Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will my car pass the nct?

• 25-11-2013 11:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭

i have my nct test next week and i have a little chip on my windscreen will the feckers fail me on that do you know!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Technoprisoner

fartman wrote: »
    i have my nct test next week and i have a little chip on my windscreen will the feckers fail me on that do you know!!!

as long as it doesnt obstruct your view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If it's in your view then probably, otherwise maybe not.
    Just put it through anyway*.

*it will probably fail on something else too :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Have a look at the NCT handbook online; it has a fairly detailed description of what kind of a chip will fail.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Crystal ball forum thata way >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭fartman

The chip is in the middle of the screen do ye think it will pass with it there lads ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Technoprisoner

how big is the chip?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

fartman wrote: »
    The chip is in the middle of the screen do ye think it will pass with it there lads ...

Google is your friend.

http://www.ncts.ie/NCT%20Manual%20Revise%20May%202012.pdf

Page 26.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

5555090061_53e98234a7_z.jpg

If it's like this it'll fail

OSI wrote: »
    If it's in the middle of the screen then no, it won't.
    yipeee cheers mate i was bricking it there.. i don`t have the money to buy a new one :confused:

djimi wrote: »
    Thats a handy site to know ..thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

5555090061_53e98234a7_z.jpg

If it's like this it'll fail

I fail to see any issues, the wipers look in great condition.

No windscreen cover on your insurance?
    No windscreen cover i know silly me:o

Give Autoglass a ring for a repair quote, they can usually repair chips, especially if it's in the middle of the screen. How big is it? Would a €2 coin cover it?
    i say just about €1 coin would cover it is that ok ...going to sell the car after xmas so don`t really want to spend money on it ..tight arss lol

I'd say stick it through the NCT as is, might fit the dimensions to pass and if not it's a visual fail so free retest.
    Thank you very much... i will report back :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Sure just sellotape a €1 coin either side of the glass so that the tester can't see the crack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Padkir

Sorry to hijack but does anyone know if a damaged splash-guard under the car will cause any problems with the NCT. It's pretty bad; mainly being held on by cable ties at this stage and there might even be a bit if twine in one spot! :o Not dangerous or hanging down or anything; just wondering if anyone knows if it might cause a problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Padkir wrote: »
    Sorry to hijack but does anyone know if a damaged splash-guard under the car will cause any problems with the NCT. It's pretty bad; mainly being held on by cable ties at this stage and there might even be a bit if twine in one spot! :o Not dangerous or hanging down or anything; just wondering if anyone knows if it might cause a problem?

I would take it off.
    My golf passed with it removed totally. I think anything "hanging down" would be a fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭SIX PACK

Well did you motor pass NCT after ?