Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Learner Permit

• 17-11-2013 2:31am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 73 ✭✭

Is driving when you just got your learner permit okay. Most people do it and never seem to have getting caught. I drove to 20 miles to waterford city today and got on fine on my own.

P.S I am not interested in high horses opinions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭TheBoffin

As long as you have a person with a full license with you it should be fine. I know the full license person has to have held the license for some time but im not sure exactly how long, perhaps someone else might.

Driving on your own without a full license holder with you was tolerable years ago but not so much nowdays.

At the end of the day its a risk and only a matter of time before you get noticed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 73 ✭✭jadun

TheBoffin wrote: »
    As long as you have a person with a full license with you it should be fine. I know the full license person has to have held the license for some time but im not sure exactly how long, perhaps someone else might.

Driving on your own without a full license holder with you was tolerable years ago but not so much nowdays.

At the end of the day its a risk and only a matter of time before you get noticed.

Some friends have been driving a year on the provisional. Im more worried about the gaurds say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

full licence for 2 years to accompany a learner.

I have a full driving licence and have recently started learning to be a motorcyclist. Not sure if the same rules apply to the car but I have to complete 18 hours of training (full cat A) before I am allowed on the road. This called IBT. I thought that there was an equivalent EDT you have to do for the car.

Some friends have been driving a year on the provisional.

Again I am not in the knowledge frame here on this topic as all of my household are out of the learner permit/provisional stage.

I know as recent as last bank holiday weekend there was a campaign on targeting learner drivers with no fully licensed driver.

The bottom line is that you may not be insured when not accompanied by a full license holder and if in the unfortunate event of an accident, it would become a problem for you

Your friends have to be lucky all year, the Gardai only have to be lucky once.

Heres information taken from the Operation Learner Driver campaign section of the RSA site
    6. General penalty

S.10219 — Where a person is guilty of an offence under any section or subsection of a section of the Road Traffic Acts, 1961 to 2006 and, apart from this section and disregarding any disqualification that may be capable of being imposed, no penalty is provided for the offence, such person shall be liable on summary conviction—

(a) in the case of a first offence under that section or subsection - to a fine not exceeding €1000,

(b) in the case of a second offence under that section or subsection, or of a third or subsequent such offence other than an offence referred to in the next paragraph - to a fine not exceeding €2,000, and

(c) in the case of a third or subsequent offence under that section or subsection which is the third or subsequent such offence in any period of twelve consecutive months - to a fine not exceeding €2,000 or, at the discretion of the Court, to imprisonment for any term not exceeding three months or to both such fine and such imprisonment.

I should be fine, just wanted to know if anyone got done on board, 250KM to dublin this weekend, looking forward to it.

and my insurance will cover other peoples car not my own one.

Quite a few learner drivers have been caught recently.
    I hope you wont be on the motorway.

I agree, if this was a few weeks ago I would probably have a different view, however in the last few weeks I have heard of story after story of people getting caught driving alone on learner permits both adults and young people. In most of the cases I heard the Gardai take the car and impound it which makes sense if the person is not insured to drive without full license holder present, it would be the same treatment as no insurance i suppose.

It would appear that they are cracking down on it now

To be honest OP if you think you are good enough to pass a test you should have applied. The waiting list is only about 10 weeks now. If you havent got to this point you shouldnt be on the road.

I think there is some rule where they cant actually apply for a test without holding the learner permit for a period of time. Its a pretty stupid rule IMO considering that some people (like myself at the time) take maybe 3-4 lessons a week and want to learn and do the test without waiting.

It is 6 months and some people are exempt from it. The limit is there as there was a massively high number of people who got the learners permit and that day applied for a test resulting in a high failure rate.

Did you take 3-4 lessons a week for 6 months?

I took 4 lessons a week (one lesson was a double lesson) and had the provisional for a total of 6 weeks before getting the full license. This was yrs ago :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭StompToWork

jadun wrote: »

Holy Siht, are you in the wrong place then!

Is this word of mouth or a link as I see a lot of this on boards on lately. Ill take my chances. I know theres a ton of people on the learners permits on the road without L plates and people saying here theyve been driving for 10 years and only went through a check point point once. Ill take my chances I think. Also some of my friends been driving over a year from cork to dublin and none of them once met a checkpoint

TheBoffin wrote: »
    I took 4 lessons a week (one lesson was a double lesson) and had the provisional for a total of 6 weeks before getting the full license. This was yrs ago :)

Fair play to you. I would think a lot of learner drivers may not have your ability or determination so like in school, a teacher has to pitch the lesson to the middle of the class.

There was over 1000 caught before operation learner driver this year. (from irishtimes website).

Is this word of mouth or a link as I see a lot of this on boards on lately. Ill take my chances. I know theres a ton of people on the learners permits on the road without L plates and people saying here theyve been driving for 10 years and only went through a check point point once. Ill take my chances I think. Also some of my friends been driving over a year from cork to dublin and none of them once met a checkpoint

Its your decision at the end of the day OP. You asked for advice and there's plenty on this thread. Just be prepared to take the good with the bad.

Safe motoring and hope you get your full license soon!

Yea Ill take the risk as everyone else does. Sister just told me her friend is on provisional for last three years and never got done, as long as you stick to speed limit and have L plates down you will be grand. Also she said its the dopes that have the L plates up are the ones who make themselves easy targets for the gardai, i dont have them up anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Is driving when you just got your learner permit okay. Most people do it and never seem to have getting caught. I drove to 20 miles to waterford city today and got on fine on my own.

Post your car reg and I'll answer your question.

endacl wrote: »
    Post your car reg and I'll answer your question.

It's an 08 beamer,why u want my reg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Just wondering what the discerning troll was driving these days...

endacl wrote: »
    Just wondering what the discerning troll was driving these days...

ha, paid for with my own money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

I have a 03 1.2L punto and been driving around 400 km a week on the motorway for three years. It cruises grand at 120 km/h and never has giving me one bit of trouble. Fiat are not a bad make. For some reason on the motor forum someone always has something bad about any car brand. It's also a miser on petrol

I smell bullshiet :D

Sobanek wrote: »
    I smell bullshiet :D

Was my housemate who posted that. I hope u liked searching my profile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Was my housemate who posted that. I hope u liked searching my profile.

Excuses, excuses :rolleyes:

As they say on the internet:

"PICS OR DIDN'T HAPPEN"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Sister just told me her friend is on provisional for last three years and never got done
    Females are much less likely to get done for it than males.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

this high enough for you ? stay off the road until you have proved your ability as required by the Law.
    Why should I have to share the road with you and potentially have my life risked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Days 298

For the love of jesus keep your L plates up. Ive the right to know that you're arent a qualified driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

I can warn you that the Gardai now asks for a driving licence on the checkpoints - both the tax ones and when checking for alcohol. Only this year I had to show my license every time I passed a check point. It wasn't the case 2-3 years ago. It's your call, and I know I won't stop you from doing this, but they (the Gardai) do care these days.