Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Fantasy Football Club

• 30-11-2013 9:02am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 645 ✭✭✭

Can't understand how I haven't heard of this programme until this morning. It airs on Sky Sports 1 on Friday evening and is repeated on Sky1 on Saturday mornings. I don't have Sky Sports and usually work at 9 on a Saturday (not in 'til 12 today :) ) which is why I haven't come across it on tv but still. As far as I know, I haven't seen it mentioned on here much.

So is it a case of it's so bad that it doesn't merit a mention or what's the story? Today's programme was ok, general football fun, interviews, similar to Soccer AM, etc... with a bit of FF talk. This mornings show interviewed Benny McCarthy and Beckham about the 'Class of 92' film. Only seen the second half but the likes of Howard, Vlaar, Morrison and Negredo were tipped for today.

Anybody have anything to say about the programme? Feel free to delete this thread whoever is in charge :) might be silly if everyone knows about it and it's not worth a mention but I'm curious.

https://m.fantasyfootball.skysports.com/news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I've watched this show the odd time and it seemed fairly poor. Is it the same one that Paul Merson co-hosts?

A regular feature was having a player pick the best 11 they'd played with. I remember seeing it and Gheorge Hagi picked about 16 or 17 lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Its so bad, I remember watching the first episode and thinking I needed to give it some time, but Merson has remained v awkward as co-host and as for the main presenter, just too much of an eejit. The ITK crap is particularly embarrassing. Its all geared toward the Sky Sports FF game which I dont play, so that doesnt help on the enjoyment level either

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 645 ✭✭✭loveBBhate

Lemlin wrote: »
    I've watched this show the odd time and it seemed fairly poor. Is it the same one that Paul Merson co-hosts?

A regular feature was having a player pick the best 11 they'd played with. I remember seeing it and Gheorge Hagi picked about 16 or 17 lads!

That's the one alright! Haha yes Benny McCarthy had himself and Jason Roberts up front :)

Ah fair enough, only seen the second half and the four they tipped have been talked about a fair bit on this this week bar Howard, thought it was worth a mention from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Markx

It can be amusing at times. The former player picking his best teammates can be interesting.

In so far as gleaming any useful fantasy football information, its useless......

KevIRL wrote: »
    Its so bad, I remember watching the first episode and thinking I needed to give it some time, but Merson has remained v awkward as co-host and as for the main presenter, just too much of an eejit. The ITK crap is particularly embarrassing. Its all geared toward the Sky Sports FF game which I dont play, so that doesnt help on the enjoyment level either

I agree with regards the presenters, for the half hour I seen. Poor presenters, they were asking rapid fire questions on Benny's previous managers and I remembered thinking how laboured it served. I thought it was Benny at the start with his answers but they were actually good, presenters just didn't seen to know how to respond with a bit of fun and flow. Not as natural as the presenters on Soccer AM.

Well it's a good thing this show is getting bad reviews so fat considering it'd be of no use to me most Saturdays :) I was cursing my luck when I found it and realised I'd be working for near all of them haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Markx wrote: »
    It can be amusing at times. The former player picking his best teammates can be interesting.

In so far as gleaming any useful fantasy football information, its useless......

I only saw that segment re the best eleven twice. The first time Hagi picked far too many players. The second time Jamie O'Hara stuck in players like Gerrard, who he had only trained with for England or something, and the original Ronaldo, who he had played 45 minutes in a charity match with!

Made a bit of a mockery of it.

Markx wrote: »

True, McCarthy had the likes of Ferreira, Carvalho, Deco, Makelele, etc... but interesting when he mentioned the likes of Sunday Oliesh and Tugay. Players not rated as high as the others mentioned bit when you play with players like Tugay day in day out you see a lot more I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Mata did the same a few weeks ago,that part is probably the best part of the show.

I only saw that segment re the best eleven twice. The first time Hagi picked far too many players. The second time Jamie O'Hara stuck in players like Gerrard, who he had only trained with for England or something, and the original Ronaldo, who he had played 45 minutes in a charity match with!

Made a bit of a mockery of it.

Yeah, depends on the player. It's a dull segment if the player was really good, but if it's a bit of journeyman or a guy who came up through the lower leagues it's interesting - John Ruddy was on once.

That said, it's never a show that you would actively tune in for....

Jan Molby on now on SS1. Been entertaining so far. He will have an amazing team i reckon......

Refused to play an FA cup semi against Portsmouth at Highbury under Souness. Refused to be a sub. No fallout.

Molby says a fee was agreed between Liverpool and Barcelona for his transfer. Barcelona didn't eventually have the cash so the transfer didn't go through. Shorty after Pep Someoneorother made his debut.........

"Ohhhhh" says the crowd. Fenners asks where Jan was when Michel Thomas scored in 1989. Jan says he was in the dressing room putting his kit on for the presentation.

Merse is absolutley overjoyed by this.... :>

Here we go: (I'm taking what's said here in discussion as gospel)(numbers are my own)

1. Peader Schmick (who made his Denmark debut at 24)

2. Phil Neal (most decorated man in the history of Liverpool)
    4. Anal Hansen (likened to Rio Ferdinand, due to relaxed style)
    5. Morten Olsen (voted the most influential man in the history of football in denmark)
    3. Steve Nicol (a big fan of crisps)

7. Michael Laudrup
    6. Rijkaard
    10. John Barnes (Best Liverpool Molby ever played with)
    11. Cryuff (not Jordi)

9. Ian Rush
    8. Marco Van Basten(He had it all)

Whatever about the rest of the team (which is not too shabby), that's a demented midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,953 ✭✭✭✭CSF

This show is a load of ****e and has pretty much nothing to do with the game we all love.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭The Wild Bunch

Presenter Fenners 'John Fendley' is a top bloke

Comic genius, it was him and Sheephead who wrote all the gags for Soccer Am before it turned ****e