Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tagging houses for robbery

• 06-12-2013 6:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭

I came home this evening to find a scarecrow stuck in the bush outside the house, it was made of cardboard looked like a halloween decoration! Was thinking it was maybe put there on purpose as a way of tagging the house to be robbed.

Has anyone heard or seen anything like this before? I know this is after hours but serious answers would be appreciated!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Watch out for this, the Wizard of Oz gang use this as a marker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Jeepers Creepers !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Probably looking for Aunt Sally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Wren boys are early this year.

Yeh, sounds inconspicuous alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Me?

It's just there to keep the kids away from your house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭Filibuster

Didn't John Gilligan say his assassination attempt last night was just a Halloween prank. The OP had better keep some sweets at the door just in case..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Filibuster wrote: »
    Didn't John Gilligan say his assassination attempt last night was just a Halloween prank. The OP had better keep some sweets at the door just in case..
    Care to allubriate? I missed that one? Who tried to sassin him?

OP, the scarecrow means they broke in, found feck all and left. It's a sort of "Don't bother lads" sign. probably..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

The scarecrow is there to prevent a murder on your premises. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭The Dagda

Irishcrx wrote: »
    I came home this evening to find a scarecrow stuck in the bush outside the house, it was made of cardboard looked like a halloween decoration! Was thinking it was maybe put there on purpose as a way of tagging the house to be robbed.

Has anyone heard or seen anything like this before? I know this is after hours but serious answers would be appreciated!

Wow I'd say you're right, it's so subtle it must be for criminal reasons. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

I heard that sometimes burglars case out houses ideal to rob and they just remember which ones are good, but that doesn't sound very likely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I came home this evening to find a scarecrow stuck in the bush outside the house, it was made of cardboard looked like a halloween decoration!

Is your surname Crowe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

anncoates wrote: »
    Is your surname Crowe?

I think its Mrs King!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Wouldn't it be better for the thieves to just break in, and not leave a sign up "we'll be back later for your stuff"?
    It's not like it makes sense to possibly warn anyone that the house may be broken into..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Pull it up and stick it in the neighbours hedge.

"Tag, you're it!" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭highly1111

I just posted this on my facebook page:

Few dodgy yokes going around our area scoping out houses or something. Our sensor light went off and I heard some shuffling outside. I went out to find a "lady" looking very shady in our driveway and then asking, did I have any spare clothes Darling??? There were a few of her "colleagues" at the end of the driveway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭johnty56

I would imagine its some sort of voodoo doll and you must have upset the local witchdoctor.... I'd say you should look under the bed tonight before you go to sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Crows Joe.

Robbing houses Joe.

They come down the chimney Joe, peck the sh*te out of you and then rob your stuff Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

set fire to your house OP , the Scarecrow should rescue you..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Leave out some fresh brains and he'll off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

highly1111 wrote: »
    I just posted this on my facebook page:

Few dodgy yokes going around our area scoping out houses or something. Our sensor light went off and I heard some shuffling outside. I went out to find a "lady" looking very shady in our driveway and then asking, did I have any spare clothes Darling??? There were a few of her "colleagues" at the end of the driveway.

What the actual fcuk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Hobos used do this in the 19th century with chalk. It was a sophisticated system OP. Modern day thugs are thick f*cks, they use mobiles, verbal communication etc to set up robberies not scarecrows in a bush ffs :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

Having weighed up all the evidence the most likely scenario is that thee OP is going to be murdered.

I would say quite soon and all probablity in a gruesome manner.

Perhaps the killer will eviscerate him and fill his carcass with straw or maybe nail him to a tree in the middle of a field for the crows to feast on.

Obviously i'm only guessing but i hope you get the idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

OP's been Wurzeled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭dr strangelove

stmol32 wrote: »
    OP's been Wurzeled.

Do you have any cider in the house?
    Or cider making equipment?
    Apples maybe.....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

This is how it starts, expect a full write up on gangs using scarecrows as markers in the daily mail next week.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Do you have any cider in the house?
    Or cider making equipment?
    Apples maybe.....?

...or a brand new combine harvester?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Was thinking it was maybe put there on purpose as a way of tagging the house to be robbed.
    So if you were a robber is this the method you would use, do you think its a good idea?

I found a fantastic method to tag houses for people to identify later, its a little known fact but many houses have numbers on them these days, so if I want to notify somebody which house to go to I can phone/text/email them that number & street name.

Its rumoured that aliens or the stonemasons put these secret numbers up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭TheMza

Three "carol singers" called at our house the other night. Three young lads, hoods up, no xmas hats or badges etc. Two women in their twenties at the end of the drive, smoking fags. When asked who they were collecting for they mumbled something and went off up the road. They were travellers.
    Two houses on the road behind me were robbed the previous night, so this is not just a random accusation. They were definitely scoping the house out, and the guards flew up the road after them about five minutes later. Burn their halting sites down and throw away the key, absolute filth-bags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

TheMza wrote: »
    Three "carol singers" called at our house the other night. Three young lads, hoods up, no xmas hats or badges etc. Two women in their twenties at the end of the drive, smoking fags. When asked who they were collecting for they mumbled something and went off up the road. They were travellers.
    Two houses on the road behind me were robbed the previous night, so this is not just a random accusation. They were definitely scoping the house out, and the guards flew up the road after them about five minutes later. Burn their halting sites down and throw away the key, absolute filth-bags.

Why, then, would they need a key? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭TheMza

mitosis wrote: »
    Why, then, would they need a key? :confused:

key to the cells :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash