Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mucking out calf pens

• 01-12-2013 9:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭

Hi lads, had a weekend at the parents farm, and i made the old mistake of asking the old man old man if there was anything he wanted me to do. spent my time mucking out a good size calf pen, by hand, with a fork! old man parked the tractor and rota spreader outside the pen door and left me to it. solid work. entrance is too small for a bobcat, and old man to tight to hire one anyway. anyone here still muckout by hand like this or has farming moved on a bit by now?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I have a few here what day would suit you :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Indeed.
    Some of the smaller sheds are still useful. Anyway, isn't a bit of manual labour good for the soul. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

Have a few old building that we used to use for calving pens. Good proportion had to be done by hand. Right pain and always felt we would do a better more regular clean out if loader could get in there. Delighted no more calving!

Solid work out for you!

bbam wrote: »
    Indeed.
    Some of the smaller sheds are still useful. Anyway, isn't a bit of manual labour good for the soul. ;)
    Never did anyone any harm :) Back in the seventies before weed sprays for beet it had to be weeded by hand of course you could use a steerage hoe but the weeds would still grow on the rows. Then pulling the headlands by hand to make way for the harvester.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

We would have one or two calf pens but they dont get alot of use anymore .
    When I was a young lad there used to be barrowing every day , thank god those days are behind me and slats under me !
    I think its easier give them a quick clean daily rather than every couple of weeks , even though that's probably not practical everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

49801 wrote: »
    Have a few old building that we used to use for calving pens. Good proportion had to be done by hand. Right pain and always felt we would do a better more regular clean out if loader could get in there. Delighted no more calving!

Solid work out for you!

I suppose this is the only real disadvantage, a nice handy shed that you can swing open a gate and have most the bedding gone in 5mins with the tractor will help improve hygiene. I've moved around afew pins here to make everything less awkward, have a leanto roof yet to go up between 2 sheds which will hopefully remove most the manual fork work.

For the op, maybe have a look at the buildings and suggest an alternative location for the animals (if possible at all!), maybe save yourself the hassle of mucking them out next yr :p

Farmers need to be careful not to become too sedentary. While most are busy fewer and fewer are doing any regular physical work.
    I know quite a few lads and if something can't he done from the seat if a quad or tractor then it's never done.

Was talking to a fella during the summer and he was working on gates he could open from the quad when checking stock, saves getting off quad. His father was a tall rake of a man but he's starting to resemble Homer Simpson more then his auld fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭huwboy

sounds like it's not just me then! old man needs all the pens he can get so will be doing it for the forseeable future! no it's good hard work and i've got the blisters on my hands to prove it. took about an hour to fill the spreader, got three loads away, pens empty now. there's a few more pens for me to do next time i'm back:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

my creep area isnt accessible by tractor really so its the big jfc barrow every couple of days, i dread when a few cows calf together, its amazing how much ****e 1 cow in a pen can produce over 5 or 6 days after calving

huwboy wrote: »
    sounds like it's not just me then! old man needs all the pens he can get so will be doing it for the forseeable future! no it's good hard work and i've got the blisters on my hands to prove it. took about an hour to fill the spreader, got three loads away, pens empty now. there's a few more pens for me to do next time i'm back:D
    Blisters, you aren't used to it then :( when you get used to that work blisters will be a thing of the past :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Lucky this is an anonymous forum if you were spreading that this weekend

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Blisters, you aren't used to it then :( when you get used to that work blisters will be a thing of the past :)

no used enough to it, done it for many years now, still get blisters though, it's good hard work! not filled the spreader (x3) like that for a few month's. used to do it when i was a teenager for £2 per load

rancher wrote: »

no over in west Wales, no ban there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

my creep area isnt accessible by tractor really so its the big jfc barrow every couple of days, i dread when a few cows calf together, its amazing how much ****e 1 cow in a pen can produce over 5 or 6 days after calving

We used to build a creep area on top of the slats for calves older than 10 days. Just rolled out a round bale of straw when needed. Murderous job cleaning it out each year though with the 4 prong fork:mad::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

i have a creep area i clean out with a, grape, fork, sprong or whatever you want to call it. it takes about 15 minutes every week. i wouldnt class it as hard work but its easier do it regularly than let it build up. when that happens it just becomes such a pain you end up just throwing another layer of straw on it, putting the awkward bit off for another few days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Some hardship cleaning out a shed with a 4grain fork when there's net or twine in the dung. Solid hardship!

no over in west Wales, no ban there!

Proper order.

Bizzum wrote: »
    Some hardship cleaning out a shed with a 4grain fork when there's net or twine in the dung. Solid hardship!

Well. If your letting it in there then you have to pay the price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Builds the muscles lads! I do most of it around calving time with the two calving pens and the 2 back pens in the shed.

Goes straight onto the veg patch :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

rancher wrote: »

You'd make a great slurry agitator rancher....

RANCHER.... 'the farmers favourite' :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭wool521

Just in from spronging bale of silage into round feeder,done every second day,really need a tractor:-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

bbam wrote: »
    Well. If your letting it in there then you have to pay the price.

It's little consolation when it wasn't me that let it in. It's the sort of thing that happens when never intend cleaning them out yourself.

Bizzum wrote: »
    It's little consolation when it wasn't me that let it in. It's the sort of thing that happens when never intend cleaning them out yourself.

came across enough twine on the muck job. as you say, when people aren't going to tackle the job themselves they don't care what's it's going to be like for the fella who does!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

came across enough twine on the muck job. as you say, when people aren't going to tackle the job themselves they don't care what's it's going to be like for the fella who does!

Have heard of a few that were cured of that problem when the lads spreading arrived in with the hack saw the last day, simply told him that it was clear from twines coming in here, it'll be clean leaving, and the clock doesn't stop till then....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Handy but a lethal machine for pulling themselves over . I was doing a job for a builder that was using one a few years ago , he almost toppled it a few times and all as I could see was his long legs half out of it ready to jump .
    Used you hire out plant freedom ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

moy83 wrote: »
    Handy but a lethal machine for pulling themselves over . I was doing a job for a builder that was using one a few years ago , he almost toppled it a few times and all as I could see was his long legs half out of it ready to jump .
    Used you hire out plant freedom ?

i have often had to hire them and never turned one over. if the tracks are parked facing the right direction they are grand. the thing is they are a waste of money. no power and no capacity either. you would get more done if you just got stuck in. they are really just a play thing.

Thanks freedom, yeah would probably fit in one of the the calf pen doors, not too sure about the others. i reckon as long as i can fit in the door, it'll be me doing the job and not the machine!:(

1chippy wrote: »
    i have often had to hire them and never turned one over. if the tracks are parked facing the right direction they are grand. the thing is they are a waste of money. no power and no capacity either. you would get more done if you just got stuck in. they are really just a play thing.

I would agree with you on the plaything , it would be as cheap get a labourer to go rooting as they wont pull anything major anyhow . The lad I was watching hadnt a clue how to use it properly and was a danger to himself on it . I would **** a brick if I was hiring them out to headers like that

They're no plaything. Many's the backyard extension was dug out with them when nothing else would fit.

You're right about hiring them to headers though Moy.

1chippy wrote: »
    i have a creep area i clean out with a, grape, fork, sprong or whatever you want to call it. it takes about 15 minutes every week. i wouldnt class it as hard work but its easier do it regularly than let it build up. when that happens it just becomes such a pain you end up just throwing another layer of straw on it, putting the awkward bit off for another few days.
    4 prong pike here in Cork :)

moy83 wrote: »
    I would agree with you on the plaything , it would be as cheap get a labourer to go rooting as they wont pull anything major anyhow . The lad I was watching hadnt a clue how to use it properly and was a danger to himself on it . I would **** a brick if I was hiring them out to headers like that
    I'm lost, is that some slang word for idiot?

We would use it for cracked people that dont care what they do

Short for headaballs;).

Muckit wrote: »
    You'd make a great slurry agitator rancher....

RANCHER.... 'the farmers favourite' :rolleyes:

Like ''pay on the day'' it's no harm to keep people aware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

been there though filling into a spreader is hardship! I used to cut in with a hay knife and then you could get big squared that you could just about get into the transport box

yeah it's a bit of hardship, but it's the way it's always been done. 7 cubic yarder marshall spreader takes a bit of filling i can tell you! if i'm lucky i sometimes get to fill up the tractor bucket instead, but it's usually a straight in the spreader job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Hi lads, had a weekend at the parents farm, and i made the old mistake of asking the old man old man if there was anything he wanted me to do. spent my time mucking out a good size calf pen, by hand, with a fork! old man parked the tractor and rota spreader outside the pen door and left me to it. solid work. entrance is too small for a bobcat, and old man to tight to hire one anyway. anyone here still muckout by hand like this or has farming moved on a bit by now?!

I do it for my parents. It's grand, keeps me fit ;-)

no doubt a bit of hard work like that keeps you fit, gets me swaeting like a pig even this time of year. farming isn't as physical as it was years ago, but its good to do a really hard days work like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

Jesus, some lazy hoors here. The thought of getting a mini digger into a small shed to move a box of dung is unbelievable. Give yerselves a kick up the hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Yeah I don't mind it really. Last spring though I was at home doing a work placement at a vets then coming home to our own cows calving so I was getting a bit sick of cleaning out pens by the end of it.

it's a bit of a daunting job doing it with a four prong fork, but once you get on with it, it's not so bad. not talking about small pens here either, some will be 3m by 3m