Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man survives 3 days in air pocket on sunken boat

• 02-12-2013 9:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭

Rescue video

Air pocket survivor

Just unbelievable. Harrison Okene survived 3 days of pitch blackness and silence in an air pocket at a depth of 30 metres, 12 miles out to sea. Deep sea saturation divers on a body recovery mission found him alive. Divers use a helium mix at that depth to breathe so the squeaky voices are a bit surreal.

He was the only survivor from a crew of 12 back in May this year.

3 days practically buried alive waiting for death. Good god I can't imagine the trauma the guy must have suffered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Quebec Delta Mike

What an amazing video, the "Great Escape" music very apt. As a very occasional sub aqua diver, I still find it scary...but what Harrison achieved there was truly remarkable. Kudos to the professionalism of the rescue team, who kept him calm throughout. This event, and especially the rescue teams efforts, gives one hope for the human race...we can still do good for our fellow man, regardless of the risks to ourselves.

QDM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Poor fella. That's sure to leave anyone traumatised.

Good news story though. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Fantastic, well worth watching.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

That's amazing. The guy himself had some strength of nerve to not just give up. Must be a pretty physically resilient guy to survive too. The cold would have been unreal at that depth, then the trauma of ascending after so long.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

That would genuinely be my worst nightmare. Buried alive and going to drown? No thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

Incredible. And he kept so calm throughout. Amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Snako

Fair play to that diver, some hand randomly grabbing you while submerged in an upside down ship, I would of had a panic attack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

Loving the helium voices :D

Well done to all involved though, great story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,368 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Where would he have got 3 days oxygen from in a small pocket of air?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Snako wrote: »
    Fair play to that diver, some hand randomly grabbing you while submerged in an upside down ship, I would of had a panic attack

As if being in a ship full of dead bodies wasn't enough having a hand grab you..... poopoo in the wetsuit time I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Danger now is that he may die of laughter when he hears someone go on about extreme sports sh!te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,052 ✭✭✭Wossack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

about halfway thru the vid it shows the room, it's pretty big.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Rescue video

Air pocket survivor

Just unbelievable. Harrison Okene survived 3 days of pitch blackness and silence in an air pocket at a depth of 30 metres, 12 miles out to sea. Deep sea saturation divers on a body recovery mission found him alive. Divers use a helium mix at that depth to breathe so the squeaky voices are a bit surreal.

Only for prolonged dives (aka tec dives). Recreational diving is typically done using ordinary air up to 40m (very short periods though at that depth).

Brilliant that they found him though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

As if being in a ship full of dead bodies wasn't enough having a hand grab you..... poopoo in the wetsuit time I think.

I got talking to a Dive Master Instructor once and he said that almost anyone could become a dive master if they really wanted to. But he said that completing the training alone does not make them a dive master in his eyes.

He said the training is tough and takes time but he said a real dive master is the one that can keep calm and apply his training during an unexpected incident. It is not until that happens that the person will show whether he is a dive master or not. An example would where both regulator hoses are cut at 40m+.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Great to watch,unbeliveble.

How long more would he have lasted ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

it sounds like he's keeps saying "yes chef"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭conor2469

Amazing story, fair dues to him.
    Helium voices are hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Insane!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I got talking to a Dive Master Instructor once and he said that almost anyone could become a dive master if they really wanted to. But he said that completing the training alone does not make them a dive master in his eyes.

He said the training is tough and takes time but he said a real dive master is the one that can keep calm and apply his training during an unexpected incident. It is not until that happens that the person will show whether he is a dive master or not. An example would where both regulator hoses are cut at 40m+.

The dive master being the lad that had the foresight to dive with a 3L pony bottle and attached reg I guess?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

amazing vid

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

about halfway thru the vid it shows the room, it's pretty big.

Also, at that depth the pressure would have been higher, meaning the air would have been more compressed. So there would have been more oxygen in the space, than an equivalent space at sea level.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,391 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Easily one of the most amazing videos I've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Great video,
    Hand on heart, if a hand had grabbed me, that fückers getting harpooned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

CruelCoin wrote: »
    Only for prolonged dives (aka tec dives). Recreational diving is typically done using ordinary air up to 40m (very short periods though at that depth).

Brilliant that they found him though.
    Some longer recreational dives are done with nitrox (enriched nitrogen/oxygen mix) but yeah for the type of dive in the video they'd probably have been using a Trimix (Oxygen/Helium and Nitrogen)

Amazing video though. Kudos to the diving crew.

MadsL wrote: »
    The dive master being the lad that had the foresight to dive with a 3L pony bottle and attached reg I guess?

Or the one diving within 2/3 metres of his buddy (assuming he had one)

Also, at that depth the pressure would have been higher, meaning the air would have been more compressed. So there would have been more oxygen in the space, than an equivalent space at sea level.

Every 10 metres of water depth adds 1 athomosphere of pressure.
    So, diving at 30 metres means you are breathing air at 4 athmospheres.
    Your body doesn't consume oxegen any faster at depth if you aren't exerting yourself, so 10m3 of air at 30 metres would last you 4 times longer than 10m3 of air at the surface.
    (assuming start point was sea-level, it differs if diving at delines or altitudes)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Snako wrote: »

....I would have ruptured the wetsuit with the amount of shite that flew out of me....