Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dog deterent.

• 04-12-2013 2:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭

Anyone advise on a device that can stop dogs from attacking while cycling/walking? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Attacking or just barking/chasing?

Attacking: report to guards.
    Barking: just keep going. Some dogs do this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Having previously been faced with a big and nasty dog, a hostile owner and a disinterested local Garda and dog warden - I adopted as my preferred weapon of choice an old water bottle filled with water and Tabasco sauce.

One well aimed squirt has proven to be sufficient to make sure the dog now gives me a wide berth rather than the other away around.

The key point on the day was remembering which bottle was for me and which was for the dog!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

A squirt from the water bottle usually distracts them.

If I'm walking (usually at night) I take the bike light and give them 450 lumens in flashing mode into their eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭tomdempsey200

boot

boot
    Takes a bit of skill to avoid a clipless moment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭bambergbike

Angry shouting can help - keep your voice deep and grumpy.

Most dogs don't like being squirted in the face with a water bottle.

You can wave a frame pump around threateningly, if you have such a thing.

Or you could buy one of those aerosols that make a horrible noise dogs don't like much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1986/en/act/pub/0032/sec0023.html#sec23

Buy a sheep introduce it to dog, satisfy yourself that dog is a threat to sheep.
    Then shoot dog.:D

Seriously, talk to owner.
    If that fails talk to dog warden.

More to the point, is their anything that can be done about dog owners?

Much as I hate dogs, I suppose their behavior is influenced by nasty owners. I'd like to bring in legislation whereby dogs and their owners must be kept on a lead while in a public place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

ford2600 wrote: »
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1986/en/act/pub/0032/sec0023.html#sec23

Buy a sheep introduce it to dog, satisfy yourself that dog is a threat to sheep.
    Then shoot dog.:D

Seriously, talk to owner.
    If that fails talk to dog warden.

last one that came after me..i rang the dog warden when i got back to the house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

Squirt from water bottle always works for me. First time I did it to a small dog I nearly fell in drain in historics , the dog thought he was drowning.

Just as a matter of interest to those of you who have contacted dog wardens - in my experience, most troublesome dogs are in rural areas, so how do you give an address, identify the owner etc. especially if you are cycling in unfamiliar territory.

I never have, but have talked to owners. Firmly letting them no to deal with it or warden will. Many have no licence.
    Also let them know you know they are liable in event of accident/bite etc.

On location, strava/google maps when home will narrow it down. Get townsland and inform warden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Works on Buffalo, should work on a dog.

283200.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

In my experience reporting a dangerous or potentially dangerous dog to the gardai was a waste of time and money. I got badly bitten by a dog when I was cycling. The owner didn't want to know so I reported it to the Gardai. Six months later they told me they weren't proceding.

So I carried a club. Seemed to work just fine. The thing is if the owner controls their animal as they, should then said animal is going to be perfectly safe. If they won't.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭slap/dash

I've had this issue. It's usually in a remote enough area so that stopping and remonstrating with an owner who may not even be around only would allow said dog to have at you.

There's one in particular along the strawberry beds that lies in wait at times and jumps out from behind a blind driveway.

I would like something that pre-emptively can be used that's an anti dog noise maker. Anyone got recommendations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

slap/dash wrote: »
    I've had this issue. It's usually in a remote enough area so that stopping and remonstrating with an owner who may not even be around only would allow said dog to have at you.

There's one in particular along the strawberry beds that lies in wait at times and jumps out from behind a blind driveway.

I would like something that pre-emptively can be used that's an anti dog noise maker. Anyone got recommendations?

The amazon link above also includes a "Dog Dazer" ultrasonic gadget for £24, I use one on the Bull Island when jogging to deal with the myriad uncontrolled mutts illegally off the leash down there, and it works with all but the most determined nuisance dogs. But it's the owners who should really be spancelled!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭slap/dash

Joe prim wrote: »
    The amazon link above also includes a "Dog Dazer" ultrasonic gadget for £24, I use one on the Bull Island when jogging to deal with the myriad uncontrolled mutts illegally off the leash down there, and it works with all but the most determined nuisance dogs. But it's the owners who should really be spancelled!

Cool, I just saw the pepper spray type stuff (on my phone here). I'd prefer to not really do something that could be an escalation or assault on the animal which is after all, not really to blame. Is it light and easy to use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

mitosis wrote: »
    In my experience reporting a dangerous or potentially dangerous dog to the gardai was a waste of time and money. I got badly bitten by a dog when I was cycling. The owner didn't want to know so I reported it to the Gardai. Six months later they told me they weren't proceding.

So I carried a club. Seemed to work just fine. The thing is if the owner controls their animal as they, should then said animal is going to be perfectly safe. If they won't.......

What's the legal standing here I wonder. Are you entitled to sue, which would certainly seem likely, & if so what's probable kind of outcome? The bitten person would seem to hold all the aces.
    . . . Not that I'm a suing kind of person but just out of interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭Corkbah

mitosis wrote: »

I'm sure if you took a legal action for damages against the owner they'd be pretty quick to take note. (and you could still do this - provided the attack happened less than 2 yrs ago)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

Quick bit of searching re-the legal standing:

http://www.injury-compensation.ie/dog-bite-injury-compensation/

Corkbah wrote: »
    I'm sure if you took a legal action for damages against the owner they'd be pretty quick to take note...
    If they didn't have a licence, they could just deny ownership of they dog, saying it was just a stray who hangs around etc.

For me, that would be an ideal opportunity to shoot the dog on the spot in front of them. "Well, you said it wasn't yours". :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

Corkbah wrote: »
    I'm sure if you took a legal action for damages against the owner they'd be pretty quick to take note. (and you could still do this - provided the attack happened less than 2 yrs ago)

Thanks. It happened too long ago to now do anything about it :( At the time I got a medical report and reported it to the Gardai as I wanted the owners to take responsibility for it. It never occured to me to sue at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Johnny Jukebox

Barking dog, I just ignore, and keep a close eye on the dog until past.

Attacking dog gets a blast of pepper spray, only ever used it once and it worked a treat.

Couldn't be bothered with engaging with disinterested owners, wardens or guards tbh...

Its unfair on the dog but not as unfair as a lump out of me.

it's daft to think you would get off the bike and remonstrate with the owner..

more trouble than it's worth and you'd have the dog to deal with too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭nordicb

Dogs get confused if you bark back :D

But seriously, there is nothing wrong with the dog usually, it's the owner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭jgreene83

The dog is really only protecting its territory from us Lycra clad intruders, much like any of us would metaphorically bark at and chase an intruder (Lycra clad or not) in our own home. Once the dog is satisfied you're leaving its territory it'll leave you alone. I find shouting "NO" or "Get in" (and such) at the dog in a commanding voice and increasing your pace is enough to deter them. Works for me as there's a lot of dogs on some routes I take, plus the dog will eventually get to know you and not bother. Pepper spray sounds like a silly idea to me, what happens when you accidentally spray yourself or a gust wind blows it back onto you?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Johnny Jukebox

jgreene83 wrote: »
    The dog is really only protecting its territory from us Lycra clad intruders, much like any of us would metaphorically bark at and chase an intruder (Lycra clad or not) in our own home. Once the dog is satisfied you're leaving its territory it'll leave you alone. I find shouting "NO" or "Get in" (and such) at the dog in a commanding voice and increasing your pace is enough to deter them. Works for me as there's a lot of dogs on some routes I take, plus the dog will eventually get to know you and not bother. Pepper spray sounds like a silly idea to me, what happens when you accidentally spray yourself or a gust wind blows it back onto you?!

I could care less what the dog thinks, once he attacks he's fair game. The spray can has a molded grip and is pressurized.

Not as silly as sitting in A&E waiting for a set of painful shots.

jgreene83 wrote: »
    ... Once the dog is satisfied you're leaving its territory it'll leave you alone....
    Except in the case of Dunsink Lane (Finglas) where several dozen Travellers' dogs chased me for a fair bit. I thought I had escaped only to discover that the council had closed off the road a couple of kms further on making it a cul de sac. Had to go back through them again, and their reinforcements in the form of children with sticks and stones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

If they didn't have a licence, they could just deny ownership of they dog, saying it was just a stray who hangs around etc.

For me, that would be an ideal opportunity to shoot the dog on the spot in front of them. "Well, you said it wasn't yours". :pac:

An example of why people shouldn't have guns. Completely over the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

PucaMama wrote: »
    An example of why people shouldn't have guns. Completely over the top.

The cyclist is really only protecting its territory from the fur clad intruders.

Plenty of other ways to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Xylitol chocolate?

Often had a grand evening walking the mountainside looking for a pack of rogue dogs responsible for killing sheep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

My interaction dogs is mostly small ones (big ones seem smarter) pelting out of their garden trying to get themselves caught in my spokes. I don't usually have enough time to spray them with my bottle, I just dodge and cycle on.

Call me soft but I don't think I'd have the heart to spray them with anything other than water :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Lawr

More to the point, is their anything that can be done about dog owners?

Much as I hate dogs, I suppose their behavior is influenced by nasty owners. I'd like to bring in legislation whereby dogs and their owners must be kept on a lead while in a public place.

I'd like to introduce legislation that, when a dog's teeth break my skin, I have the right to request the owner be put down.

You would think this was after hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭unichall

logik wrote: »

Just to make people aware, possesion of mace/ pepper spray is illegal in ireland. It is covered by section 9 (5) of the offensive weapons act.

So if you did spray a dog and the owner somehow seen or could identify you, you could be in some trouble yourself. Just a heads up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

Except in the case of Dunsink Lane (Finglas) where several dozen Travellers' dogs chased me for a fair bit. I thought I had escaped only to discover that the council had closed off the road a couple of kms further on making it a cul de sac. Had to go back through them again, and their reinforcements in the form of children with sticks and stones!

Please tell me you got lost and ended up there as opposed to intentionally cycling there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

I misunderstood, I thought he lived there.

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    Please tell me you got lost and ended up there as opposed to intentionally cycling there?
    Absolutely intentionally - taking a shortcut to the N3. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

Zefal HPX- Sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Felloffmebike

Only bitten once. Near Omeath. Going up a hill very slowly so was a sitting target. Thought I would go into house to talk to owner. Took one look at the house and decided the owners were probably as nasty as the dog so left it alone. Luckily didn't puncture the skin, just tore a hole in my sock. I find the water bottle works best. Good hard squirt and aim between the eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭FirstinLastout

Good hard squirt and aim between the eyes.

Only good advice on this thread so far!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭greenmat

Got bitten by dogs running out onto a road in St Margarets village a few years back, no injury but torn overshoes. Knocked into owner, who was not very helpful. Rang the Dog warden when I got home, sent him exact address using google maps. The dog warden visited the house a few days later to find the dogs roaming freely on the main road. Instructed the owners to keep them locked up as garden had no gates, made them pay for licence that they never had and warned them if he gets more reports he'll fine the owners, and/or destroy the dogs. Pass that way a lot since the incident and the dogs are never out. Totally recommend the Dog warden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

Lots of big talk from small men about guns and pepper spray. A dog is only as responsible as its owner; try that on the owner and see how far you get. Water bottle to get you out of the situation, warden if you need to follow up.

Or you could come on here and spout sh!t about how hard you are and we'll all clap...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

slap/dash wrote: »
    Cool, I just saw the pepper spray type stuff (on my phone here). I'd prefer to not really do something that could be an escalation or assault on the animal which is after all, not really to blame. Is it light and easy to use?

About the same size and weight as an older model mobile phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭spoke2cun

Thanks for all the replies folks. I would rather go down the 'owner is responsible/dog warden' route just to at least give the owner a chance to solve the problem. I would hate to think of what would happen if young children were passing by. The owners should realize that this could easily be their own children who could be in danger.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

MOD VOICE: Well the OP seems happy, there are a couple of threads over the years about dealing with dogs, feel free to use the search function for anyone else who is inquiring. If you have advice, its probably been covered but if you have a gem that has been missed, PM me and I will add it.