Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this rude???

• 22-11-2013 8:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭

Just wanted to pick your brains.

Do you think it is rude for people to knock twice on your front door as they walk straight into your home??? I think it's bloody out of order, I don't care if it's a family member. Unless I shout 'let yourself in' then you should knock and WAIT for me to answer it. Yes I should lock the front door but sometimes we come in and forget for a little while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,823 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Lock door. Problem = solved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Burglars don't knock ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Would you prefer if someone came in your back passage, door?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Lock door. Problem = solved

As I said I normally do and will definitely do it all the time now. Cannot understand how people could think this is appropriate though just letting yourself in.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

Get a yale lock, then you just have to close the door behind you.

CJC999 wrote: »
    Would you prefer if someone came in your back passage, door?

Not even funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

I vehemently dislike people who knock as they open and walk through the door... Grand parents are lethal for it. I know theyre from a different time before the huge risks where it was simply to let someone know you were in their house- not waiting to enter and gave up long ago trying to tell them but in general I think its just plain ignorance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

Never walk into someone's home unless you're invited (or it's a life or death situation).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭simonsays1

Yes, personally I'd have issues with that.

Though, it happens occasionally at my parents house which is in the country and they don't take any notice of it.

Anything between neighbours, cattle dealers, relations -the works,

Headwreck

Well the usual culprit did it again last night and I said 'why didn't u knock' and he said 'I did' . Yeah as he was walking in the door he knocked and frightened the sh!te out of the kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Hownowcow wrote: »
    Never walk into someone's home unless you're invited (or it's a life or death situation).

That's how i keep vampires out of my house i never invite them in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

It's rude and totally out of order. It's your house. Family is different, just about.....

I guard my house and my privacy very carefully. It's my space and nobody even family have the right to transcend that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

lukesmom wrote: »
    Well the usual culprit did it again last night and I said 'why didn't u knock' and he said 'I did' . Yeah as he was walking in the door he knocked and frightened the sh!te out of the kids.

Yup. A hot circle of hell is reserved for them fellas!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

would you like to borrow my dog?
    he'd put a stop to that carry on quick smart

My family don't do it, why is that?? Oh I know because they have MANNERS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Kilgore__Trout

Buy a shotgun and start acting twitchy. Or just don't worry about it.

Have a shot gun here dont tempt me :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Funny, it happens all the time down the country. I only ever do it if I'm expected over and no-one bats an eyelid. Sure everyone pretty much just walks around to the back of everyone's houses to let themselves in for a cuppa and a chat. It's why I could never live there. Drives me mental.

I am the occasional culprit though :o But as I said, only if I'm expected over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Fat Nav

I prefer people just letting themselves in as I hate getting up off the couch cos im a lazy so n so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Raffeal

I wouldn't see it as being rude and it depends on the occasion, i.e. if you know they're coming or if you're having a party and the doors open so people can just walk in.

In your case it sounds like they're being over familiar, they probably think they're saving you getting up to go open the door. Just say it to them, i.e. I know we leave the door open sometimes but we don't like people just walking in can you knock a make sure we know you're there before walking in.

Times have certainly changed, one of my mates thinks it rude if people call over before calling before hand, he then wants a time and if you're early or late he thinks that's rude too, now he gives out no one calls over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

I bet the OP was caught fapping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

I'm not from the country and our family do it all the time, no bother. :)

I was even told to stop knocking at the door by my bf's mother before and just let myself in. :P

Different strokes for different folks.

I wouldn't think your OH's family are rude, it's just how they do it at their family, so it'll probably take some drilling in to get them to knock at your house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

Fat Nav wrote: »
    I prefer people just letting themselves in as I hate getting up off the couch cos im a lazy so n so

My friend used to kill me for knocking and waiting for her to answer if the door was open, I still feel weird just walking in though and don't do it anywhere else.

It drives me cracked that knocking as you walk in thing, what's the point in fecking knocking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

KoolKid wrote: »
    Get a yale lock, then you just have to close the door behind you.

Just remember that also makes it much easier to lock yourself out of the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,020 ✭✭✭gifted

That should teach you not to walk around so scantily clad...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

You should try to time it sometime so that lukesdad has you bent over the kitchen counter. (probably best if you get luke to leave for this bit). Sounds like your oh's family need some reminding as to why knocking, and then waiting is a good idea

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 107 ✭✭Dancing With Myself

Were you having a moment!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Family and close friends only. I don't have a problem with it. Then again i always have the door locked so it doesn't happen often. I would be angry if a neighbour i didn't know that well did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭lucky333

Lock the door and keep it locked.. Or get a big dog and put him in the hall :)

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

Gandhi wrote: »
    Just remember that also makes it much easier to lock yourself out of the house.

But the spare key is under rock......
    Oops hope the brother isn't on Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

All our neighbours do it give a knock and walk in I don't have any problem with it. What's the big deal about it if they knock and wait you are going to leave them in anyway. If it were someone you didn't know that would be a different story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

KoolKid wrote: »
    But the spare key is under rock......

No it's not. It's still in the pocket of my other jeans from when I locked myself out yesterday...

Oh well rant over, feel free to carry on as you wish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

I have no problem with it, friends and family are always welcome and they know it so they just come in. I see no point in expecting them to wait to be granted permission to enter like some stranger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

Oh well rant over, feel free to carry on as you wish

To R&R!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

I do it all the time, where do you live OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I actually do let myself into my parents' house whenever I call around as I have a key. I know I shouldn't.

I should make myself think of catching them at it in gimp masks to disabuse me of the habit, to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

wexie wrote: »
    would you like to borrow my dog?
    he'd put a stop to that carry on quick smart
    Pretty much our story to. No-one even gets out of their car anymore - they just sit and beep a bit till someone comes out, then speak out the car window... Bull terrier with a fondness for human ankles tends to soften their knock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I wouldn't dream of walking into someone's house even if the door was wide open. There's only one person I know who ever did this at home when I was growing up and it was just another reason why everyone couldn't stand her. You'd be there picking your nose in peace watching the Den and she'd materialise beside you like a banshee. I really find it very ignorant (not the nose picking, that's fine in private, the letting yourself into someone else's house part).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Do people not lock their doors?

anncoates wrote: »
    Do people not lock their doors?

I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

I walk into my Mam's gaff and my brother's gaff without knocking. If my brother's wife had a problem with it I'd much prefer her to say it to me rather than it annoying her until she snaps!

I have a yale door and live in the most freezingest house so family rarely drop by :P

How does your husband feel about it? Does he know it bothers you?

mud wrote: »
    I walk into my Mam's gaff and my brother's gaff without knocking. If my brother's wife had a problem with it I'd much prefer her to say it to me rather than it annoying her until she snaps!

I have a yale door and live in the most freezingest house so family rarely drop by :P

How does your husband feel about it? Does he know it bothers you?

Yeah he knows it really bothers me but it's what they are used to doing. I was brought up to knock on people's doors and wait for somebody to answer. I let myself into my parents house but they see that differently because I lived there for nearly 30 years and they told me to let myself in with my key I've had forever.

Totally different when someone walks into your house without letting you know they're coming and frightens the ****e out of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

biko wrote: »
    I do it all the time, where do you live OP?

I'd be the same when calling to most friends and family and they'd be the same calling to mine. I've no problem with it at all. If it was someone I didn't know very well, that'd be a different story