Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Bikers

• 30-11-2013 8:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭

Was on the road today. All day.

I noticed a Garda biker who was booking some lad in a twin cam for something.

After the Garda finished with him he got back on his bike and displayed the worst riding I have ever seen.

He rode up the N7 like a lunitic under taking, over taking and in-between cars.

No Blues and twos. Only to come to the next bridge and slow down and stop to get his Speed gun out again.

Is this acceptable even for a Garda?

I know they are exempt from many traffic laws, but my question is.

Should they behave like this? I understand they have to do a job, but putting other motorists at risk to simply get ahead and catch a speeder doing a few over seems reckless to me. No matter how well they are trained.

Any thoughts on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

He probably wanted to get set up ahead of the twin cam again to see if he learned his lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

Id have had words with him. That sounds dangerous. If he had lost control some way someone else might pay the price for.it.

hansfrei wrote: »
    Id have had words with him. That sounds dangerous. If he had lost control some way someone else might pay the price for.it.

How in the name of god yould you go about that ? :p

"Im sorry officer im going to need you to pull over for a talk about your driving, pull into the layby"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

He probably wanted to get set up ahead of the twin cam again to see if he learned his lesson.

Hard to say without being there, but garda like other class 1 riders are trained in this stuff on top of the 'system' of motorcycle control. What may seem dangerous to you may not be in the eyes of an advanced motorcyclist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

How in the name of god yould you go about that ? :p

"Im sorry officer im going to need you to pull over for a talk about your driving, pull into the layby"

Hes doing a stationary speedcheck.

It wouldnt be the first time Ive complained. Idiots come.in all shapes and have all kinds of jobs. Why wouldn't you is the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Woodpecker1

Excuse the picture quality of my dash cam. Its cheap.

It does not really get the whole story up into the distance but you get the jist of it.

Driver getting pulled is up to 10secs into vid

metal biker pass at 55 seconds in. And up the road weaving at well over the legal limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭scwazrh

whats wrong with the cop biker in the video ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭fg10291

Is this the video from the incident you opened the post with?

Looks pretty sedate, he wouldn't have had to even change lanes only for middle lane jockeys

scwazrh wrote: »
    whats wrong with the cop biker in the video ??

As i said. Its hard to see in the vid due to quality. But eyeballs would have seen the bike undertake and then charge into the fast lane again over the hill and then back into the slow lane at speed. Weaving in between and in and out.

The main point I am trying to point out is,

Should a man who just told off some guy for what ever, continues up the road flaunting the same rules he is trying to preach to others?

I have a great respect for Garda but when I see some of the BS driving and riding they do, it makes me wonder. Im sure you have all seen it at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Looks pretty sedate, he wouldn't have had to even change lanes only for middle lane jockeys

So rather than doing his job and enforcing the law, and forcing people to drive in the correct lane, he decided to undertake them and drive on to set up a speed check.

I was travelling at around 100kph. Im going to take that vid down as its getting away from the question in hand..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

How the gardai was driving in that video was perfectly ok imho.

I was travelling at around 100kph. Im going to take that vid down as its getting away from the question in hand..

In that it shows what actually happenned ? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,843 ✭✭✭Old diesel

In fairness - we don't know what if anything the Twin Cam driver did wrong.

For all we know - the Garda may have pulled him for no other reason then for driving a Twin Cam - ive actually heard of this happening previously.

I thought it was far from being a secret that the Gardaí tend to notice Twin Cams - and tend to be suspicious of them - especially with younger males driving them.

We do know however that the Garda was riding like a bit of an arse for no apparent good reason.

Old diesel wrote: »
    In fairness - we don't know what if anything the Twin Cam driver did wrong.

For all we know - the Garda may have pulled him for no other reason then for driving a Twin Cam - ive actually heard of this happening previously.

I thought it was far from being a secret that the Gardaí tend to notice Twin Cams - and tend to be suspicious of them - especially with younger males driving them.

We do know however that the Garda was riding like a bit of an arse for no apparent good reason.

How do we know the Twin Cam didn't stop for the gardai? Or it was driving dangerously before it was pulled over?
    And how do you know the garda wasn't told to get somewhere on the radio, and then told it was ok? Sounds like you've made up your mind already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Haven't seen the video but Garda bikers in general are top class riders.

I've been on a private course with some of them and they're so far ahead of the field it's scary. Like a chess player they're about 10 steps ahead. Bikers, intelligent ones anyway, tend to develop a sixth (and seventh!!) sense regarding what other road users are going to do and it tends to be fairly accurate. From what I've seen and experienced with Garda riders though they have at least ten!!

As someone else said here, it may look dangerous to you but to a guy that does it all day every day and is trained to a very high level it's not half as dangerous as it appears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,843 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Cienciano wrote: »
    How do we know the Twin Cam didn't stop for the gardai? Or it was driving dangerously before it was pulled over?
    And how do you know the garda wasn't told to get somewhere on the radio, and then told it was ok? Sounds like you've made up your mind already

We don't - but someone suggested the garda may have been looking to get ahead of the twin cam to see if he had learned his lesson.

"to see if he had learned his lesson" implies that the Twin Cam driver must have done something wrong.

Im merely pointing out that the Twin Cam may have been pulled merely for driving a Twin Cam. Ive heard of it happening previously - and gardai have been known to hassle people with Twin Cams and other such cars like Skylines etc - simply for been parked as a group somewhere.

It just f:mad::mad:ks me off when just because your driving a Skyline or a Twin Cam or something Jap and high performance - or a Civic - your a target for Gardaí.

Ive never owned one of those cars - but know of people into that "scene" - or rather used to - what with changing workplaces and all of that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Oral Surgeon

Maybe the twin cam guy stopped the garda to tell him off for undertaking him!!!

Maybe the undertaking twin cammed the pulling over for the garda ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭grainnewhale

Haven't seen the video but Garda bikers in general are top class riders.

I've been on a private course with some of them and they're so far ahead of the field it's scary. Like a chess player they're about 10 steps ahead. Bikers, intelligent ones anyway, tend to develop a sixth (and seventh!!) sense regarding what other road users are going to do and it tends to be fairly accurate. From what I've seen and experienced with Garda riders though they have at least ten!!

As someone else said here, it may look dangerous to you but to a guy that does it all day every day and is trained to a very high level it's not half as dangerous as it appears.

they may be great riders. but bikes are harder to see and definetly if they are passing on the inside. they are asking for trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭grainnewhale

Had a garda car pass me approaching a corner. car came round the corner they had to cut me up. They then proceeded to dawdle in the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭traco

I don't think I'd be questioning a Garda bikers ability, very skilled and streets ahead of 99% of other road users in terms of road/traffic awareness. If that display of riding catches some other clown that is driving beyond their abilities and ends up playing pinball with the barriers then I'm all for it.

For whats its worth I just avoided such and incident on the N7 with a male driver and some buddies last year on the N7. Moron shot up behind a line of overtaking tarffic in the outside lane, tried to squeeze between another car and the median, lost it on the debris and bounced into the barrier and hopped all over the place.

traco wrote: »
    I don't think I'd be questioning a Garda bikers ability, very skilled and streets ahead of 99% of other road users in terms of road/traffic awareness. If that display of riding catches some other clown that is driving beyond their abilities and ends up playing pinball with the barriers then I'm all for it.

For whats its worth I just avoided such and incident on the N7 with a male driver and some buddies last year on the N7. Moron shot up behind a line of overtaking tarffic in the outside lane, tried to squeeze between another car and the median, lost it on the debris and bounced into the barrier and hopped all over the place.

So this training and ability gives them super human instincts that can avoid any accident?

Sign me up. I want some of that.

They are bikers. They can be knocked off that bike as easy as any other.

I personally know a copper biker, I ride with him on and off the track. He is no better or worse than any of the other novice track day lads.

They are generally fairly great road riders and are well trained, but if you think they are invincible then you are sadly mistaken. They will end up on the arse like anybody else, when they ride like spanners.
    And that's the point im trying to make.
    Is it OK them them to ride like they are chasing a bank robber just to get back to the speed trap.

I don't think it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Greyfoot

People with authority usually abuse their power in any sector 90% of the time, I don`t know what is the big deal about this thread??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

I personally know a copper biker, I ride with him on and off the track. He is no better or worse than any of the other novice track day lads.

That's because track and road are quite different disciplines. Garda training is all about the road craft. Track riding plays no part in the training. Garda bikers themselves acknowledge they are no better than anyone else on the track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

It always makes me laugh when i read posts defending garda riding/driving skills......i'm a civilian biker/driver , i can control my bike/car as good as any garda ....BUT theres no accounting for what anyone else might do , its more down to luck than skill, couriers ,although some might see them as reckless are equally as competent as any garda biker....I know garda bikers, the reason they can drive wrecklessly is because they can get away with it....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

So let me get this right, you have video of the actual "alleged" motorcycle Gardas lunatic driving, you post it but 18mins after take it down claiming "its taking away from the question at hand".

Seriously?!

You have "evidence" but because it doesn't show exactly what you are trying to claim you have taken it down. That I'm sorry is just ridiculous, good bad or otherwise you should leave the video up otherwise your allegations are just that allegations.

Oh and by the way there is no FAST lane and no SLOW lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

A motorcyclist is rarely in more potential danger than when he is stuck in a blind spot. A speeding motorcycle is in the danger zone and blind spots when under/ overtaking for split seconds at a time. Driving your car like that is an entirely different proposition to a bike because of their size and weight. I'd bet that statistically, bikers are involved in most incidents in towns and on country lanes. If an unfortunate set of circumstances conspire to knock over a biker who is undertaking motorway traffic, I think you know the chances of anyone other than the biker being injured or worse are minuscule....

Guards, I understand, are allowed to break the rules of the road in the course of their duties and IME, they're among the best drivers on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

hansfrei wrote: »

No you wouldn't so stop lying about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Sure I was on the Lucan by pass 2 nights ago, when all of a sudden a brand new focus and a traffic bike flew past me. No lights or sirens. By the look of it they were racing each other. The speed of them was unreal.

I went to the garage to get petrol and there the 2 coppers were having a cup of tea:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Maybe the undertaking twin cammed the pulling over for the garda ?

... there I see you did what :)

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Why take down the video??

Let us see the ohh so dangerous driving.

Turner wrote: »

I took it down because when I transferred it to Youtube the bad quality became worse and you could not see the nutter ride into the distance.
    This then became a thread about what people could see in a bad vid.

I will get a new dash cam for Christmas. Promise. ;)

Turner wrote: »

Taken down because it wasn't that bad. OP said he was "driving like a lunatic"!! Gardai wasn't doing anything too bad

As I said. People were starting to comment on their own assumption of something they did not see^^^^ case and point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Never posted in this forum before but theres a lot of assumptiona, chips and shoulders in it.

You forgot high horses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Alfasudcrazy

Ah I miss my days as a Garda motorcyclist - getting paid for doing something I loved was great - well at least when it was not raining.