Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drunks who challenge drunks to a fight.

• 01-12-2013 4:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭

Has this happened to you? What happened?

I was at a wedding several years ago. It was in the small hours. There were only a people few still up and I think that we were all fairly hammered. There was bottled booze there for the guests at this stage, even though the bar was closed. I always like to be last man standing or something like that, who knows, and who cares.

Either way, I was sitting at the bar. One of my friends was there, with her friend. I was getting on just fine, just having the craic and talking sh1te. I was also talking away to some other bloke who was sitting there at the bar. Eventually, he began to get drunker, and he began to take a dislike to me, for whatever reason, best known to himself.

Next thing I know, the guy is asking me to go outside. What?, I thought. I just said no, thinking that this guy was pretty drunk and I had no intention of getting arrested for assault. Anyway, the guy was insistent that he wanted a fight. All I could think was how stupid it would be for me to go and have some schoolyard type fight with this guy, who was about half my size, incidentally.

Anyway, he kept on going on about wanting a fight for the next while, so eventually I stupidly said, "Yeah, okay, I will fight you, just so I don't have to keep listening to this horsesh!t. I'll see you outside as soon as I finish my drink."

To be fairly honest, I'm not used to being challenged to a fight at all these days. It just never happens. I haven't been in more than one real fight since school.

So I finished up my drink, took off my jacket and rolled up my sleeves like some character from a 1940s black and white film, and walked out, fully prepared to punch the guy in the head for no good reason except that I'd felt goaded into it. But when I went outside there was no sign of him, whatsoever. The clown had gone. Great stuff, I thought. So I went back in, continued drinking, and remember little else, except where I awoke, which is an entirely different story.

Do we have any other stories like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I was at a wedding several years ago. It was in the small hours. There were only a people few still up and I think that we were all fairly hammered. There was bottled booze there for the guests at this stage, even though the bar was closed. I always like to be last man standing or something like that, who knows, and who cares.

Either way, I was sitting at the bar. One of my friends was there, with her friend. I was getting on just fine, just having the craic and talking sh1te. I was also talking away to some other bloke who was sitting there at the bar. Eventually, he began to get drunker, and he began to take a dislike to me, for whatever reason, best known to himself.

Next thing I know, the guy is asking me to go outside. What?, I thought. I just said no, thinking that this guy was pretty drunk and I had no intention of getting arrested for assault. Anyway, the guy was insistent that he wanted a fight. All I could think was how stupid it would be for me to go and have some schoolyard type fight with this guy, who was about half my size, incidentally.

Anyway, he kept on going on about wanting a fight for the next while, so eventually I stupidly said, "Yeah, okay, I will fight you, just so I don't have to keep listening to this horsesh!t. I'll see you outside as soon as I finish my drink."

To be fairly honest, I'm not used to being challenged to a fight at all these days. It just never happens. I haven't been in more than one real fight since school.

So I finished up my drink, took off my jacket and rolled up my sleeves like some character from a 1940s black and white film, and walked out, fully prepared to punch the guy in the head for no good reason except that I'd felt goaded into it. But when I went outside there was no sign of him, whatsoever. The clown had gone. Great stuff, I thought. So I went back in, continued drinking, and remember little else, except where I awoke, which is an entirely different story.

Yep and they're all like that one.
    ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

kippy wrote: »
    Yep and they're all like that one.
    ****e.
    Marvellous story there, kippy. Thanks for sharing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭gdawg87

Bit of an anticlimax...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I'd work on the ending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Well I'm terribly fukcing sorry you don't like my story.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I went on a 2 day bender with a few friends and a few guys I didn't know, and off we went to my brothers flat in Drumcondra opposite the Quinns pub in Dublin and partied on till the morning. No sleep, and I was half awake and half asleep at this stage, one of the friends I knew was in a similar state that morning and he was trying to get a few of us to go to the early house for a curer, that thought was appropriate and I needed curing.

Wobbled up the road and got to the pub and necking a pint back, then two, then three, and all of a sudden I was soo drunk I asked my mate outside for a boxing fight because I wanted to see how good he was, as he boxed for Dublin, he was up there as a good boxer :) I told him to give it his best as I was going in full on, the crowd was building up outside the pub.

That was a bad move on my part as I hit him on the lip a nice one but he bloody plastered me all over the place, I got up and went for an uppercut and missed and his right hand melted into my nose in an explosion effect. That was the end of my nose. I got back up again for more punishment and I got him with a left on the chin, but as soon as I connected I was on the ground again in bits so I gave up thankfully. I was beaten by three knock-downs from this boxer. Never again. My nose is still off-angle till this day. I learned my lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

At the risk of sounding like a jerk, op... You come off as an ass with your story because the underline theme is how 'great' you were. It's how you worded it.

- you were at a bar minding you own business (the nice guy)
    - some guy wants to have a fight suddenly (the bad guy)
    - you then go into detail how he is smaller than you (aka, how you could of beat him up easily)
    - Talk some BS more about how you didnt want to fight (you're the good guy after all)
    - You agree to fight (John Wayne here)
    - He runs away to the hills (You're the winner)

Look I'm a cynical bastard but your 'story' was nothing more than blowing yourself out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

The OP is too long. I'll wait for the film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Sounds like you and the man in the mirror had a disagreement OP.

I'll take the lot of you on for the laugh, well except for Makikomi :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Ahhhhh its grand

I lived in Liverpool for 5 years, went to university there. Anyways, walking home from a friends apartment one night, it's about 3 in the morning and I'm a bit tipsy, but not overly drunk. 2 lads walk up behind me (both hammered) and ask me for a cigarette. I said I hadn't got any and walked off. They then start walking after me shouting crap like 'don't turn your back on me', 'I'll knock you out mate'. I keep walking, then all of a sudden I'm on the deck, got a solid punch to the temple.

Both of them are standing over me laughing. I've never started a fight in my life, but I did do boxing for a couple of years and was also in the university boxing society at the time. I promptly got up and started throwing digs. It helped that they were both completely inebriated. Caught one of them with a lovely punch and he promptly hit the deck, but while doing the this the other caught me with a viscous kick in the balls . Being in the city center, the police soon arrived and we were all arrested. My word against theirs as to who started it. Spent about 4 hours in a cell and was then released after they had watched the cctv, self defense and all that. Had a black eye, plus a really sore pair of gonads for a couple days

Moral of the story, avoid fights if at all possible. Ain't worth the hassle!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

zenno wrote: »
    I went on a 2 day bender with a few friends and a few guys I didn't know, and off we went to my brothers flat in Drumcondra opposite the Quinns pub in Dublin and partied on till the morning. No sleep, and I was half awake and half asleep at this stage, one of the friends I knew was in a similar state that morning and he was trying to get a few of us to go to the early house for a curer, that thought was appropriate and I needed curing.

Wobbled up the road and got to the pub and necking a pint back, then two, then three, and all of a sudden I was soo drunk I asked my mate outside for a boxing fight because I wanted to see how good he was, as he boxed for Dublin, he was up there as a good boxer :) I told him to give it his best as I was going in full on, the crowd was building up outside the pub.

That was a bad move on my part as I hit him on the lip a nice one but he bloody plastered me all over the place, I got up and went for an uppercut and missed and his right hand melted into my nose in an explosion effect. That was the end of my nose. I got back up again for more punishment and I got him with a left on the chin, but as soon as I connected I was on the ground again in bits so I gave up thankfully. I was beaten by three knock-downs from this boxer. Never again. My nose is still off-angle till this day. I learned my lesson.

You were so drunk yet you remember these details :pac:

ColeTrain wrote: »
    You were so drunk yet you remember these details :pac:

I was drunk but I have an excellent capacity of memory, always did, especially when my nose broke, that really gave me clarity. As I said, never again, I like my nose where it is without further knocks.

My encounter as a fight was a friendly fight but serious, there was no mallace involved. Hugs and kisses after that and a few black eyes and bloody nose. Just a friendly.

Just like the genuine Travellers, I admire their workings, most of them will box it out, man to man, bare knuckled, with no ass-holes jumping in with instruments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

zenno wrote: »
    I was drunk but I have an excellent capacity of memory, always did, especially when my nose broke, that really gave me clarity. As I said, never again, I like my nose where it is without further knocks.

My encounter as a fight was a friendly fight but serious, there was no mallace involved. Hugs and kisses after that and a few black eyes and bloody nose. Just a friendly.

http://amazingasset.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/Skeptical-Hippo.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭gdawg87

may as well throw in my 2 cents. About 5 years ago, either st. Stephens day or New Years, one of those nights EVERYBODY was out. Anyway me and 2 mates go to a chipper when the night was over. We send one guy to get the food while we sit down. Place was packed. Queue was massive, took him 15-20 mins to get to the top of the queue. All go a sudden these guys (drunk and wearing tracksuits) come in and push their way to the top, just as my friend was about to order. He explains he was there 1st and about to order, they push him around. Me and my other mate see this and rush up. We try to say he was there 1st but they continue to push my friend (he's a small guy) and one of them took a swing, he missed I think.

I, under the influence of alcohol of course, stupidly say "try and do that to me" to the one guy who swung at my mate. I'm not a small guy by any means and was feeling confident. It happened so fast. 3 guys on top of me punching my head off. I don't remember much after that, just that I had a very lumpy head.

I hate fighting, I hate drunken incidents. I now know to try and avoid any drunk arseholes looking for attention.

ColeTrain wrote: »

I'm just telling the truth, but when a person tells how it is in reality, no-one ever believes it, so it seems what can ye do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Marvellous story there, kippy. Thanks for sharing.

It veat the crap outta your one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

No, this hasn't happened to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Stupid aggressive drunk fools who can't handle a few jars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Unless you're under the age of 12, or you're taking part in a boxing competition, anyone who challenges anyone else to a fight is a saddo. And anyone who accepts that challenge is equally sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

If ye wanna box, say ye wanna box and we'll box, if ye wanna play football, say ye wanna play football and we'll play football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Well I'm terribly fukcing sorry you don't like my story.:pac:

I liked it. The other guy didn't cut The Mustard!