Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is a luxury?

• 26-11-2013 12:16pm
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭

What do you consider a luxury when you are broke?

Someone I know had this up as a question on Facebook and the different answers were interesting to see what people consider being 'broke', like some had smart phones, whereas someone else had toilet roll (definite necessity IMO! :eek:)

If I was stretched to the max, I think any non-own brand items would be a luxury I could do without, as would biscuits, cakes, TV channels subscription, eating out, alcohol. In fact I have done without all of those things in the past except the TV channels :D

So what are your luxury -v- necessary items?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

My gold toilet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

These gentlemen should help you understand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

food

smokes,drink and Sky sports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 originalstatus

Hot water and a warm house is a luxury to me! Anything related to the car also, such as petrol.

In these days, an internet connection and a phone are necessary items, for job hunting. I can have cold baths, and put on a few jumpers, but I definitely need a phone, and an internet connection!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Cigarettes instead of rollies.
    52" inch HDTV instead of a 28" inch HDTV.
    Fancy beer or pints instead of cheap tesco vodka.
    Ben and Jerry's ice cream instead of any other ice cream.
    Scandinavian prostitutes instead of junkie prostitutes.
    Sirloin steak instead of round steak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

School shoes and coats for the kids in the September after a World Cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

That half hour in the morning when there is no one else up, cuppa in peace...bliss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

A brand new razor blade.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 755 ✭✭✭sea_monkey

Using a condom to fap. Feels so refined.

The only necessities a person needs are a warm bed, enough food to survive on, and tea. Everything else is a luxury.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Basic food, accommodation and heating, basic sanitary products and an internet connection. Anything else I could go a while without.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

A luxury... the take away pizza the husband and I had yesterday while snuggling up in front of the fire with our cats.

Olives are a luxury for me at the moment. Not the briny one in jars, the big, herby-garlicy yokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Captain Farrell

Tanqueray No. 10 instead of Gordon's gin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Ahhhhh its grand

Cigarettes and Alcohol....and lube!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Not having to think about money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

One of them hot chocolates Ryanair serve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Not having to think about money.

I think this is the definition of comfortable. I don't mean you go out and spend 100 k on cars etc. but when you can go food shopping or out for a few pints and not have to be constantly saying o I can only spend x amount of money. Some day.

caustic 1 wrote: »
    That half hour in the morning when there is no one else up, cuppa in peace...bliss.

I use to love that, however I now have an empty nest and the house is quite all the time, now I would love one or other of them to be here or my husband to be here and having a bit of craic with them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Hot water and a warm house is a luxury to me! Anything related to the car also, such as petrol.

In these days, an internet connection and a phone are necessary items, for job hunting. I can have cold baths, and put on a few jumpers, but I definitely need a phone, and an internet connection!
    Internet can be "on" a phone.
    Internet available for free in any number of places.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

kippy wrote: »
    Internet can be "on" a phone.
    Internet available for free in any number of places.

it's a pain in the tits to update a CV and apply for jobs on one though. Anyhow, the coffee you buy in one of'em places would be the luxury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭pedanticpat

A luxury is really anything above the basics. We all need to sleep, eat, drink fluids, breath and excrete. Add in shelter and safety.

I don't think it's a stretch to say, in Europe in 2013, that running, clean, hot water is not a luxury.

After that, the vast majority of things are. Television certainly is, as are the internet, smartphones, laptops etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

it's a pain in the tits to update a CV and apply for jobs on one though. Anyhow, the coffee you buy in one of'em places would be the luxury.

The whole point of a luxury is to make things less of a pain in the t1ts - no?
    You can update a CV on any laptop/pc/etc you don't necessarily need the internet to do that, just to send em an job search.

I suppose a luxury is something one doesn't depend on for everyday survival. We need more than just survival in order to enjoy life though.

I don't consider heating and good quality food to be a luxury, I do consider my cleaner and my car to be luxuries. Recreational reading material is essential to my wellbeing, but not survival, so probably a luxury.

Take out coffees, many toiletries and cosmetics, and the occasional fashion impulse buy are luxuries. I could survive without an internet connection, but it would make life so difficult that it's important for my wellbeing.

A good quality of life shouldn't be a luxury, but seems to be becoming more elusive for many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Hookers and coke are no longer a norm but a luxery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Anything outside of meat and heat.