Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

99 Honda Integra Stolen Drumcondra last night/this morning

• 18-11-2013 2:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭

Howya lads,

The brothers Integra was stolen last night this morning off fitzroy road drumcondra last night or this morning. Pretty recognizable motor if ye could keep an eye out.

( dont own the photo only one he has)

1456057_10153541719715002_1212268877_n.jpg

cant post the photo in the thread for some reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

Got a phone call, Gardai now have the car along with two young fellas.
    I hope they are old enough for prosecution!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

That was quick... hope car not too badly damaged.

off to the mechanics after work, im not sure what happens now, collects it from gaurds allotment or what... to be fair its not worth a huge amount of money but he loves the car, the insurance company sent him a loan of a car so he was alright. Its happened so often though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,483 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Little scrotes, I hope they didn't wreck the car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Garda might have it at police station best give them a call to find out where car is

Im only guessing but its likely the drivers door lock is damaged stearing lock broken and ignition damaged. Car may not be legal to drive if lights and indicators aren't working.
    Sometimes when idiots break steering lock they bend steering colum and or steering wheel.

Its very easy for repairs to exceed the value of car when new parts are fitted. But its often much cheaper to use second hand parts.

Your insurance company are likely to send out assessor or request a estimate. Again tall to insurance company first before undertaking any work as they often have their prefered repair centres plus if car isnt safe to drive insurance company may pickup the car on a truck.

A friend when through something similar and car was insurance write off. They paided her market value of car then allowed her buy car back for small money and local guy repaired it cheaply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭keithsfleet

Great to hear it was gotten back.
    The little skangers should be given life time driving bans along with prosecution.

visual wrote: »
    Garda might have it at police station best give them a call to find out where car is

Im only guessing but its likely the drivers door lock is damaged stearing lock broken and ignition damaged. Car may not be legal to drive if lights and indicators aren't working.
    Sometimes when idiots break steering lock they bend steering colum and or steering wheel.

Its very easy for repairs to exceed the value of car when new parts are fitted. But its often much cheaper to use second hand parts.

Your insurance company are likely to send out assessor or request a estimate. Again tall to insurance company first before undertaking any work as they often have their prefered repair centres plus if car isnt safe to drive insurance company may pickup the car on a truck.

A friend when through something similar and car was insurance write off. They paided her market value of car then allowed her buy car back for small money and local guy repaired it cheaply.

i doubt he cares about the cost tbh he loves that car, he has no idea how they got in but no glass on the side of the road so through the key hole more than likely.......told the gaurd he will go to court with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭The-Game

Hopefully they didn't abuse it too much then, looks a clean straight car from the pic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Mister Man

Seem's a common car to be stolen lately. Hope the damage is minimal! At least it wasn't burnt out or shipped off somewhere!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Great he got it back. Chuffed for him. :)
    i doubt he cares about the cost tbh he loves that car, he has no idea how they got in but no glass on the side of the road so through the key hole more than likely.......
    Sadly they(and many other Japanese cars) from that era are stupidly easy to break into and steal, hence the popularity with the scum. They probably just opened the doors using the keyhole with little trouble. Was it alarmed? If not he needs to get an alarm fitted. Hondas of that era need an alarm like a fish needs water. Get someone good to fit it and have them put the alarm brain somewhere other than under the drivers side dashboard and get them to wire the immobiliser into the main relay, not the starter. Put the siren under a wing or bumper as again it's stupidly easy to open the bonnet on one of them from the outside.

Cheaper alternatives? Hidden kill switches that stop fuel/ignition are easy enough to fit. Even easier trick(and this works for a few hondas)? Where the steering column runs under the dash down near the floorpan is a plastic cover over said column. It pops off real easy. Right, then you'll see a universal joint type yoke. Buy a long shanked padlock and when you turn the steering wheel to full lock, you can then padlock that joint and that cars going nowhere. You can't see this from the outside and even if they knew it's there it's way too tight a space to get a hacksaw near it, or even a bolt cutters. Your brother 1/ Scum 0.
    told the gaurd he will go to court with it
    Fair play, though no doubt fcuk all will happen to the scum. :mad::(

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

just a quick update lads,

unfortunatley the car was written off, not too sure what it was the brother said it was minimal damage but would have cost more than the car was worth so cut his losses.

as per the two scrotes, nothing as of yet....turns out (im not even kidding) they live around the corner from where the car was recovered. The gaurds found the car parked up and sat and waited for them to come out of their house get into the car and drive off.......not the brightest sparks i imagine....

cheers for all the help anyways lads onto the next one.....the worst thing is he now wants to get a "normal" family car or something inocious so that scum dont get attracted to it.....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

just a quick update lads,

unfortunatley the car was written off, not too sure what it was the brother said it was minimal damage but would have cost more than the car was worth so cut his losses.
    Bugger. :(
    as per the two scrotes, nothing as of yet....turns out (im not even kidding) they live around the corner from where the car was recovered. The gaurds found the car parked up and sat and waited for them to come out of their house get into the car and drive off.......not the brightest sparks i imagine....
    I'd well believe it JB. An unprotected one of those is so easy to steal* even mindbendingly dense morons like that lot can steal them. They were the most stolen car in the US year in year out for nearly a decade.

*You can open the bonnet and the boot from the outside FFS. And the door locks get so slack they're a piece of piss to open.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

cheers for all the help anyways lads onto the next one.....the worst thing is he now wants to get a "normal" family car or something inocious so that scum dont get attracted to it.....

I very nearly sold my car after someone tried to steal it a few years ago. Im really glad I didnt; took me a few weeks but I came around to the thinking that I am not going to let some little scumbag dictate what car I drive.

I then panick bought an €800 alarm for the car :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭aristotle25

djimi wrote: »
    I very nearly sold my car after someone tried to steal it a few years ago. Im really glad I didnt; took me a few weeks but I came around to the thinking that I am not going to let some little scumbag dictate what car I drive.

I briefly thought about the same after 2 house burglary attempts and have since upgraded the house security significantly (although it did cost me around €1500 to do that).

If someone steals the car then so be it but the main thing is I don't want anyone being able to break into the house easily and at the same time I want to drive the type of car I want. I also have it clear it my mind that I wont put up any resistance and will hand over the keys no problem, its only a car.

Scary enough though as you cant easily prevent someone smashing in a window like what happened in Tipp a week or two ago.