Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car for under 5k

• 25-11-2013 2:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭

I'm looking for a car at the moment. So I need some suggestions. I have maximum 5k to spend but hoping to keep it at around 4k.
    I want something that's got plenty of power and handles well but is reliable. Trying to keep it to 2litre to keep the tax down. I know I'm asking a lot but a reasonable comfort level would be nice too. Anything considered, hot hatch, coupe or saloon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Check out the bangernomics thread, plenty of mishmashed examples there.

And the luxobarge thread, if you can stomach the tax!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

hunggar wrote: »
    I'm looking for a car at the moment. So I need some suggestions. I have maximum 5k to spend but hoping to keep it at around 4k.
    I want something that's got plenty of power and handles well but is reliable. Trying to keep it to 2litre to keep the tax down. I know I'm asking a lot but a reasonable comfort level would be nice too. Anything considered, hot hatch, coupe or saloon.

Could get a nice Saab 95 2.0 turbo for that. Could get a 06-07 one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭hunggar

Hoping for something a little bit more special than the bangernomics thread. And defo not forking out massive tax to the government! Was thinking of something along the lines of golf gti or Clio 182.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,726 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Hard to beat this!
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/nissan-200sx/5998380
    24768296.jpeg

Crappy pictures but they're great cars, and this one's bone standard which is seriously rare!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

You'd bring in a 06/07 Clio Renault Sport from the UK for that money.

They're savage value in fairness over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭farna_boy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

This imo

no-image-large.gif&width=400&height=300

or maybe a RX8

View2-22692732.jpeg

That RX8 looks a hell of a lot of car for the money.
    Really starting to get a hankering for one of them of late.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

CianRyan wrote: »
    Hard to beat this!
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/nissan-200sx/5998380
    24768296.jpeg

Crappy pictures but they're great cars, and this one's bone standard which is seriously rare!

Think I saw that the other day just at the Harolds cross bridge. There is hardly two very clean, original red ones around :)

That RX8 looks a hell of a lot of car for the money.
    Really starting to get a hankering for one of them of late.:confused:

You've been tainted, I like this.

To be fair, the rx8 is RWD and has similar power to the 535 (albeit delivered totally differently)

Gonna have a test in a lot of 3-5k high power cars after I sell the bmw. Although I will end up in an 850i or an XJR, no harm to test the waters of japscrap!

To be fair, the rx8 is RWD and has similar power to the 535 (albeit delivered totally differently)

Gonna have a test in a lot of 3-5k high power cars after I sell the bmw. Although I will end up in an 850i or an XJR, no harm to test the waters of japscrap!

Drive an RB before you go making decisions!

EDIT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭bop1977

Some good suggestions there. I always liked the rx8 but do they not give a lot of problems?!

Don't like that shape vrs, newer I'd take though. Had a diesel one got awhile. Was a decent till injectors went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,364 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I knew the first owner of that car! He let me have a spin too the day he got it!

hunggar wrote: »
    Some good suggestions there. I always liked the rx8 but do they not give a lot of problems?!

Not as many or as often as you'd think, do a search on here, there's been loads of threads.

That one in particular is not only beautiful but the engine's been done by Ireland's rotary guru.
    If you interested at all, I'd go for a look at that one.

Drive an RB before you go making decisions!

EDIT
    Jaysus I couldn't be driving 'round in one of them yokes :eek:

Yeah, you probably couldn't handle the power. ;)

Riiight, sure!
    On a serious note (and I pity those who actually do like those cars for this reason) driving around in a car like that is going to be a magnet for Gardai. I don't fancy being stopped left right and center for no reason.

Plus I don't like the car anyway as they are too flashy. Gimme a yanktank or a bmw anyday!

Riiight, sure!
    On a serious note (and I pity those who actually do like those cars for this reason) driving around in a car like that is going to be a magnet for Gardai. I don't fancy being stopped left right and center for no reason.

Plus I don't like the car anyway as they are too flashy. Gimme a yanktank or a bmw anyday!

I don't think anything could draw more attention than your Carina to be fair. :p

Anyway, way off topic.