Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Gas Bolier

• 20-11-2013 11:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭

Guys

can anyone recommend the best options for a new Gas boiler? I am hesitant to just get the one the gas man recommends, i want to do a bit of homework first and know if he is selling me a lemon or not so figured i'd turn to trusty boards for some advice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭shane0007

Hi Steve,
    You won't go wrong with an Ariston or a Viessmann but the Viessmann is about €400 dearer than the Ariston. I personally prefer the Ariston due to their adaptability to problem systems. A proper mechanical & chemical powerflush is a must, which is akin to changing the engine of your car but re-using the old oil!

Most boilers are volt free so a timeclock upgrade is usually required also along with the room thermostat, due to either lack of a neutral or if going volt free, it must have a battery to power it's pcb.

Overall, just make sure you feel confident in their thoroughness & professionalism when reviewing your system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Thanks Shane

I forgot you were into all this kind of stuff :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

At this stage it I haven't fitted anything but Worcester bosch in months

corkgsxr wrote: »

Any particular reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

What do you do about the flues on the them corkgsxr?

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    What do you do about the flues on the them corkgsxr?

My understanding and checked with rgi.ie is a cavity wall isnt a void as there's airflow through a cavity. But I just screw on the inner flue cover on (white plastic yoke) and leave a big a hole as possible in the inner leaf so you can see or stick a co2 probe in. They seem happy with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭roy rodgers

have to agree, the worcester bosch boilers are the best boilers out there.
    I have been fitting them for the last 4 years and still havent had one problem with one.
    I have fitted a few aristons and not a bad little boiler either but if I was putting one in my house I'd putting the worcester in.

My understanding and checked with rgi.ie is a cavity wall isnt a void as there's airflow through a cavity. But I just screw on the inner flue cover on (white plastic yoke) and leave a big a hole as possible in the inner leaf so you can see or stick a co2 probe in. They seem happy with that

Are both sides of the wall not meant to be sealed? And what airflow is there in a cavity?

did we not have this conversation before some where???
    dont want to get off the point of the originally post.

sorry op what boiler do you have at the moment???

I'm pretty sure we never had this conversation Roy. But I do remember the whole flue joint in a wall thing being discussed I think

there is endless pages about it somewhere. did ya ever notice its the more expensive boilers that have the telescopic flues..
    follow the manufactures instruction and you cant go wrong.

there is endless pages about it somewhere. did ya ever notice its the more expensive boilers that have the telescopic flues..
    follow the manufactures instruction and you cant go wrong.

Never read something in isolation ;)

i have no idea what its called

it had a repair job about a year ago and now it is leaking. i seem to recall something to do with a condenser unit being mentioned, don't know if that is what got fixed or is what is required.

i got a service done on it a few months ago and the leak stopped, but probably because we weren't using it so much, but now the cold weather has kicked in, we have it on all the time!

the guy told me at the time of the service that id be wasting my time getting it fixed and to get a new boiler all together. he left me to think about it, but i never did…. till now!

it all depends on what part is making it leak..

it could be a small part like a safety valve which would cost about 30 euro for the part or a heat exchanger (which depends on the boiler) could cost any where from 250 to 450 euro.
    if you can get the name or a picture of the boiler we would have a better idea of the problem.
    A new boiler will cost some where in the region of 2-2500 grand

it all depends on what part is making it leak..

it could be a small part like a safety valve which would cost about 30 euro for the part or a heat exchanger (which depends on the boiler) could cost any where from 250 to 450 euro.
    if you can get the name or a picture of the boiler we would have a better idea of the problem.
    A new boiler will cost some where in the region of 2-2500 grand

Theres one of the baxi's its 800 euro for a heat exchanger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭Egass13

Theres one of the baxi's its 800 euro for a heat exchanger

Why bother even selling them for that type of money? Add labour and you may aswell but a boiler ! What model is that?

Egass13 wrote: »
    Why bother even selling them for that type of money? Add labour and you may aswell but a boiler ! What model is that?

Think its the solo 3. Cast iron one. You cant get them. No demand for some reason

ok, so i took the eye off the ball here lads and now my misses is barking in the ear as the leaking is getting worse (though curious today is not so bad) but could be leaking well over a litre of water a day

this is my boiler
    the nozzle on the left is leaking the one leaking
    as i mentioned, i was told the it needs either a new condenser or heat exchanger, i can't remember which, but whichever it was, the other was done last year sometime, which is why i was recommended actually just getting a new boiler. obviously the efficiency of a new boiler over what i have comes into play as part of the consideration

11192711395_8fe5cb1cfb.jpg

11192704055_e06081bf1d.jpg

Shane0007, you are a Gent. What you did was bang out of order and totally uncalled for, but very very very much appreciated.

I will get you back :)

Glad I could help. It's always nice to have the opportunity to return a favour.

C'mon folks fill us in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭jimf

sounds like a buddy helped a buddy the way it should be

C'mon folks fill us in!

Sorry, it was no biggie. He was advised to replace the boiler. I asked him to do a simple test & all was wrong was the expansion vessel was split. I had the same boiler sitting in my garage with a perfect vessel, which I put in for him. Stevie treated me & a few others to a game of golf earlier year, so I fortunate enough to have a chance of returning the favour.

So no new boiler required.

shane0007 wrote: »
    Sorry, it was no biggie. He was advised to replace the boiler. I asked him to do a simple test & all was wrong was the expansion vessel was split. I had the same boiler sitting in my garage with a perfect vessel, which I put in for him. Stevie treated me & a few others to a game of golf earlier year, so I fortunate enough to have a chance of returning the favour.

well done good pr there 0007:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭agusta

Well done,not everyone returns the favour,i bet u won the golf that day!

agusta wrote: »
    Well done,not everyone returns the favour,i bet u won the golf that day!

I can't remember who won…….... wasn't me anyway :)

In fairness to Shane, I think the favour he did for me was way over and above the game of golf. I was by no means expecting a favour in return from Shane and if I had of even had an idea that was coming, I might not have asked him at all!

I believe Shane has one up on me now and I owe him another game of golf and a beer afterward to make us quits.

He struck this one pretty good it has to be said
    9664714587_061d2e5f7f.jpg
    IMAG0292 by stevieob, on Flickr

But he went fishing here :(
    9664702327_0d7b26c710.jpg
    IMAG0298 by stevieob, on Flickr

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭DGOBS

A good walk spoiled…..

well done Shane

Word on the street is he hit his balls in the water(on purpose:eek:)so he has a excuse to strip off and prance around in this seasons speedos, just what I heard.

And well done Shane I hope the golfing gods are shining on you next time you whacking your balls.

gary71 wrote: »
    Word on the street is he hit his balls in the water(on purpose:eek:)so he has a excuse to strip off and prance around in this seasons speedos, just what I heard.

Wasn't that your's & Billy's moment together?

The evidence is forever impregnated on the internet's matrix....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Sq_-JV4OZ8

Wasn't that your's & Billy's moment together?

The evidence is forever impregnated on the internet's matrix....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Sq_-JV4OZ8

are mods allowed behave like this

jimf wrote: »
    are mods allowed behave like this

Er.... Yea

Now back to Shane and his inability to keep his balls out of water:eek: