking forward to getting my bag of coal for christmas.
    Fvck you santa!
    Rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

SV wrote: »

Yeah that's exactly my point. I've been present at about 15. I'd say 2 were really enjoyable. That's not good odds!

If a regular night out was as bad as a lock in, I wouldn't go out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Healy Rae Permit Holder

Yeah that's exactly my point. I've been present at about 15. I'd say 2 were really enjoyable. That's not good odds!

If a regular night out was as bad as a lock in, I wouldn't go out!
    Maybe change your saloon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

I'm all in favour of a mid-winter break, the longer the better, to do as you will. For me it has always been eat and drink a little too much, gather family together, a few walks in the winter air, catch up with friends I have been negligent about contacting, but mostly just hibernate. But each to their own. Because if we didn't have this break in our generally miserable winter to look forward to, alot of us would probably top ourselves. Hell, our winters arej worse than a Scandinavian ones. I don't care whether you call it the Winter Solstice Festival, Happy Birthday Dear Jesus, or Cheers Marks and Spencer, I'm all for it. The Christians hijacked it from the Pagans, and in turn had it hijacked from them by Mammon, who in turn will probably forfeit it to boards. The Irish Times used to print a raft of letters after Christmas decrying the closedown of the country for a week. Feck the begrudgers. Let's push it out to two weeks. If we continue in the right direction, in time it could swallow up most of our awful winters. Why shouldn't we hibernate? Squirrels do it. Bring it on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Stuck in some dingy pub with towny losers who are there all year round? eh no thanks LOL!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I'm just going to stand under every mistletoe possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

K Im up for it....gonna start a sing song
    "it was Christmas eve babe......"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

You should get one of those hats with the mistletoe hanging out in front of them

Move over beatch......thats my mistletoe.. ;)

Mariasofia wrote: »
    In An Droichead Beag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Mariasofia wrote: »

#drunk

What fun it is to ride a reindeer in the hay. Shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

After Hours
    AH

#drunk

What fun it is to ride a reindeer in the hay. Shed.

#not drunk enough ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Lock ins? I thought that the pubs can stay open 24/7 now. Wasn't the law changed some years back?

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    Lock ins? I thought that the pubs can stay open 24/7 now. Wasn't the law changed some years back?
    Just some ones ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Good user name OP, as far as the thread matter's concerned, dunno really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

So good people of after hours are ye looking forward to a lock in or two or more this Christmas in the local pub?, best nights ever i find, good craic, sing songs and the odd storyteller, free pint or two from the bartender and catching up with friends and family home for the festive season, one of the many things i like about the Christmas.

Ah will there be a lock-in in Kilgarvan anytime soon Healy Rae Permit Holder? :)

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Ah will there be a lock-in in Kilgarvan anytime soon Healy Rae Permit Holder? :)
    When isn't there?..;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Ride me sideways was another one!

I'll be drunk for a good portion of the Christmas period so I wouldn't rule out ending up in a lock in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

My annual Christmas walk is to allow me to sober up after a liquid dinner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

I have never been to a lock in. I spend a lot of time in pubs too :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Rubat

SV wrote: »

I remember going to a few of those in mcgruders on james' st they were legendary pity the place is gone:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭rustedtrumpet

Lock in? Free pints from the bartender? Craic and dancing? Odd Story teller? Stories with friends who have returned home?

What is this, pre famine Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭salacious crumb

feargale wrote: »
    I'm all in favour of a mid-winter break, the longer the better, to do as you will. For me it has always been eat and drink a little too much, gather family together, a few walks in the winter air, catch up with friends I have been negligent about contacting, but mostly just hibernate. But each to their own. Because if we didn't have this break in our generally miserable winter to look forward to, alot of us would probably top ourselves. Hell, our winters arej worse than a Scandinavian ones. I don't care whether you call it the Winter Solstice Festival, Happy Birthday Dear Jesus, or Cheers Marks and Spencer, I'm all for it. The Christians hijacked it from the Pagans, and in turn had it hijacked from them by Mammon, who in turn will probably forfeit it to boards. The Irish Times used to print a raft of letters after Christmas decrying the closedown of the country for a week. Feck the begrudgers. Let's push it out to two weeks. If we continue in the right direction, in time it could swallow up most of our awful winters. Why shouldn't we hibernate? Squirrels do it. Bring it on!

*applause*