Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much do take away delivery drivers make?

• 28-11-2013 7:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭

I've been ordering a good few take aways lately, and it's led me to wonder, should I tip the driver? I know in the USA, delivery drivers and such are given below minimum wage and have to make up the rest of their wage from tips, does this happen in Ireland? Personally, I feel if a delivery driver is making minimum wage or above, they don't deserve any tips, unless they've shown excellent service, their job is not in any way difficult and I'd personally enjoy a job like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

about, yes you guessed it...

Threefiddy!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I've been ordering a good few take aways lately, and it's led me to wonder, should I tip the driver? I know in the USA, delivery drivers and such are given below minimum wage and have to make up the rest of their wage from tips, does this happen in Ireland? Personally, I feel if a delivery driver is making minimum wage or above, they don't deserve any tips, unless they've shown excellent service, their job is not in any way difficult and I'd personally enjoy a job like that.

The tipping takeaway drivers thread seems to be a night or two early this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Just an example from an establishment in the town where I live. 10 euro for the night whether called out or not, for each run 2euro plus whatever tip the customer might give.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭The Rad Runner

Usually 5 euro an hour basic. From 1 euro up for delivery charge and whatever tips are given

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I always tip the delivery men/women, cooked hot food to your door, can't beat it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

65-73k
    Company Car

30 euro set 10 hours, plus 1 euro delivery charge,

plus tips = 20e approximately,

Roughly 70/80e a night.

From a delivery driver who just knocked :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Just an example from an establishment in the town where I live. 10 euro for the night whether called out or not, for each run 2euro plus whatever tip the customer might give.

Two Euro per run or delivery?
    There could be three or four deliveries on a run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

realies wrote: »
    30 euro set 10 hours, plus 1 euro delivery charge,

plus tips = 20e approximately,

Roughly 70/80e a night.

From a delivery driver who just knocked :-)
    Only 20 on tips? Aw the delivery driver must have loved coming to my old place. Minimum 25 tip between the 7 or 8 of us when we'd order
    Actually probably why he didn't mind the smokey eh..odor coming out the door either

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Mint Aero wrote: »
    65-73k
    Company Car

and they get to sprinkle their pubes on your pizza! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

So, not much is the answer then, if you take off fuel, wear and tear ins. etc. I didn't think it was a route to riches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

kneemos wrote: »
    Two Euro per run or delivery?
    There could be three or four deliveries on a run.

Two per delivery.

Are they self employed,on the books or off line?

So, not much is the answer then, if you take off fuel, wear and tear ins. etc. I didn't think it was a route to riches.

Forgot to add fuel, the more orders the more fuel,so it could cost you up to 20 e a night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭btard

Yes, you should tip the driver. You will get plenty of cheap bastards on here telling you why you shouldn't tip the driver with all sorts of rationalisations. Just do the decent thing and tip the guy. He's probably been delivering to ignorant ****ers all night. I imagine a small tip and smile would be appreciated. It's not so much the money as the thought. It will make you feel better and you will enjoy your pizza more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I don't know how much, but I always tip delivery drivers. Just got 2 large pizzas and played 23eu+2eu tip.

I talked with a fella who owns domino pizza place in US and he said that drivers make most money of all hos employees. They make more then managers, but have a lot less responsibility and easier job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

A mate of mine owns a chippers and he giver yer man 30 quid a night, plus 1 or 2e per delivery, this guy also works for 2 or 3 places a night so he could be gettin €150 plus each evening.

Yes he is eastern european and does work 7 nights a week!

Creamin it in he is!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

ardinn wrote: »
    Creamin it

Benefits in kind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭lintdrummer

Always tip, usually a euro or two. I've done delivery driving briefly as a nixer and tips are what makes or breaks your night.
    There's actually quite a bit of pressure involved on a busy night, particularly in a city where traffic is a problem.
    I was using my own car so you have to factor in all the extra mileage, fuel, wear and tear etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

ardinn wrote: »
    A mate of mine owns a chippers and he giver yer man 30 quid a night, plus 1 or 2e per delivery, this guy also works for 2 or 3 places a night so he could be gettin €150 plus each evening.

Yes he is eastern european and does work 7 nights a week!

Creamin it in he is!!!

What a horrible existence though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭MarkY91

why would i tip them? thats what the 1.50 delivery charge is for :S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Always give 2 euro. Some of the delivery lads I know are making a nice bit. 30/40 per night, delivery charge and tips.

Doesn't seem like a lot.
    Alright for pocket money a few nights a week maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

kneemos wrote: »
    Doesn't seem like a lot.
    Alright for pocket money a few nights a week maybe.

It is when they have full time jobs and they could be pulling in an extra 100 quid + when doing deliveries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

When I did it, it was e20 per night and e2-5 per delivery, depending on distance. With tips, I could make anything between e40 and e120 in a 6 hour shift, plus any meal I wanted at the end of the night. I had to cover my own petrol. T'was grand.

I always tip a euro. If anything, it's because I consider it wise to be nice to people who handle my food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

SV wrote: »
    What a horrible existence though
    Doesn't sound bad at all, in my opinion. Make a good bit of money practically for driving around, work doesn't start till the day is practically over leaving plenty of time for personal endeavors, most takeaway places don't stay open very late most nights, leaving plenty of time to get a good nights rest. Only bad part about it is the late nights on Friday and Saturday. He's definitely doing quite well for himself in this day and age.
    And I decided to tip the delivery driver, not too much, just told him to keep the change of about a euro, should have tipped him more, got my pizza delivered to me in about 19 minutes from placing the order and it was one of the best pizzas I've ever tasted, why has no one ever told me about the amazingness of chipper pizza? I always thought it was crap that wasn't fit to be fed to a raccoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

What annoys me is when you hand them a 20 let's say and then they spend as much time as they can rooting through their pockets, counting change just waiting for you to say " ah go on your alright, keep the change "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    What annoys me is when you hand them a 20 let's say and then they spend as much time as they can rooting through their pockets, counting change just waiting for you to say " ah go on your alright, keep the change "

Bingo. Amazing that if you give them 25 and ask them for 2 Euro change how fast they can find it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Personally, I once had a curry from an Indian place which is 5 minutes down the road take over an hour(possibly an hour an a half), despite advertising times of 30 minutes, order came to about 13 euro including delivery, I handed the delivery driver €15, he spent ages pretending to rummage around in his pockets, before telling me he had to go to his car to get change, went to get change, came back and told me he had no change, I asked him for my fiver back so I could go and make up the 3 euro from coins lying around the house rather than give him the 2 euro after that performance. And I remember the order was placed rather late, about half 2 or 3, I don't see how a curry from an indian place could take that long at that time at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

Delivered for dominos pizza
    As a delivery driver you get €4.50 per hour and you receive €1.50 for every delivery you make so if you average 3 or 4 deliveries per hour you'd get €9 or €10.50 per hour which is possible at the weekends and fridays when it is fairly busy but during the week its not as busy so you wouldn't get as many deliveries per hour
    So tips do make a difference to how much you end up with at the end of the night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Just me, but I'd rather eat it than deliver it. 4rsing round trying to find some gimp who fancies a curry or pizza for bottom dollar pay sounds like a load of guff tbh. I'm guessing the actual take-away is grossing pretty big bucks daily and the mug is doing the deliveries. I always tip the drivers if I get a delivery, which is rare- I usually drive down and get it myself- getting it delivered feels waay to decadent.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Dominos Pizza used to pay €5 per hour and then you got €1.50 per drop.
    Average Saturday night would be 6pm-12 and you would do about 20 drops. That was a good night. Tips on a good night could be €30, regularly €10-€15 though.

That was before they started to open longer and seemly they don't pay an hourly rate anymore but the drivers get €3 per drop now.

Plus you were not allowed go out with more than one drop as it's computer based and the driver has to clock out a delivery before a certain time. Sometimes you would get a second drop if it was on the same route and was out of the oven at the same time.

kceire wrote: »
    Dominos Pizza used to pay €5 per hour and then you got €1.50 per drop.
    Average Saturday night would be 6pm-12 and you would do about 20 drops. That was a good night. Tips on a good night could be €30, regularly €10-€15 though.

That was before they started to open longer and seemly they don't pay an hourly rate anymore but the drivers get €3 per drop now.

Plus you were not allowed go out with more than one drop as it's computer based and the driver has to clock out a delivery before a certain time. Sometimes you would get a second drop if it was on the same route and was out of the oven at the same time.

Still minimum wage minus costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

So i got a delivery from an indian take away a few weeks back that has a few branches in Dublin.
    Order came to €13.90.
    Deliverywoman arrives at the door with the meal, I ask "how much is that" she goes "ehm... €19.90"
    I knew it wasn't that much, as I'd only ordered for meself so said "oh, thought it was €13 something" and she hands me the receipt and said "ah, I can't read it, here you look".
    Fine, paid for the meal whatever..... but upon looking back on it I couldn't help but think this was intentional in order to have me potentially round up to €20.
    Has anybody here had a similar experience?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

While local chippers/ Chinese/ Indian places can easily get away with this stuff of a nightly below min wage payment plus per delivery payments as it is likely all off the books, what about the likes of Dominos? I would imagine they are all on the books, being a chain, uniformed and all etc. Minimum hourly wage plus fuel allowance?