Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thinking of buying my 1st cow

• 01-12-2013 12:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭

Thinking of buying my 1st cow more than likely be a pure breed.what would ye recommended it will be on my brothers farm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

naughto wrote: »
    Thinking of buying my 1st cow more than likely be a pure breed.what would ye recommended it will be on my brothers farm

Your 1st cow, and there was me thinking you were an auld fella:eek:

Why a PB, may I ask? The market is becoming flooded with average ones these days.
    If you're set on it, what's your preference, much easier to appreciate an animal for itself as a breed you like, rather than for profit. (although that's nice too)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Your 1st cow, and there was me thinking you were an auld fella:eek:

Why a PB, may I ask? The market is becoming flooded with average ones these days.
    If you're set on it, what's your preference, much easier to appreciate an animal for itself as a breed you like, rather than for profit. (although that's nice too)

Iam only 33an half.my brother owns the farm I am just the help,he would do all the buying,selling. I have a bit of money so was thinking of going down this line, I can't ever see my self owning my own place.
    He has Pb limos,I am not that gone on them very little milk and a f!ucker to get some of them incalk.
    I am looking at charolais,or a blonde

Iam only 33an half.my brother owns the farm I am just the help,he would do all the buying,selling. I have a bit of money so was thinking of going down this line, I can't ever see my self owning my own place.
    He has Pb limos,I am not that gone on them very little milk and a f!ucker to get some of them incalk.
    I am looking at charolais,or a blonde

I have a love for blondes so I will be getting a PB one of those sooner rather than later. Never had much trouble getting the pb LM incalf here and none of them are wicked (some of them are our quietest cows after calving)
    Milk can be a problem but with the right breeding it's not an issue.
    For that matter, some of those CH cows have less milk than a cat:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭on the river

Shorthorn cross cow is ideal for any sucker heard. They provide great milk for their offspring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    I have a love for blondes so I will be getting a PB one of those sooner rather than later. Never had much trouble getting the pb LM incalf here and none of them are wicked (some of them are our quietest cows after calving)
    Milk can be a problem but with the right breeding it's not an issue.
    For that matter, some of those CH cows have less milk than a cat:D

Ya I have pd charolais's here.
    Great cattle but you have to keep a close eye on um breeding with regards to milk.
    Kovu is right, Some r very poor.
    If you have a gra for blonds go that way since twill only b a hobby for you from what I gather from your post's.
    Best of luck with it sure twill b abit of craic anyway.

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Ya I have pd charolais's here.
    Great cattle but you have to keep a close eye on um breeding with regards to milk.
    Kovu is right, Some r very poor.
    If you have a gra for blonds go that way since twill only b a hobby for you from what I gather from your post's.
    Best of luck with it sure twill b abit of craic anyway.

Rubbish. Charolais have no milk whatsover unless you cross them with a dual purpose breed. Charolais are great finishers but average mothers.

I beg to differ. Breed Maternal and their fine. You wont have surplus in fairness.
    Have you pd charolais's yourself?

I beg to differ. Breed Maternal and their fine. You wont have surplus in fairness.
    Have you pd charolais's yourself?

All research into cattle breeds show charolais are milkless animals. Although i do admitt from personal experience they are quiet and well made animals.

I had two pd from Npp which did not have the milk for the calf. It is a pity they are quality animals all the same.:)

All research into cattle breeds show charolais are milkless animals. Although i do admitt from personal experience they are quiet and well made animals.

I had two pd from Npp which did not have the milk for the calf. It is a pity they are quality animals all the same.:)

"Milkless" I wouldn't go that far myself I my own experience.
    Npp only has 3 and half stars within the breed for milk ald youd hav to take into account their mothers ratings as well. He only has a maternal rating of €55, so there's your problem straight away.
    Ive a cow here off Repair. Maternal index of €95, 5stars within breed a full 3stars accross all breeds for milk. All while maintaining a terminal index of €92, now thats very good IMHO. She has plenty of milk for her calves.
    Your right tho tis a shame some r so poor.

"Milkless" I wouldn't go that far myself I my own experience.
    Npp only has 3 and half stars within the breed for milk ald youd hav to take into account their mothers ratings as well. He only has a maternal rating of €55, so there's your problem straight away.
    Ive a cow here off Repair. Maternal index of €95, 5stars within breed a full 3stars accross all breeds for milk. All while maintaining a terminal index of €92, now thats very good IMHO. She has plenty of milk for her calves.
    Your right tho tis a shame some r so poor.

Fair point you made. Do you have exclusaivly charolais or do you keep any other breeds ?

Ah we only have a small Pd Herd.
    The suckler herd has bits of everything in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 reality19

Is it allowed by Dept of Ag to keep an animal you own yourself on your brother's farm ?

reality19 wrote: »
    Is it allowed by Dept of Ag to keep an animal you own yourself on your brother's farm ?

If it's in his herd number yes. I have 3 animals in my fathers herd no.

i would have it in his herd number but it would be mine.i also better tell him that iam thinking of doing this,so if your reading this brother......
    i think the key is to try and get a cow with plenty if milk for the calf to make a right job of them,that is the problem with the limos that he has they have no milk,no point having a smasher of a calf only for it not to thrive do to lack of milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

The way I see it, every man and his dog has PB limos or charolais so go for the blonde and have a better chance of getting near the top

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

The way I see it, every man and his dog has PB limos or charolais so go for the blonde and have a better chance of getting near the top

Sounds like as good a plan as any to me.

Of course the really astute go for Parthenaise :-)

No matter what ya go for, buy the very best one ya can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

reality19 wrote: »

Yes you can he can just put it into his brothers herd number, ive 7 cows in my fathers name and the weanlings upto a few weeks back, also you cold get your name put on the herd number aswell I think,, it is something that im looking into.

would that have the tax/social welfare man asking questions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

beef shorthorn I would try, just to be a little different. I bought PB shorthorns bulls last year for feeding and the performance they done and graded out would give most breeds a run for their money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

would that have the tax/social welfare man asking questions?

Id say so but I havnt got an ating yet over them looking for tax money off me from the stock I sell,,, but to be fair when I sell stock id say I give him quarter of the money from them and I also pay for some of the silage fert and meal, and also put a few pound towards the shed we put up lst year.

What are your thoughts on bb pure breeds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

What are your thoughts on bb pure breeds?

I wouldnt for your first cow and if you not there all the time as she most probably when given a BB straw will require C sections

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

i would try a simmental, I know lads complain about them, but they bring a lot to the table

hugo29 wrote: »
    i would try a simmental, I know lads complain about them, but they bring a lot to the table
    Please expand on that statement.

people say that they can be big framed and hard fed, i have always found that if you can get the right size simmental cow, and cross her to a good terminal sire ( ch or bb) she will never let you down on calf quality or milk

im sure plenty of fellas disagree,

people say that they can be big framed and hard fed, i have always found that if you can get the right size simmental cow, and cross her to a good terminal sire ( ch or bb) she will never let you down on calf quality or milk

im sure plenty of fellas disagree,

What ch and si sires do you use ?

Upon reflection, looking at the figures the lads posted in the chit chat thread, the only cow to buy is a milker! :-)

Here's a decent Sim heifer out of a Ch cow.

Bizzum wrote: »

sweet, breeding or selling bizz

have a few young sim cows out of BARNATTIN TIGER,
    look up the sim breeder website, there is a lad in rosses point in sligo who breeds great cows, see what bulls he recommends
    as for CH sire there is so many, my stock bull breeds out of ADA, cf52 was a super bull. so was CF85 but both are gone i think, if you can get a lad breeding out of these then you wont go to far wrong but you really need to look up the ratings for each bull

have a few young sim cows out of BARNATTIN TIGER,
    look up the sim breeder website, there is a lad in rosses point in sligo who breeds great cows, see what bulls he recommends
    as for CH sire there is so many, my stock bull breeds out of ADA, cf52 was a super bull. so was CF85 but both are gone i think, if you can get a lad breeding out of these then you wont go to far wrong but you really need to look up the ratings for each bull

Does progressive gentics still supply cf85 straws ?

Bizzum wrote: »

Great animals.

How old are they and what sire is it ?

Does progressive gentics still supply cf85 straws ?

not really sure, been a few years since i used AI to be honest
    look up their web site

sweet, breeding or selling bizz

Breeding all going well with her. She's by Kilbride Farm Newry (KFY) out of a Sylvain Charolais cow. That pic is from a few months back, she's a powerful heifer now.

Great animals.

How old are they and what sire is it ?

By KFY (gone now I'm told) and she's a Feb calf. She's still running on the cow.