Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MF 35 and trailer?

• 21-11-2013 10:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭

With all the talk of jeeps, vans and trailers etc.

What would a 35 legally be allowed to tow? Was just browsing DD there earlier on and seen tractor orientated livestock trailers.

The ould fella has one and doesn't make as much use out of it as it should get, IMO.

We do a fair bit of trucking around of sheep but no long runs beside the mart really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

You will have no trailer brakes anyway for a start on the tractor.

And what about those drum brakes!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

nashmach wrote: »
    You will have no trailer brakes anyway for a start on the tractor.

And what about those drum brakes!!!!

There's brakes on the 8x5 trailer he has at the moment. If all came to all could sell the 8x5 and buy a larger trailer with brakes, if the tractor could tow that legally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

There's brakes on the 8x5 trailer he has at the moment. If all came to all could sell the 8x5 and buy a larger trailer with brakes, if the tractor could tow that legally.

Used to pull a 14ft by 8ft cattle trailer with a 135, carry about 4 ton cattle,or 2 ton sheep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

At the moment, there is nothing to stop you from towing 20t with the 35 at present. :D If you were mad enough!

Does the 35 have a roll bar?

nashmach wrote: »
    At the moment, there is nothing to stop you from towing 20t with the 35 at present. :D If you were mad enough!

Does the 35 have a roll bar?

It has a cab.

I'm looking at the resources on the farm at present and trying to think how best to use them.

I can't see the value in either attempting to get the ould fella to fund or co fund a jeep or van, which would then be an every day vehicle for one of us if the tractor would do the job I want - haul a trailer legal and proper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

It has a cab.

I'm looking at the resources on the farm at present and trying to think how best to use them.

I can't see the value in either attempting to get the ould fella to fund or co fund a jeep or van, which would then be an every day vehicle for one of us if the tractor would do the job I want - haul a trailer legal and proper.

Our 35 will haul as much as the jeep will in a Nugent 12x6 trailer with brakes - probably even more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭monseiur

If the tractor is road legal - brakes, lights, tax, tyres, insurance etc. get yourself a good 8x6 or 10x6 twin or tri axle trailer that's road legal and you're in business. People seem to be too pre occupied with all this licence crack...it's just a phase... it will blow over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

monseiur wrote: »
    this licence crack...it's just a phase... it will blow over.
    Class... we'll all wait it out so :D
    monseiur wrote: »
    If the tractor is road legal - brakes, lights, tax, tyres, insurance etc. get yourself a good 8x6 or 10x6 twin or tri axle trailer that's road legal and you're in business.

If the 35 is all good to go and brakes good I couldnt see a problem. As the lads have said, sort out a decent trailer with lights and breaks and you're going to get along just fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Does the 35 have ground drive pto ? If it does and I was you it would be a ground drive trailer I would have in mind , it would bring yourself and tools all over the mountain . They are a mighty machine when set up like that for fencing and bringing fert to places you wouldn't feel like carrying the bags to .
    We used to bring cattle to Athenry mart in a 434 on a 10 x 6 when I was a young lad . It would be similar to a 35

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

I think the problem is, young fellows are used to driving a tractor like you would drive a jeep or car, now-a-days. Full tilt up to a junction, down a few gears, and step on the brakes at the last moment. Down a steep hill? no problem. 4 wheel hydraulic multi disk brakes will haul you up short. The 35 will do the job fine. Have the brakes set up right, and use a bit of common sense, and a bit of forward planning when driving.

Bugger, I must be getting old :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

The 8x5 jim Murphy and 35 will be a perfect match. No worries on the braking front.

Re lights. .. the 35 wouldn't have came with indicators or brake lights as standard, but would a lad still be expected to have them? I'd say so, but something to look into. ...

Muckit wrote: »
    The 8x5 jim Murphy and 35 will be a perfect match. No worries on the braking front.

Re lights. .. the 35 wouldn't have came with indicators or brake lights as standard, but would a lad still be expected to have them? I'd say so, but something to look into. ...

For the sake of a bit of wiring I'd be having them on there...
    Best be doing the job properly...
    Legal and proper are often two very different things..

Vintage tax & Insurance would be a risk too... I don't think it covers commercial operations like drawing cattle to the mart...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

got my trailer serviced recently and the guy doing it (ifor williams dealer ) said a modern trailer should never be pulled by a tractor, too much power, they will burst the damper after a bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

bbam wrote: »
    Vintage tax & Insurance would be a risk too... I don't think it covers commercial operations like drawing cattle to the mart...

Vintage tax is fine, there's (3rd party) insurance rates for doing agri work too...
    http://irishvintage.net/rates

It's got lights, indicators, a socket for trailer lights which works, it's even got a window wiper :D

As for the PTO, I'm not mechanically minded, all I can say is that it has one.

Ground drive trailer would be fierce handy alright.

As for driving it, I don't at the moment, but I wouldn't be in a rush anyway, getting sense like you Iver. No point in making a gap in someones car with it.

Don't know about the tractor / damper combo, I could ring Murphys and see what they say.

got my trailer serviced recently and the guy doing it (ifor williams dealer ) said a modern trailer should never be pulled by a tractor, too much power, they will burst the damper after a bit

How will a 39 HP tractor, weighting about a tonne, braking from 18 MPH, burst a trailer damper, when your average jeep, say a Trooper or a D-Max, weighting over a tonne and with 130 HP while braking from 50 MPH will not?

Is he also selling jeeps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

How will a 39 HP tractor, weighting about a tonne, braking from 18 MPH, burst a trailer damper, when your average jeep, say a Trooper or a D-Max, weighting over a tonne and with 130 HP while braking from 50 MPH will not?

No he just sells trailers,my own damper was burst at the time after a neighbour borrowed it... And towed it behind tractor. Not a 35 in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Biggest problem with the 35 is it will freeze the ba*** off ya ,no heater

I'd say its to do with the rigidity of the towing vehicle... There is probably an expectation of a certain amount of give in the towing vehicle though its suspension that won't be there through a tractor...

Similarly caravan manufacturers won't honor damage to caravan chassis caused by towing with very rigid vehicles, vans and some more commercial type 4x4's.

dharn wrote: »
    Biggest problem with the 35 is it will freeze the ba*** off ya ,no heater

Man up :D:D
    There was a hell of a lot of farming done with tractors with no heater or even cab... Lads are getting awful soft !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

Unless you're just going a few miles along a level road, you need to be very careful pulling a heavy trailer with anything that doesn't have a synchromesh gearbox. All you have to do is miss a gear going up or down a hill and you are then depending on those dodgy drum brakes. The trailer brakes aren't great when you're heading down the hill backwards.

Farmer wrote: »
    Unless you're just going a few miles along a level road, you need to be very careful pulling a heavy trailer with anything that doesn't have a synchromesh gearbox. All you have to do is miss a gear going up or down a hill and you are then depending on those dodgy drum brakes. The trailer brakes aren't great when you're heading down the hill backwards.

Good point, I've seen her do that when the ould fella is driving. Something to watch out for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Unless you're just going a few miles along a level road, you need to be very careful pulling a heavy trailer with anything that doesn't have a synchromesh gearbox. quote]

Lads ye need to live a little and learn how to use a crash box.
    The next thing Bord Bia will want for QA is synchro or powershift gearboxes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

bbam wrote: »
    Man up :D:D
    There was a hell of a lot of farming done with tractors with no heater or even cab... Lads are getting awful soft !!

There was some serious amount of turf drew from the bogs around me over the years with the 35. Some of the lads that done it for hire had proper air seats installed.............Pure luxury;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

Ya, but a 35 is about 30hp,,, not the 150 in a jeep or a big tractor. I can't see a problem pulling a trailer after a 35..

I remember spend a few weeks in Connemara learning Irish.. Friday night in Rosaveel the tractors came into town with cattle trailers..open the back door and there were all the lads drink cans of beer..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

Unless you're just going a few miles along a level road, you need to be very careful pulling a heavy trailer with anything that doesn't have a synchromesh gearbox. quote]

Lads ye need to live a little and learn how to use a crash box.
    The next thing Bord Bia will want for QA is synchro or powershift gearboxes

I know a priest that towed a small Yacht about 40 miles on a trailer with a 35 to Killaloe. He had no brakes at all.... met the Guards and they didn't have the guts to stop him.. the power of the collar..

What happens when you dtop the two left side wheels off the tarmac at 50 miles an hour, into potholes etc, when meeting something else? Dont tell me that the modern heavy duty cast affairs now standard on trailets cannot withstand this treatnent, when the little 40cwt Bradley hitch on old trailers put up with years of abuse.

World's gone soft Ivor...
    They're talking about air seats and cab heaters... :eek:

Should I ask what a crash box is?

A ''crash box'' is slang term for a non synchromesh gearbox.
    There must be lots of cheap 12ft by 6 ft trailers out there that are no longer fit for jeeps but would work fine behind a tractor....and keep your good trailer. you say you're just going to use it around home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

A crash gearbox is the non syncromesh type found in older tractors , if the revs on the engine are right you don't need to use the clutch to change gears , takes a bit to get the hang of it but its an art form worth mastering ,:D

Longest haul I can see would be to the mart which is 23 miles away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

rancher wrote: »
    A ''crash box'' is slang term for a non synchromesh gearbox.
    There must be lots of cheap 12ft by 6 ft trailers out there that are no longer fit for jeeps but would work fine behind a tractor....and keep your good trailer. you say you're just going to use it around home

Would the brakes have to be in good working order, if now going to be pulled with a tractor rather than a jeep?

Farrell wrote: »
    Would the brakes have to be in good working order, if now going to be pulled with a tractor rather than a jeep?
    To be right it would, but you wouldn't be driving that fast and as was said here there's 35s pulling heavier loads without brakes,
    I'd guess there's a lot of trailers on jeeps out there still with no brakes on them as they haven't been pulling for it yet and they're doing 69 - 80 km/hr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Talking about brakes on a tractor. Years ago we were drawing gravel with an old International, maybe a 374 or 444, coming up to a Canal bridge met the guards who wanted to check the brakes above all things. So off he trots around behind the trailer (with a load on it) and tries to push us up the bridge. They're grand he says when he couldn't budge us!