Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying a used car - "just passed nct"

• 05-12-2013 7:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7

A quick question: I'm looking for a cheap used car. If an ad says that it has just passed the NCT does that mean the car is alright or should I still get a mechanic to have a look at it anyways? What would a mechanic look at that an NCT would ignore? I'm on a tight budget and would like to avoid paying a mechanic to inspect so I'm hoping the NCT is enough :)

Thanks a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

You should always bring a mechanic as although the nct checks the car out and shows it safe. It doesn't mean it's mechanically perfect it could still need a load of work ultimately costing you more in the long run than just getting a mechanic to check it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Nct means it was roadworthy at the time of the test. It has no bearing on how reliable the car would be or of any problems with the engine gearbox clutch electrics etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Recently passed NCT only proves that car fulfilled safety and environmental requirements at time of the best.

Gearbox could be nearly gone and it would still pass NCT.
    Same as clutch - it could be slipping, and car still pass NCT.
    Timing belt could be just about to snap.
    Tyres could be just at minimum legal limit, and car would still pass (f.e. tyre had 1.6mm thread during the test so it passed, but 1 week later is has only 1.5mm and is not legal anymore).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 mgscott

Ah bollix, I thought ye might say that! Thanks for the replies.

Ok, then my problem is that I don't have a clue about cars and haven't driven in 4 years. Can I just walk into a garage and ask will they assess a car for me? How much should an assessment set me back? And finally could you recommend anyone in dublin 14 area?

Thanks, thanks and thanks again!

How much are you spending on this car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

I looked at a bmw in the past that had a new nct 2 days prior. It had FSH and receipts of recent work done. I still took it to a garage for an inspection (50e) and it was the best 50e I ever spent. If I hadn't and bought it I would have been driving the ultimate **** heap

colm_mcm wrote: »
    How much are you spending on this car?

I've got a budget of around 2 grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

CiniO wrote: »
    Recently passed NCT only proves that car fulfilled safety and environmental requirements at time of the best.

Gearbox could be nearly gone and it would still pass NCT.
    Same as clutch - it could be slipping, and car still pass NCT.
    Timing belt could be just about to snap.
    Tyres could be just at minimum legal limit, and car would still pass (f.e. tyre had 1.6mm thread during the test so it passed, but 1 week later is has only 1.5mm and is not legal anymore).

Not forgetting that with 2 worn out shocks a car can still pass the NCT.

mgscott wrote: »

You'd really be better off buying privately with that budget, all you'll get is cars bought up by 'cash for cars' merchants and flogged on for profit with little comeback if it goes pear shaped.
    You can tell a lot about a car by meeting the owners.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056198864

Take €200 out of your budget for a mechanic to sound out a potential car. Bring a mate to look at and test drive the car then use the mechanic if you're happy enough to buy.

mgscott wrote: »

Spending €50 or €100 for an inspection will be cheaper than the possible issues with a €2k car. Can't recommend a garage but just call into a local garage and ask how much for an inspection, it's always better to get a car on a ramp, or see if any mechanic will do a nixer.

If you read the stickies and plenty of research you can find out most things to check when buying a car. It's always better to get a second person to check it out before you buy.

Don't forget to do a history check on the car you finally decide to buy. There may not be finance owing but it could reveal previous claims.

I was looking for a €2k car for the missus earlier in the year, anything in Dublin garages was scrap to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Del2005 wrote: »
    Not forgetting that with 2 worn out shocks a car can still pass the NCT.
    A car with all shocks completely gone will still pass the NCT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

I was looking for a €2k car for the missus earlier in the year, anything in Dublin garages was scrap to be fair.
    With that budget you could get a decent car from private hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭timmy4u2

The NCT is a starting point. You will know that the brake pipes and flexible pipes are ok. You will know that the steering, ball joints, tracking, brakes, lights, exhaust, steering gaiters, wheel bearings, emmisions are ok. You will know that the shocks are not leaking but you will not know if they are good or bad as they are measured on imbalance.you will know that there is not excessive rust around load bearing areas to include seat belt anchorage points.
    You will not know about the condition of the engine, gearbox etc
    but a knowledgeable guy should have a good idea, and he will shurely know the condition of the tyres and can do a bounce test on the shocks and listen to drive shafts etc

Seweryn wrote: »
    With that budget you could get a decent car from private hands.

I know, we got an absolute minter of a yaris

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Most sub 2k cars in any garage will be scrap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭timmy4u2

Scortho wrote: »
    I bought a Stilo three years ago for €725 for a neighbour. I spent €120 on it and she has never had an ounce ofctrouble from it........so far.
    You will buy right privately as garages are burdened with vat and warranties.

Scortho wrote: »

Most garages selling sub 2k cars should be avoided. To make a profit they either need to sell loads, really hard, or cut corners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Del2005 wrote: »
    Most garages selling sub 2k cars should be avoided. To make a profit they either need to sell loads, really hard, or cut corners.

Which was my point!:p

Lots of good advice there. Thanks a million lads :D