Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parking ticket

• 01-12-2013 1:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭

Hi was just wondering if anyone can shed a little light on this for me please.

I was in the laois shopping centre today in portlaoise. I was in the underground car park if anyone knows it.

As I was leaving I saw a private company "traffic warden" giving a car a ticket. I was wondering what kind of legal standing does this have as it's a private shopping centre.

Anyone have a clue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

Zero legal standing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

....until Varadkar's new clamping law comes into force.
    At present a lot of the Private Companies appear to be 'practising' giving out Tickets.
    Once the new Law comes into action, private companies will be able to issue fines for 'illegal' parking. They will have access to driver's names and address's through a 3rd party intermediary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    ....until Varadkar's new clamping law comes into force.
    At present a lot of the Private Companies appear to be 'practising' giving out Tickets.
    Once the new Law comes into action, private companies will be able to issue fines for 'illegal' parking. They will have access to driver's names and address's through a 3rd party intermediary.

VARADKAR is a real idiot abusing the data protection laws to benefit private companies.
    This is one thats going to cause lots of grief when it is implemented

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

AltAccount wrote: »
    Zero legal standing

Exactly, and lets hope it stays that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭generalmental

I had a feeling that they would have no legal standing. They have some neck these companies. God I'm not looking forward to varadker making it legal for these vultures. On the plus side I won't have to carry a saw with me in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

mgbgt1978 wrote: »

(2)A body may not have access to information from the NVDF for the
    purposes of immobilisation or removal of vehicles.

(3) The Minister may decide, by order, the level of any fee to be charged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

visual wrote: »
    VARADKAR is a real idiot abusing the data protection laws to benefit private companies.
    This is one thats going to cause lots of grief when it is implemented

Has anyone challenged Varadkar on this legally? (or is that even possible?) Data Protection laws are there for a reason and should be taken very seriously; I dont appreciate my details being made available to third party companies for any reason without my consent, especially third party companies that run unregulated services in very much a shady manner.

Head 23
    Interface with the NVDF
    Provide That:
    (1)
    The Minister may designate a body or bodies who shall have access to
    information from the National Vehicle Driver File (NVDF) for the purposes
    of administering a parking control system.

This is the bit that counts...this will allow private parking firms to gain access to car owner details (via a separate body).
    This leaves it open to private firms to issue a 'fine' as they can lawfully get a name and address (provided that adequate signage is in place to inform motorists of restrictions,etc.). They can then issue court proceedings against non-payers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

djimi wrote: »
    Has anyone challenged Varadkar on this legally? (or is that even possible?) Data Protection laws are there for a reason and should be taken very seriously; I dont appreciate my details being made available to third party companies for any reason without my consent, especially third party companies that run unregulated services in very much a shady manner.

Without getting into the hole data protection laws the basic concept is information gather should be collected in fair and transparent maner with user concent only for the original purpose gathered.

This isn't the case as concent wasn't asked or given for it to be used by 3rd parties like insurance or private parking companies.

The problem is big business influence decision makers in the dail so dispite expert groups and public concern laws like this and SOAP get railroaded through into law the seanad adds lillte value by licking the rubber stamp.

Whats comming down the road most motorist aren't even aware of how much of their personal data will be in the hands of companies that originally was never intented to be. So registering you car will link it to many data bases and in the future your movements and full history insurance tax nct address phone number email address could be used by anyone who has access to these systems.

There have been reported cases of garda misuse of pluse system. When your information is passed over there isn't safe guards to protect the information being stored and used with other systems.

Take personal credit report there is very limited visibility of who has what details.

Many don't realise that social welfare have access to information held by department of transport.

All the ANPR cameras will not only be able to track journey but be a record of your movement and times link it to motor tax and can track motor tax and nct compliance not a big stretch to include insurance. The time of big brother is all ready here. Average speed cameras has been announced without most even realising.

The data protection commissiomer and his office can't keep up with theft of data never mind enforce the law or manage compliance by state agencies and interested 3rd parties

There is less and less people prepaired or have the ability to challenge the government on this and in light of some high profile cases recently against government it's obvious a up hill struggle with courts unable or unwilling to deliver useful decisions. FG know this so are content they can push boundaries without any negative surprise or repercussions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭PeteK*

As I was leaving I saw a private company "traffic warden" giving a car a ticket. I was wondering what kind of legal standing does this have as it's a private shopping centre.
    But is it not just the company acting on behalf of the shopping centre?
    So instead of dealing with it, they get the company to deal with all their traffic problems?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

djimi wrote: »
    They won't, if you boycott the car parks that ticket.

visual wrote: »
    The time of big brother is all ready here. Average speed cameras has been announced without most even realising..

Great post. If you can will you elaborate on this point please. First I have heard of this.

PeteK* wrote: »
    But is it not just the company acting on behalf of the shopping centre?
    So instead of dealing with it, they get the company to deal with all their traffic problems?

Yes it is and it's totally their perogative. But I just thought it strange as parking tickets given out by a car park attendant are not legal up to this point, so no obligation to pay for ticket.

I would have thought that the company would issue clamps. You have to pay then unless you're willing to cut it off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Days 298

Say they can issue fines legally in the future and you refuse to pay would you get a criminal record or whats the story. Will you receive compensation from the company or the state if they wrongly issue a ticket and release/get access to your private information.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson