Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WWE Smackdown Spoilers for 29th Nov 2013

• 27-11-2013 12:02pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭

WWE Smackdown
    Nov. 29, 2013

-Renee Young brings out WWE Champion Randy Orton for an in-ring interview. Orton says he was never knocked out at Survivor Series, just playing possum. He also claimed he didn't need Triple H or Stephanie McMahon, or any member of The Authority to beat the Big Show. She asks the champ what he thinks about the unification match at TLC, but Orton just walks away.

-There is some sort of food eating contest for Thanksgiving backstage, between Great Khali and Titus O'Neil.

(1) Mark Henry def. Curtis Axel. Ryback was ringside for his former Paul Heyman Guy partner, and Big E Langston came out for Henry.

-Brodus Clay gets into it backstage with Xavier Woods, upset that he stole his entrance music on Raw this past week. Clay shoves him, and tells him to respect the main event players.

(2) Los Matadores & El Torito def. 3MB dressed up as the "Plymouth Rockers"

(3) Tons of Funk def. Xavier Woods & R-Truth, after Funk splashed Woods from the second rope.

-Bray Wyatt cuts a promo on the abducted Daniel Bryan, saying he will turn the man into a monster, or some such foolishness.

(4) Antonio Cesaro def. Titus O'Neil… This match was Titus O'Neil's reward for beating Khali in the Thanksgiving eating contest. Darren Young broke up the Cesaro Swing to cause a DQ finish for Titus, who then "threw up" into JBL's hat, which got thrown at Michael Cole.

(5) WWE Tag Team Championship Match
    Cody Rhodes & Goldust def. Seth Rollins & Roman Reigns via disqualification, after Dean Ambrose attacked them.

-Vickie Guerrero announced that the match would restart as a 6-man tag team match.

(6) CM Punk, Cody Rhodes & Goldust def. THe SHield via disqualification. This time it was the Wyatt Family that got involved.

-Once again, Vickie Guerrero comes out, and we've got a 12-man tag team match.

(7) CM Punk, Goldust, Cody Rhodes, Rey Mysterio & The Usos def. The Shield & The Wyatt Family

Not against the idea of ToF turning heel. Think the two could be a great monster tag team, something we've not had for ages. And nice to see Woods get a proper story coming into the WWE (hopefully it goes beyond this week).

Wonder if Brie Bella has called the police to report the kidnapping :rolleyes: Hate these angles....

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Since when is Brodus "main event"?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

So it is getting billed as a unification match

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

DM-ICE wrote: »

There's still a lot of confusion on that front. The phrasing on Raw said everything but unification.

EDIT: The main event went 40 minutes and is said to be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

-Bray Wyatt cuts a promo on the abducted Daniel Bryan, saying he will turn the man into a monster

Surely not a heel turn for Bryan?

Clay shoves him, and tells him to respect the main event players.
    Angron wrote: »
    Since when is Brodus "main event"?

He must mean 'Main Event' players, as in the C show on a Wednesday that nobody watches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭SirDelboy18

So Bryan comes back next week, gives Harper the Busaiku Knee, never interacts with the Wyatt's again, then joins the Authority with a "corporate makeover".

That seems to be how these things go.

Raw is in Seattle in 2 weeks so I would presume they are going to tease Bryan joining the Wyatts only for Bryan to kick their asses on that show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

(5) WWE Tag Team Championship Match
    Cody Rhodes & Goldust def. Seth Rollins & Roman Reigns via disqualification, after Dean Ambrose attacked them.

-Vickie Guerrero announced that the match would restart as a 6-man tag team match.

(6) CM Punk, Cody Rhodes & Goldust def. The Shield via disqualification. This time it was the Wyatt Family that got involved.

-Once again, Vickie Guerrero comes out, and we've got a 12-man tag team match.

(7) CM Punk, Goldust, Cody Rhodes, Rey Mysterio & The Usos def. The Shield & The Wyatt Family

I don't think that I've ever seen such nonsense! Vince Russo would be proud of that garbage

I wouldn't really associate that with Russo now. He wouldn't book that much Wrestling. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

probably just the way the guy reporting it wrote it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

rovert wrote: »
    is said to be great.

People said the same about Survivor Series and it was dull as fcuk.

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    People said the same about Survivor Series and it was dull as fcuk.

Who said the same?

I seen it on other forums so was expecting a good show. Didnt read anything here before watching it as I was trying to avoid spoilers.

Just noticed, nothing with the Divas? First time in a long time if they arent featured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

Jaysus,only so many meaningless multi man matches they can throw the Shield into without them getting boring,as good as the matches usually are.
    Bray Wyatt cuts a promo on the abducted Daniel Bryan, saying he will turn the man into a monster, or some such foolishness.

Lad must have forgot he was at a wrestling show.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

RE No Divas:

Could be a backstage angle they just didn't show the crowd. Happens fairly often.

probably just the way the guy reporting it wrote it!

Probably right, I read on twitter feed that the main event taping suggested it qwas a unification match. Has the Triple H and Cole interview appeared yet this week? Will probably be clarified on that.

Has the Triple H and Cole interview appeared yet this week? Will probably be clarified on that.

Yes, Triple H said that the goal is one undisputed champion. And he calls us all 'Internet geeks' :pac:

http://www.wwe.com/videos/playlists/triple-h-exclusive-interviews-with-michael-cole

The goal is pretty clear, hopefully its actually the case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,030 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Source

WWE taped the following matches last night in Uncasville, CT to air on Friday’s Thanksgiving themed SmackDown:
    * Mark Henry vs. Curtis Axel
    * 3MB vs. Los Matadores and El Torito
    * Tensai and Brodus Clay vs. Xavier Woods and R-Truth
    * Titus O’Neil vs. Antonio Cesaro
    * Seth Rollins and Roman Reigns vs. Goldust and Cody Rhodes for the WWE Tag Team Titles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

EDIT: The main event went 40 minutes and is said to be great.

Hope its not another case of a live fan seeing something others don`t. Like Gen Me vs Bad Influence or Cesaro vs Sami Zayn which both were good but nowhere near touted MOTY contenders.

GTR63 wrote: »
    Hope its not another case of a live fan seeing something others don`t. Like Gen Me vs Bad Influence or Cesaro vs Sami Zayn which both were good but nowhere near touted MOTY contenders.

A huge amount of Cesaro and Sami was edited off. The crowd DID see something us didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭QikBax

Ambrose was gold on commentary.

Fun main event

Well this happened:
    BaQpoYdCUAAqgbD.jpg:large

The extended main event was fun but was paced a hair slower than what you would want for extended parts. Ambrose fecking loved being on commentary. Better than the usual crew as he explained why everyone is dangerous, tag psychology etc.

Titus was gold on both Raw and Smackdown this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

Well this happened:
    titus puking

That bit stank of Vince, the bit where he held and puked on Zeb was just disgusting. Reminded me of the Droz bit in Beyond the Mat & how enthusiastic Vince was about it.

Main event was very good, although I nearly missed as the Titus stuff nearly made me hit delete.

Amazing how good Goldust is at his age and the shape he has got himself into these days. I hope he can stay going and maybe even get an run as a singles guy again before age catches up on him.

Wyatts are getting better imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,801 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Main event was very good, although I nearly missed as the Titus stuff nearly made me hit delete.

Amazing how good Goldust is at his age and the shape he has got himself into these days. I hope he can stay going and maybe even get an run as a singles guy again before age catches up on him.

Wyatts are getting better imo.

Harper looks like he could be a very good big man in time.

Dustin Runnells has always been underrated IMO. He had a match with Sheamus a few years back on ECW that showed me he still got it. He hasn't missed a beat since returning

beakerjoe wrote: »
    Harper looks like he could be a very good big man in time.

Harper is a very good big man already. It's the crap he is paired with that makes him look worse. He didnt look at all out of place in those singles matches against Punk and Bryan recently. Wyatt and especially Rowan drag him down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Hematocyte

jamc wrote: »
    Ambrose was gold on commentary.

I didn't think he was very good at all. For one thing Ambrose kept straight complimenting the Shields opponents during the match. Also at one point (as JBL was rattling off a list of "tag team champion brothers") Ambrose (unfortunately?) mentioned the Hardy Boyz and the Dudleys (two teams that currently have representation on TNA and who I don't think I've heard name-checked on WWE even once in the 12 months or so since I started watching wrestling again).

The latter of mentioning active wrestlers from rival organisations was just minor I suppose, but the former of bigging-up the opponent and rattling off stats that only a fan would know seemed to make absolutely no sense. Every time I've heard a guest heel wrestler commentator they usually try to stick to a logical script of slating the rival in the ring or giving the rival a false compliment of "he's good but I'm (or we're) better" etc. However half the time Ambrose sounded more like a Goldust mark during the opening section of the match rather than a heel who was in character.

Still, that said, at least Ambrose was more talkative than Del Rio with his embarrassing "you are gringo, perro" effort a few weeks back :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭QikBax

I completely disagree but to each their own I suppose :)

I felt he broke from the norm of the usual guest commentator who sticks to a script and is afraid to veer from it. Most of them don't know what to do once they get out there,

As far as talking about his opponents, I think he got everyone in the match over as as a star and a genuine threat while remaining a heel by claiming they were screwed out of the title. I liked that he mentioned the Dudleys and the Hardys regardless of the fact that they represent TNA. History shouldn't be forgotten just because it wrestles elsewhere. Otherwise he'd be listing "MacGillicuty & Otunga", "The Basham Brothers" & "Deuce 'n Domino" as all time greats.

Different strokes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭sophya

First post in the PW forum. I have to say that I love that the Shield managed to get nearly an hour of tv time on Smackdown.

Ambrose was good on commentary, I especially liked him talking about the other Shield guys being like brothers to him. Hopefully that will be developed and be brought up when they actually split.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,801 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Hi Sophya, good to have ya aboard

When The Shield split, I can see all 3 still being featured heavily on TV. All have had a great debut year and all can go far.

Roman looks set for the top, reminded me of Diesel in 94 when he cleared house at Survivor Series.

With Ambrose I see a lot of Brian Pillman and Mick Foley in him. Could be the resident Psychotic heel in a few years time or sooner

Rollins is the lesser of the 3 in my opinion but that doesn't mean he looks great. Not sure where I see him at after the faction breaks up but he has the tools to go far.

That being said I reckon all 3 are far away from being broken up anytime soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭sophya

beakerjoe wrote: »
    Hi Sophya, good to have ya aboard

When The Shield split, I can see all 3 still being featured heavily on TV. All have had a great debut year and all can go far.

Roman looks set for the top, reminded me of Diesel in 94 when he cleared house at Survivor Series.

With Ambrose I see a lot of Brian Pillman and Mick Foley in him. Could be the resident Psychotic heel in a few years time or sooner

Rollins is the lesser of the 3 in my opinion but that doesn't mean he looks great. Not sure where I see him at after the faction breaks up but he has the tools to go far.

That being said I reckon all 3 are far away from being broken up anytime soon

Haha Rollins is actually my personal favourite. IMO he's the best wrestler of the three and his moveset is one of the best on the roster today. But I've been following him since he was in ROH. If he brought back the Paroxysm to use regularly that would be awesome cause I love that move. I see him following in the vein of CM Punk and Daniel Bryan tbh.

Reigns will be the guy they push, he has the look and his spear is great. I never quite got the hype around Ambrose, he is the best speaker but his ring work just never clicked with me.

I hope that the three of them get pushes when the Shield disbands. They deserve it after being such an important part of the WWE for a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭montyrebel

yeah for me its 1, rollins, 2, reigns and then 3, ambrose

Ambrose is by far the most complete of the three. Thats why he got the singles title and does the majority of the talking.

All three should have great singles careers, but I'd expect Ambrose to need the least help.