Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People in Track Suits and Runners Smoking !

• 29-11-2013 10:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭

I just dont get it. Its like they are a walking contradiction I have a track suit on so I am sporty ! But I smoke cancer sticks too.............. Its a bit like seeing a gang of building workers with shovels digging a hole in 3 piece suits just looks wrong to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

have you just seen your first skanger or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭emmabrighton

Have you just attended your first prenatal appointment at the Rotunda?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Not as bad as cyclists smoking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

Maybe they dont care what random strangers think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

I think your over-thinking this op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Not really, its a comfort thing too, I wear combats but i'm not in the military.

Working on a site in a 3 piece suit would be wrong on many levels, not comfy to work in, would get ruined in an hour through snags and you'd be roasting.

What should they be wearing OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Big Davey wrote: »
    I just dont get it. Its like they are a walking contradiction I have a track suit on so I am sporty ! But I smoke cancer sticks too.............. Its a bit like seeing a gang of building workers with shovels digging a hole in 3 piece suits just looks wrong to me.

I hate people that smoke, they absolutely disgust me! If only there was a way they would slowly get cancer for acting this way. That would teach them a lesson they won't forget. :)

If only. :(

PucaMama wrote: »
    Maybe they dont care what random strangers think?

So they shouldn't drink alcohol or eat fast food either?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Have you been in a coma for the last 20 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

I play 5-a-side football and smoke at half time so I don't see a problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

I blame Jimmy Savile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

Moved over to Leeds there a few months ago. Yesterday I saw a lady, must have been pushing 80, going for a jog wearing a burka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Big Davey wrote: »
    I have a track suit on so I am sporty !
    Most people wearing tracksuits are not sporty, just like most wearing baseball caps don't have a clue about the game.

They just happen to be comfortable well designed clothes.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

danniemcq wrote: »
    So they shouldn't drink alcohol or eat fast food either?

Have been known to drink lots of alcohol and eat fast food right after running a marathon and before making it back to the hotel to get changed out of my running gear, and wouldn't be that uncommon to see a couple of lads outside having a celebratory smoke as well. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

The track suit and runners is so that they can run away after committing crime which they all invariably do, on a regular basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Maybe they don't exercise for health reasons. Maybe they just don't want to be fat f*cks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

You really have to marvel at the increasingly tenuity of the methods employed by people to try and crank out another scumbag thread.

Next will be the shocking revelation that young people in combat trousers are not currently serving in the armed forces.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

OneArt wrote: »
    Maybe they don't exercise for health reasons. Maybe they just don't want to be fat f*cks.

People who exercise get to eat more cake, drink more beer and scoff as much fast food as they like. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

robinph wrote: »
    Have been known to drink lots of alcohol and eat fast food right after running a marathon and before making it back to the hotel to get changed out of my running gear, and wouldn't be that uncommon to see a couple of lads outside having a celebratory smoke as well. :D

There was meant to be big lines at fast food outlets in the last olympics as athletes were able to take a break from the rigid diet regimes they had been following in the run up.

I can understand that as after all the hard work they deserve it and given they were probably not competing again too soon after, it wouldn't hurt their performance either.

Anyway maybe the people in tracksuits just like sport but don't care about health or maybe they just find them comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Having a cigarette doesn't immediately negate any and all fitness activities that someone does. I know smokers who can run rings around most people on the soccer pitch and I know plenty of people who abstain from from both smoking and drinking who couldn't run a bath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Ah I love the smell of smug non-smokers in the morning.

anncoates wrote: »
    You really have to marvel at the increasingly tenuity of the methods employed by people to try and crank out another scumbag thread.

Next will be the shocking revelation that young people in combat trousers are not currently serving in the armed forces.

o/ that'd be me.

Although i guess i could argue i'm waiting for the crumbling of society but in reality they are comfy and have loads of pockets for all my stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Having a cigarette doesn't immediately negate any and all fitness activities that someone does. I know smokers who can run rings around most people on the soccer pitch and I know plenty of people who abstain from from both smoking and drinking who couldn't run a bath

Yes it is possible to maintain good fitness. For instance Johann Cryuff was a heavy cigarette smoker during his playing career as where some other players of his era. Sir Edmund Hilary was a smoker when he made his conquest of Everest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

anncoates wrote: »

I've got soul, but I'm not a...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Uaru

Not as upsetting as the country boys wearing boot cut jeans but with brown shoes instead of boots! shocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

Yesterday I saw a lady, must have been pushing 80, going for a jog wearing a burka.

That is the kind of thing that brightens my day. Makes me believe there is hope yet :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Sure I have a friend who works for an organic food shop, eats and drinks only organic and vegan food (also only organic wine), is very careful about germs and things like that, to the point where you'd swear she's probably the most "detoxed" person in Dublin... And in between shifts goes outside and smokes for the duration of the break. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Smoking doesn't instantly remove your ability to be fit and otherwise healthy. Sure, it does you major damage in the long term and minor damage in the short term, but the ravaging effects of cigarette smoking are way overstated.

Regardless of that: Smoking and exercising >> smoking and not exercising. I would have thought this was self-evident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭LOSTfan57

whiskeyman wrote: »
    I've got soul, but I'm not a...

Ginger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭LOSTfan57

Smoking doesn't instantly remove your ability to be fit and otherwise healthy. Sure, it does you major damage in the long term and minor damage in the short term, but the ravaging effects of cigarette smoking are way overstated.

Regardless of that: Smoking and exercising >> smoking and not exercising. I would have thought this was self-evident.

Dimitar Berbatov usually has a pre match cigar doesnt do him any harm....

LOSTfan57 wrote: »

Sure there's often pictures in the rags of professional footballers smoking. At that level it's a fairly silly thing to do since everyone is at peak fitness and any drop in your oxygen intake is going to make a difference.

For a normal Joe who goes running a few times a week the difference would barely be noticeable. Unless you've smoked fairly heavily for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

LOSTfan57 wrote: »

Not certain a player not known for moving faster than a brisk walk is the best example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

So edgy!

Christy42 wrote: »
    Not certain a player not known for moving faster than a brisk walk is the best example.

Wayne Rooney then. He's been known to enjoy a cigarette. He might not be the fastest player in the world, but his stamina can't be argued with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭An Riabhach

I hate people that smoke, they absolutely disgust me! If only there was a way they would slowly get cancer for acting this way. That would teach them a lesson they won't forget. :)

If only. :(

Would you say that to a member of your own family if they smoked?

Siúl leat, siúl leat, le dóchas i do chroí, is ní shiúlfaidh tú i d'aonar go deo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

Ashley Cole, Zidane, Rooney and Ballotelli all smoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭An Riabhach

masti123 wrote: »
    Ashley Cole, Zidane, Rooney and Ballotelli all smoke

And also Stan Collymore when he was playing.
    And of course we all know about Best and Gazza's lifestyles off the pitch during their playing days.

Tennis player David Ferrer was a smoker when he began his career,and now he is the 4th best player in the world and one of the fittest and toughest players ever.

Siúl leat, siúl leat, le dóchas i do chroí, is ní shiúlfaidh tú i d'aonar go deo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Big Davey

There was actually a few really good boxers over the years who smoked too ! One of my favourites Mike Mcallum used to smoke weed when he was not in training lol and he beat Steve Collins :-)