Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First deer season of to a start with first deer.

• 18-11-2013 11:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭

Hooked up with Mauser 308 this afternoon for a stalk. We weren't of 15 mins and I had my first shot off. Low and be hold I missed For reason we kinda guess when we were finished giving out.

Another 15mins in I landed on my hole and hopped the rifle off the ground. After a bit of serious language an serious slagging we were on our way again. Anther shot presented itself shortly after and it was about 40-50 yards.

Good position and bang off the hind went not a bother on her I missed again. After a little chat we came to the conclusion the scope was now off. I was full sure I was bang on target and the shot felt great.

On our way around the hill a stag popped up about 50-60 yards away and Mauser gave me his rifle as mine was US at this stage. So up sighted him sight picture the stag looked at me then bang straight in the neck and straight down he went. Lovely rifle. So the shot was standing unsupported great first shot. But not by any means intentional just the way it happened.

I done the grollock under good supervision and guidance with a bit of help to be far. I still have plenty to learn there is still plenty of season left.
    Chuffed all the same and sure the miss's can't slag me anymore for coming home empty handed.

Cheers Mauser great acternoon and your a pure gent. Thanks.

364CBB45-A7DE-4C75-9842-FDC74E4D3E62-85407-00000F428846E523_zpsfd5d9c24.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

Well done, the knowledge that you got it yourself is one ingredient that makes the meat taste that much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Always a pain in the arse when your out and have something in sight only to discover that the rifle is off.
    Well done mate. Plenty more to come for you in future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

I said the same to Mauser earlier on. It makes a big difference. I've had venison before and it was lovely. So hopefully it stays lovely when I've a freezer full.
    Burgers sausages roasts. Steak. Oh can't wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 woodcock89

Well done. The first is always the hardest.

I said the same to Mauser earlier on. It makes a big difference. I've had venison before and it was lovely. So hopefully it stays lovely when I've a freezer full.
    Burgers sausages roasts. Steak. Oh can't wait.

Hold onto a bit for Xmas day aswell just in case you don't et another before it. Be something different on Xmas day with your turkey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

Hold onto a bit for Xmas day aswell just in case you don't et another before it. Be something different on Xmas day with your turkey.

Dump the American sh1te and go with the traditional Christmas fare of venison, boar and goose. Hmmmmmm saturated fats :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 WATERFOWLER

Well done lads always nice to see your first one hitting the deck.P.S you should always fire 1 r 2 rounds at target before u go stalking.

Dump the American sh1te and go with the traditional Christmas fare of venison, boar and goose. Hmmmmmm saturated fats :D.

Deep fry the lot
    Starving now after looking at that.
    What about a snipe stuffed into woodcock stuffed into pheasant stuffed into goose stuffed into wild boar and stuffed into a roast venison served with pint of cider or beer of your choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Well done I did say it would not be long before you got one, so I am delighted for you, bring the Rifle down Sunday and we will reset the scope.;)

you should have checked the rifle esp after a fall, could have been off just enough to wound the deer

T be air that's why we just used the other rifle in the end. But its hard to check zero in the middle of a stalk with out frighting the bollox out of the hole place.

Who genuinely checks zero before before each and every stalk.
    Unless it got a bang like.

well id rather check it myself, definitely after a bang, if the deer cleared off with a hole in him somewhere youd be fairly sick, and so would it. just my taught on the matter

Ah no your dead right. I will be checking before the next outing alright.

It will be better for yourself and the deer, congrats on the kill fine animal

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 45 onemoredead

WELL DONE, THERE SIR!!

hope "there's "many more to fallow,

enjoy !! :):)

WELL DONE, THERE SIR!!

hope "there's "many more to FALLOW,

enjoy !! :):)

AHHAAA

Tawny Owl wrote: »
    Well done I did say it would not be long before you got one, so I am delighted for you, bring the Rifle down Sunday and we will reset the scope.;)

Ye I think its on the cards alright. Ill touch bass with you later in the week
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

Hooked up with Mauser 308 this afternoon for a stalk. We weren't of 15 mins and I had my first shot off. Low and be hold I missed For reason we kinda guess when we were finished giving out.

Another 15mins in I landed on my hole and hopped the rifle off the ground. After a bit of serious language an serious slagging we were on our way again. Anther shot presented itself shortly after and it was about 40-50 yards.

Good position and bang off the hind went not a bother on her I missed again. After a little chat we came to the conclusion the scope was now off. I was full sure I was bang on target and the shot felt great.

On our way around the hill a stag popped up about 50-60 yards away and Mauser gave me his rifle as mine was US at this stage. So up sighted him sight picture the stag looked at me then bang straight in the neck and straight down he went. Lovely rifle. So the shot was standing unsupported great first shot. But not by any means intentional just the way it happened.

I done the grollock under good supervision and guidance with a bit of help to be far. I still have plenty to learn there is still plenty of season left.
    Chuffed all the same and sure the miss's can't slag me anymore for coming home empty handed.

Cheers Mauser great acternoon and your a pure gent. Thanks.

364CBB45-A7DE-4C75-9842-FDC74E4D3E62-85407-00000F428846E523_zpsfd5d9c24.jpg
    No problem at all. We will do it again in the near future.

It was a very enjoyable afternoon. Its great to meet up with genuine, decent, like minded lads.The only thing that could have made it more enjoyable (for me) is if I refused to give you the rifle and shot the deer myself:pac::pac:. Imagine the slagging then....:p

Guys to be fair to OSOk, once he had a doubt about his rifle he decided he was not going to use it anymore, and correctly so. The two missed were clean misses thankfully. Otherwise we would have followed up with dogs. The stag he took was a fine shot. And a great first animal to get.

Well done on the first, and I have no doubt that many more will follow.

Infairness to you you were doing every thing to get me the first one fair play.

I learned a lot and you have some eye for spotting them

I'll look forward to another stalk.

Bit of bromance going on here lads???

Are you jealous.

No to be fair I've spent 3 years trying to get into stalking. 2 genuine guys from here helped me
    Daithi55 And Mauser 308. A lot of guys gave great advice and info. But these two boys went out if there way and done something to help because they wanted to. Fair play to them and there should be more lads like them.

Its a simple case of credit given were credit due.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭xchrisshana

Brilliant well done :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Larry60

Well done on your kill.
    Regarding protecting your zero.. I expect to kill deer up to and I say UP TO.. 400yds and as such am a total nerd about anybody touching my rifle, putting anything on top of it in the jeep ect. If I fall I make sure I fall under it...
    Also, keeping a laser bore sighter with you in your ammo pouch is helpfull and takes up little or no space at all, so you can check your zero in the field without firing.

Good idea there Larry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭deano2882

got my first deer of my first season this morning took a shot just behind front shoulder at about 120 yards dropped on the spot..used sako 90grain soft point in .243 cal..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭valerossi

Nice shooting lads first ones are the best.

We'll done deano how did you get on with the grollock.