Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tony Mangan's World Run

• 26-11-2013 3:43pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3

I am new to the forum so hello everyone. The reason I have taken the plunge is that I have been following Tony Mangan's blog about his World Run and I can't understand why his epic expedition isn't getting more attention from the athletics community and wider sporting sporting public in Ireland.

He's been on the road now for over three years and so far has run the length of North America, Central America and South America, and taken in Fiji and New Zealand en route to a record-breaking south to north crossing of Australia which he completed last May. Since then he's been averaging a marathon a day in some gruelling conditions in South East Asia. He's currently running through Burma (Myanmar) with a police escort as he edges closer to 40,000kms on the road!

I can't do Tony's efforts justice, but here's a great account from Lyndon Mullan, an Irish expat and ultra-runner based in Singapore, who joined Tony on the Singapore leg of the World Run.

======

Lyndon Mullan on meeting Tony Mangan

" I am a long time ex-pat Irishman based now in Singapore, and about 2 years ago became involved in the crazy activity known as ultra running. As I started to learn more about ultra running, I found out about Tony Mangan from Ireland who had started an amazing adventure to run around the World - starting with the Dublin Marathon in Oct 2010 and ending with the Dublin Marathon in 2014. I thought this was impossible and ridiculous.

By the time I started following Tony's blog (http://www.theworldjog.com/), he had already conquered most of North America, through its winter blizzards in the North East to its Deserts in the South West. Over the next two years I followed Tony's progress on his blog with amazement as he purposely sought out possibly the longest way of moving from East to West by continuing to the south of Argentina by way of the Andes, 7,000km in 7 months in the winter with no tent, just a small 2kg bag. All the way south to Ushuaia in Patagonia with all its raging winds and storms, Northwards though New Zealand's South and North islands, transverses Australia (not forgetting Tasmania), and then ran right across Indonesia. Three years, 40 pairs of runners, and almost 38,000 kilometers run.

As I returned to Singapore from my Summer holidays in August 2013, I was hoping I would have the chance to meet Tony if he decided to include Singapore in his route through South East Asia. A hundred kilometers or so south of the Equator, in Sumatra, Indonesia Tony contacted me to say he would be running through Singapore - but would need to put in 2 more marathon days in order to keep to schedule - he had already completed 38 consecutive days running on average a marathon a day! I hadn't met Tony yet - but already it was starting to sink in - how out of the ordinary Tony is.

When I eventually met Tony in my house in Singapore on the evening of Monday 9th September 2013 - he had just completed 40 consecutive days of running an average of a marathon a day - alone, unsupported, through Sumatra's extreme and equatorial conditions. Physically or mentally how anyone could achieve this is beyond my comprehension, and then to consider he had been living this way for almost 3 years. He appeared physically and mentally shredded when I met him - utterly exhausted. But still resolute, still anxious not to waste a day, still focused on 2.05pm on the day of the 2014 Dublin Marathon - the end line.

As I spoke to my teenage kids about this stranger we had taken in for a few days I tried to describe the significance and enormity of what Tony was doing. It's a crude comparison but Columbus, Armstrong or Hillary all achieved something wonderful - but they had extensive support in terms of resources in what were very dangerous expeditions - but Tony is alone in his challenge, it will take at least 4 years of his life and in my view carries as much, or more danger. Tony's expedition exemplifies a level of resilience (physical and mental) and determination which must surely be rare in the history of human endeavor?

Tony leaves us tomorrow running north through Malaysia, Thailand, Laos and "turning left at China" (in Tony's own words), in winter - onto the home straight through Kazakhstan, Russia towards home.

I later heard he had a visa problem for China and had a Plan B taking him back to Europe through troubled and not so free of restrictions of movement in Myanmar, then through India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Iran, Turkey.So out is also Kazakhstan and Russia.
    Perhaps the highlights of his run so far have been running across the Australian Outback from Melbourne to Darwin in a record 9 and a half weeks. Also crossing the equator in Ecuador with a recrossing taking place a year and a half in Indonesia.

I doubt I'll ever meet someone like Tony ever again - he speaks of his "dream", I never expected a dream could manifest itself in such a form - resetting the limits of the human being's physical and mental endurance. The opening line of the Jimi Hendrix song "Voodoo Chile" comes to mind - "Well, I stand up next to a mountain And I chop it down with the edge of my hand". Spend some time with this modest Irishman - and you will start to think that almost nothing is impossible.

But what really puzzles me is why after three years hasn't Ireland's media and sporting community haven't picked up on the Tony Mangan phenomenon? At a time when Ireland is so desperately trying to rebuild itself, and prove its own resilience - what better inspiration could we have than our very own Tony Mangan!

Lyndon Mullan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

Comparing someone on a jog to Sir Edmond Hillary or Neil Armstrong is almost ridiculous enough to make me think this post is a troll... Sadly I doubt it is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

To be fair, comparing it to Hillary or Armstrong is just as ridiculous as describing it as "someone on a jog."

Here's the thread discussing it.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=75621965

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Dundalkrunner

This post is an appreciation of a remarkable Irish athlete. Instead of ridiculing one line from what is a lengthy post, why not consider what is must be like to have run 39,000kms alone (bar the Australian leg) in conditions from sub-zero to 40 plus degress, averaging in or around a marathon per day on the road. That's one hell of a 'jog' in anyone's book.

Exactly. It's a very impressive adventure. His blog is a great read. Some amazing stories.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

But what really puzzles me is why after three years hasn't Ireland's media and sporting community haven't picked up on the Tony Mangan phenomenon? At a time when Ireland is so desperately trying to rebuild itself, and prove its own resilience - what better inspiration could we have than our very own Tony Mangan!

It's because the Irish sporting media don't give a crap about athletics. I'm more concerned about the lack of coverage of elite Irish athletics though to be honest, the National Inter-counties barely got a mention on national media a few weeks ago. While I think what Tony is doing is impressive from an endurance point of view, I don't see it as a great athletic challenge. Impressive in terms of mental strength, yes no doubt, but in terms of an athletic achievement, that's questionable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

"pconn062 wrote: »
    but in terms of an athletic achievement, that's questionable.
    Must be up there with a 1:30 half,at least

• Registered Users Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

ultraman1 wrote: »
    Must be up there with a 1:30 half,at least

Not sure I get your point, but no, a 1.30 half is not an impressive athletic achievement. Paul Pollock destroying a great field in the National Inter-Counties is an impressive athletics achievement, for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭RandyMann

What Tony is doing is not athletics. He is not in a competive race. He is jogging around the world.
    A "journey" I think would be the word more appropriate to his epic achievement. Fair play to him and I hope he achieves his goal and comes away from this unharmed and healthy.
    I can understand why not all people are interested though when so few are interested in "athletics" in the first place.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

just to let you know, there have been a couple of threads about Tony's run already.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=68075931
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=75126947
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=75462956

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

I would have thought one of the newspapers would have at least signed up for a weekly digest or similar, I mean there's enough crap in them these days to allow for them to take a chance on something like this.
    The FIT magazine would have been the perfect vehicle for this and they seem to be struggling with fresh content recently.

Ultimately though I get the impression Tony isn't too successful in self-promotion and could have perhaps benefited from some better advice/decision-making before starting his trek and ensuring there was a buzz about the expedition beforehand. Hopefully he finishes things out successfully and manages to get a book deal similar to Gerry Duffy's 32 marathons/Tick, Tock, Ten adventures. I know I'd be buying it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭ger664

belcarra wrote: »
    The FIT magazine would have been the perfect vehicle for this and they seem to be struggling with fresh content recently.

If I recall they did an article and he was on the front cover so time ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭wgtomblin

For me, this is all about someone's personal journey. He must have great physical endurance and mental strength to get through it. Hats off to him. There may be a good book in there somewhere.

But his achievements hold little interest for me in terms of competitive athletics. To echo sentiments of previous poster, I wish there was more media exposure and coverage of the national compretitions in this country (Nat T&F, Intercounties, marathon), but sadly there's relatively little interest.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

If there's a book in the making he's going to have some serious competition in the whacky adventure category! http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2499853/Mike-Spencer-Bown-worlds-traveled-man-finally-heads-home-23-years.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

belcarra wrote: »
    I would have thought one of the newspapers would have at least signed up for a weekly digest or similar, I mean there's enough crap in them these days to allow for them to take a chance on something like this.

Ultimately though I get the impression Tony isn't too successful in self-promotion and could have perhaps benefited from some better advice/decision-making before starting his trek and ensuring there was a buzz about the expedition beforehand. Hopefully he finishes things out successfully and manages to get a book deal similar to Gerry Duffy's 32 marathons/Tick, Tock, Ten adventures. I know I'd be buying it.
    If FIT magazine did a feature on Tony Mangan what would happen to the article about the dolly bird that does kettle bells twice a week since July? Come on, only real suggestions please. Don't think Tony would make a great cover picture either, its been a while since he done any serious pout work.

ultrapercy wrote: »
    If FIT magazine did a feature on Tony Mangan what would happen to the article about the dolly bird that does kettle bells twice a week since July? Come on, only real suggestions please. Don't think Tony would make a great cover picture either, its been a while since he done any serious pout work.

They did put him on the cover.

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?p=26975

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Very good. But that was 15 months ago and plenty has happened on his journey since then.
    I mean they could easily have ditched the 'psychology' guy (whom I never read) who must have to tell the same story every week?
    A weekly update from Tony would always have a different tale to tell.

I have followed his blog on and off but it's a bit lacking in formatting and not always 'user-friendly', so the weekly digest would be perfect imho.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

One for the mods. How about merging all these into one for Tony?

Anyway as someone who has followed his blog from the start and has contributed to his journey I find his persistence in following his dream completely remarkable. Some of the stories are incredible.

Personally I find what he is doing so inspirational that I am thinking of doing the next Dublin Marathon just to jog with this stupendous human being!

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Dundalkrunner

Just an update to let everyone know that earlier this month Tony Mangan completed his 1000th marathon in 963 days on the road. Incredible!

Here's his own description from his blog
    www.theworldjog.com

The 1,000th Marathon has been run in under 1,000 days and the plan going forward
    April 11th, 2014

Sorry it has taken me almost a week to get this posting up! For this run I have had to dig very deep into my endurance base and mind games which as I have said on many many occasions has made a very ordinary runner a two time world 48 hour record-holder in addition to many Irish records. Mind strength, tenacity and a lot of dumb stupidity :) being my only really talents in life I have somehow found an outlet to channel this and succeed with what in other walks of life may seem so meaningless. Anyway thank you to all those countless people who have helped on this world run. I would like to single out Michael Gillan who was my brilliant crew man on the Australian mainland leg of the run from near Melbourne to Darwin, I think about 3,800km of patience and kindness by a true gentleman of the sport. Michael gave up 9 and a half weeks to help me. He has since told me of a very serious illness he had at the time but still dedicated himself to my Australian success. After helping me he crewed for two New Zealand ‘ raw vegan ‘ runners on their year long run around Oz as mentioned in my blog last May. Unfortunately Michaels health suffered at that time and he had to leave the run for medical attention. Just last week he sent me a congrats message and though battling his own personal battle and by no means out of the woods he was off to the Coburg 24 hour race to he’ll out, such is the measure of the man. The 1,000th marathon was reached in 962.8 road days on April 5th when fittingly I ran a marathon. I hear by dedicate my 1,000Marathon in under 1,000 road days to Michael Gillan.. Thank you Michael for your inspiration, encouragement and much needed patience through Australia, we had a blast! I will be forever grateful. Goof luck and a healthy recovery Michael By the way I tried to run the 1,000 Marathon on April 1st but ran out of time! Some fool! Okay here is the plan literally going forward! I am announcing for the very first time that I want to hit the 50,000 kilometre on the finish line of the Dublin marathon on October 27th with my very last step across the finish line :) Today April 11th 54km were run for s grand total of 42,464km. It is 2,450 to Istanbul about 3,100 across Europe to Calais and my recently revised UK route from Dover to Stranraer, Scotland dropped Wales from the run. However I am now hoping to include Wales, a special country for me as I ran many half marathons races there as a much younger runner. My UK route should be about 1,000km starting there about the beginning of September. From Stranraer I plan to take the ferry to Larne. N.Ireland perhaps first week in October. Estimated north/south Ireland route about 900 km, so it may be tight for the 50,000kilometers. Places definitely penciled in are Belfast, Galway, Kilkenny and Sally Gap. There are one or two places I may include. So all this means that on the penultimate road day I will finish on the marathon start line in Dublin’s Dawson St, I think it is.. Can’t remember for sure, have run a lot of marathons since I was last there! When I finish that day I will have to have my run total at 49,957.8km so as to finish the run with the dream 50,000 kilometers on the nose!

I am also thinking of making one final big push for Istanbul to arrive by end of May. This is about 50km per day for 50 days. This would leave me the must sought after 1,000km a month for five months which at that stage of the run will seem like an enjoyable canter, I hope.

Many thanks to Kevin Scanlon for helping me try to arrange the finish. Also thanks to my Irish running club MSB for agreeing to facilitate and help out. Also for Dublin marathon race director Jim Augney for agreeing to allow what I promise will be a spectacular finale to the run. Will keep this quiet for now but am sure it will leak out!

I stole this idea from Stephen Neuman, a friend of mine who walked around he world. Upon reading

the ending of his book titled World Walk I said..

” Wow! What A bloody brilliant idea!

Anyway, thanks for reading. Its nearly 2am.. Gotta sleep and run

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭runningcoach

As Tony ventures through turkey he has posted on his blog his revised plans on how he will run in Ireland with his new route now including a lap of Ireland.

If you wish to help him on route in Ireland in whatever Way ,running some miles with him , getting your club members out when he comes through your area or organizing accommodation please email Tony at theworldjog@gmail.com

Hope he gets the support he needs when he arrives home from his epic run.

• Registered Users Posts: 918 ✭✭✭Jakey Rolling

So Tony is arriving in London today. Well on schedule to reach Dublin in time for the marathon.

It's a shame that for all his extraordinary effort more has not been made of it in the Irish media. He mentions his publicity company in his latest post, hopefully they will pull their finger out and make something of his final lap around Ireland.

100412.2526@compuserve.com

• Registered Users Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

So Tony is arriving in London today. Well on schedule to reach Dublin in time for the marathon.

It's a shame that for all his extraordinary effort more has not been made of it in the Irish media. He mentions his publicity company in his latest post, hopefully they will pull their finger out and make something of his final lap around Ireland.

I heard he went on a rant about 2 yrs ago but quickly deleted the post from his blog thereafter........I'd love to have see what he said, anybody have a copy?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

tunguska wrote: »
    I heard he went on a rant about 2 yrs ago but quickly deleted the post from his blog thereafter........I'd love to have see what he said, anybody have a copy?

He basically said Irish people are begrudgers for not taking a keen interest in his exploits. He also was looking for lottery funding which is funny seen as most of our elite athletes are on nothing.

Anyway he seems to have copped on, and put the head down since then, so best of luck to him.

Mad impressive stuff. He's been running for over 1400 days at this stage.

Hopefully he writes a book about it.

His blog is a very inspiring read aside from the running aspect of it. The amount of really cool people he has met along the way, taking him in, sorting out logistics for him, inviting him to their own homes etc.

Even a quick read will give you an idea of how sound people are around the world. Nearly every photo on the blog has a pic of someone who is either helping him along the way or running along with him.

Worth grabbing a cup of tea and having a quick browse.

http://www.theworldjog.com/blog/

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

I know I saw it a few months back, but does anyone have a list of when/where Tony is running when he comes back to Ireland in mid Sept?

Cabaal wrote: »
    I know I saw it a few months back, but does anyone have a list of when/where Tony is running when he comes back to Ireland in mid Sept?

I have been involved in the drawing up of the route. It will most likely be available on the blog over the weekend. The one thing to note on this is that it will change day by day depending on Tony's ability rest etc. While he will endeavor to keep on schedule it will be Tony who has the final say on the route on any given day.

He would also hope that anyone along the route will come out and run or support him in whatever way they can.

Tony is due to land back on Home soil on Saturday morning in Dublin Port. Day 1 run is from Dublin port to the liberties where he will do a bit of a loop around there. On to Glasnevin and Finglas with some of the old Marathon route being taken in.. He will then leave Dublin for Ashbourne for his first overnight.
    The rest of the week is Ashbourne -> Dunleer via Drogheda , Dunleer -> CarrickDale, CarrickDale -> Banbridge, BanBridge -> Belfast.

For anyone who wants to run with him on any given day contact Siobhan Clifford on siobhan.theworldjog@gmail.com. She will be best placed to give details on his route and timing on any given day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Arivved back home,,,and now to run to ashbourne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Ed Mc

Did a few miles with Tony today and will try and do a few more tomorrow. He's in Donegal at the moment running from burt tomorrow towards Ballybofey. He really appreciates any company he can get to help the miles pass that bit quicker. Your reward will be some great stories to listen to. He's a lovely guy and you won't regret it. He's not moving fast so don't be intimidated, run walk or cycle he'd appreciate anyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

Is there a map of his route anywhere to be found? I'd love to do a few miles with him

• Registered Users Posts: 7,148 ✭✭✭plodder

W.B. Yeats wrote: »
    Is there a map of his route anywhere to be found? I'd love to do a few miles with him

The daily schedule is on the blog: http://www.theworldjog.com/blog/?p=7776

Map here