Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dongle and tablet

• 26-11-2013 1:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭

If you have a laptop with USB dongle internet and get a tablet how can you connect to the net. It is for someone else who has laptop with 02 dongle. i do not have a dongle and so do not know much about it.

I did see some tablets have micro USB though. At least one has a USB cable with a micro USB at one side and ordinary at the other. Would that work for dongle and do they come with all tablets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Most tablets need Wi-Fi, so you have to use one of those dongles that act as a router (Mi-Fi or similiar), and then connect to the network.

The 2 devices on the top will do the job:
    http://www.o2online.ie/o2/shop/broadband-and-internet-prepay/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭danjo-xx

wonski wrote: »
    Most tablets need Wi-Fi, so you have to use one of those dongles that act as a router (Mi-Fi or similiar), and then connect to the network.

The 2 devices on the top will do the job:
    http://www.o2online.ie/o2/shop/broadband-and-internet-prepay/

Hope its ok to bump this, but has things not changed now in that some devices can have both wifi and 3G.

I have a dongle for my pc which I now want to use it occasionaly for a phone or tablet (yet to be bought) Dont want a router yoke:D

danjo-xx wrote: »
    Hope its ok to bump this, but has things not changed now in that some devices can have both wifi and 3G.

I have a dongle for my pc which I now want to use it occasionaly for a phone or tablet (yet to be bought) Dont want a router yoke:D

All phones these days have 3g - 4g anyway so can't see a reason to connect it to another mobile internet dongle tbh.

The mobile router is very handy. Most (if not all) USB dongles won't work with tablets as they need usb drivers to be installed. You need to get one with 3g / 4g capabilities, or get the router as I previously adviced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭chrisire

You should be able to use your laptop as a hotspot and then connect phone/tablet to it

Thanks lads, I'm not well up on this end of things, basically what I want in the event of my pc giving up the ghost, I would have a backup internet connection, just to bank on line with a cheap smartphone, and banking app for android, till i got a new pc.

I'm guessing a router would do the job but any other options.

Thanks lads, I'm not well up on this end of things, basically what I want in the event of my pc giving up the ghost, I would have a backup internet connection, just to bank on line with a cheap smartphone, and banking app for android, till i got a new pc.

I'm guessing a router would do the job but any other options.

You could also use your cheap smartphone to create a hotspot. Most if not all Android phones have it built in.

These days your back-up connection is a mobile internet - no need to complicate things when you can use your smartphone;)

Router would be better suited for those who have no fixed broadband and want to connect their tv / game console etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Richmond Ultra

Cheap smartphone.many packages do 3gb for 10/20 quid.same price as dongles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Richmond Ultra

I have 20gb 2nd year now with 50% discount, €10.32 pm with Meteor.

My E180 dongle has full size sim card, so think I'll get that swopped over for micro sim to fit smartphone and get card adaptor to up size it for use in dongle.

Dont want or need 2 plans. :)

I have 20gb 2nd year now with 50% discount, €10.32 pm with Meteor.

My E180 dongle has full size sim card, so think I'll get that swopped over for micro sim to fit smartphone and get card adaptor to up size it for use in dongle.

Dont want or need 2 plans. :)

Not sure if they will let you swap this one for micro sim tbh.

Not all smartphones use micro sim btw.

wonski wrote: »
    Not sure if they will let you swap this one for micro sim tbh.

Not all smartphones use micro sim btw.

Meteor said no problem, will double check everything before doing anything.:)

I bought Alcatel Vodafone Smart 4 mini phone and unlocked it.

Put Meteor sim card (from Meteor dongle) into phone and set APN settings for meteor as follows:

Data
    1. Meteor APN - Data.mymeteor.ie
    2. No user name
    3. No password
    4. Leave all other settings as current defaults on handset

Phone said I must enter a user name, so entered Meteor.

Good 3g signal, and 'Meteor' shows on screen but with message under it, 'emergency calls' only.

That sounds like its detecting no credit in account, which would be right for the vodafone account.

Anything I can tweak to get it to see my Meteor account.

Finally got the smart phone to work with Meteor dongle sim card, flying along now:D

Using 3G not wifi.....

Does anyone know if the earlier dongle data sims were strictly data only as I think this is the problem or is there something on my account that needs to be turned on.

Hope ye all having a good one.

Sled-01-june.gif