Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dog killed, what should happen?

• 15-11-2013 11:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,777 ✭✭✭

I witnessed the following this evening:

A woman walking a dog (off the leash) screamed and i saw the dog run out and get VERY badly mauled by a car on the road(didn't stop). I would have called $VETONCALL, but i didn't know who to call.

so what is the procedure here? very badly injured animal, who do you call? its 10pm on Friday evening if that makes any difference.

cheers, RS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

I'd leave the owner deal with it, stop if I could to help maybe. Sorry for the dog but they should be in control of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭dnme

There is no procedure.

It's one of those mess's where you deal with it as best you can if you're getting involved. I killed a dog once, it ran out in front of me near town. It died instantly. The owner was very upset but realised it was their own fault for having a dog that was allowed run out on the road.

A couple of years later, I was driving in my own drive and ran over my own labrador. He ran off howling and I knew it was bed. He collapsed and took about 10 minutes to die in my arms. I was on the phone to the vet and in tears. Totally helpless and very sad.

Stuff happens, we deal with it as it comes and do our best to prevent it in the first place. Animal suffering is particularly horrible, they have no voice and are so reliant on us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

...once witnessed a dog badly injured and called a vet only to be told nothing could be done until the owner was contacted and consent obtained to put the dog to sleep. Dogs are property but this dog was paralysed after being hit by a car.

The hapless owner was eventually contacted and the dog was put to sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,777 ✭✭✭romperstomper

while i appreciate the replies, i'm very sad to read them. i had no idea that a distraught owner would be left to gather their pet remains, drag/carry them to the side of the road, THEN what? sit on the footpath til the nearest veterany office opens? was there literally nothing to be done except finish the poor beast off with the same shovel that was used to fetch him from the point of impact?

NOT asked facetiously and i know it was the young wans fault, but i still felt very sorry for the poor beast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭dnme

while i appreciate the replies, i'm very sad to read them. i had no idea that a distraught owner would be left to gather their pet remains, drag/carry them to the side of the road, THEN what? sit on the footpath til the nearest veterany office opens? was there literally nothing to be done except finish the poor beast off with the same shovel that was used to fetch him from the point of impact?

NOT asked facetiously and i know it was the young wans fault, but i still felt very sorry for the poor beast

Like I said, you take these situations as you find them and do your best. So you might have dialled directory enquiries from your phone and tried to find a vet, or phoned the guards. Or asked a neighbour for help. or ... . . . etc etc There are'nt procedures for every eventuality in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

To be honest I can't see a vet helping unless there was some money in it for them.

so a VET arrives (after an hour) and agrees to put the poor thing out of its misery. BUT its not your wan's dog. she's only walking it for her older sister (who lives nearby). now what? beast is dead (succumbed to its wounds while Vet was enroute). however muggins here is the one who called the vet! presumably i'm responsible for the call out? remember the reason the walker didn't call was that she was too distraught to do anything useful and i hated the idea of the beast being in pain. if that makes me liable, so be it. just checking for the next time.

** disclaimer I don't own any pet, never have done. A doctors callout to a house during unsociable hours is 100e, however I had no idea that a vet would be 150e. naive on my part to not have cleared that up before telling them to attend the scene :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Going from memory and open to correction

If you knock down a dog your obliged to report it to garda.
    Any damage to your car owner is responsible.
    Finally if you break hard or swerve to avoid the dog resulting in accident your responsible.

There is no doggy ambulance or hospital only vets and they are private business so will want paying as you discovered

There isnt much you can do except take out the wheel brace and finish off the dog. But everyone would think your cruel and a distress owner isn't going to appreciate your just putting dog out of its misery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Cycling Dumbasses

take out the wheel brace and finish off the dog
    God sake what kind of comment is that.

Sounds crule but its sometimes all you have with you and its better than leaving a dog suffer a painful death.

visual wrote: »
    Sounds crule but its sometimes all you have with you and its better than leaving a dog suffer a painful death.
    So if i see you suffering at the side of the road can i presume the same?

You have a lot to learn if your looking after livestock.

What do you think the vet does. Injection to kill the dog or breaks out the defibrillator and gives it mouth to mouth.

I know alot about livestock and killing off an animal with a wheel brace is not the way to go, go to sleep and think about what you just said, wheel brace you disgust me.

method of dispatching not the issue here. as stated, the poor thing succumbed to its wounds. please dont spoil the thread

I know alot about livestock and killing off an animal with a wheel brace is not the way to go, go to sleep and think about what you just said, wheel brace you disgust me.

Read what I posted instead of living up to your name. Real world no 999 no ambulances no emergency operating theatre. Just a private vet that will get there when he can only if he is being paid and it appears the OP is stuck with 150 euro bill trying to do the right thing.

And can you explain in simple english what living up to my name means please? in the mean time i will reread the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

And can you explain in simple english what living up to my name means please? in the mean time i will reread the thread.

I think he was talking about the 'Dumbass' bit. ; )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I've had to do a couple of mercy kills before. I've never used a wheel brace mind as I'd like to know I succeeded first time.

Nothing shameful about it, the animals were in serious pain and I didn't want to leave them to suffer for a couple of hours before dying anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,138 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

I imagine the woman here was quite distressed by what happened so I think that passers by can at least stop and help her in some way. I think that councils deal with road kill? They do in the case of wild animals anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

poor dog..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

My love of cars is only second to my love of dogs.

Personally I know some dogs are heedless and will run across a road without looking from my own dogs which were all big eejits.

Onus is on the owner to keep the dog under control I would stop and help if I could and probably waive any cost of repairs depending on owners attitude but that's about it.

Responsabily rests with the person controlling the animal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Sidewayslarry

I hit a little puppy a couple of years back in the M3. There were 4 young traveller kids on the side of the road after just coming out of a field. They had 6 dogs with them, and none of them on a lead. we came around the bend doing the speed limit (60mph at the time) and one of the dogs, which was only a puppy at the time, bolted across the road. I locked on the brakes so hard that the seat belt cut my shoulder, and my little girl in the back of the car started roaring crying as she was hurt by the child seat belts. Despite braking hard, I hit the puppy hard. He landed a good 20 yards up the road, and then the poor little guy got up and limped into the ditch dragging himself along as he went. I felt so bad. After making sure my little girl was OK, I got out to see how the puppy was, but the kids couldn't find him. The kids then turned on me telling me I owed them a new dog. I was a bit startled by this and turned back to my car and only then realised the damage on my car. Large piece of the front bumper hanging off, fog light gone, bottom grille gone, and headlight and grille panel slightly twisted. I decided to call the guards and asked the young lads their names but the minute they heard the word 'Guards' they all legged it leaving me on the road with my car in bits, and puppy dying in the ditch and my little girl in the car distraught by the whole incident.

I am a dog lover, and have a dog myself who I consider family. When we walk the dog (almost every day) the dog is always kept on a lead. It is the dog owners responsibilty to make sure the dog is kept safe by the roadside. As horrible as it might seem, if your dog runs under a car and does damage to the car, you are liable. And after witnessing your precious pet getting mauled by a car, the last thing you want to hear is that you have to repair the car of the person that killed your dog.

To the original poster - there is no procedure here. Its all down to your conscience. If you could look the other way, then look the other way. If you wanted to get out and help the girl who was walking to the dog then I am sure she would appreciate it hugely. If you wanted to call a vet and foot the bill, I think it would be a step too far, but again thats your call. Personally I don't think I would do that when it was the girls own fault for letting the dog out without a lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Should probably point out, a dog is technically a licensed animal and if you hit one it should be reported to the Authorities. Same as if you hit a horse or cattle. It differs from striking a cat etc which is not licensed requried. Not sure how enforced that is (Probably absolute zilch) but that is my understanding of the law surrounding it.

No you'd have to be a sick individual to do something like that, wrong in the head !

My idea is that if you would't do it to a human you don't do it to an animal.

Anyone who runs off after hitting an animal is some bad sob if you ask me.

When I'm out on the bike and I see dead animals I will pull them into the ditch.

How anyone could hit a cat/dog etc and just keep driving is beyond me.

If I hit a car or dog then I'd do all I could to see that cat/dog was taken care of in a proper humane way.

ryanf1 wrote: »
    I think that councils deal with road kill? They do in the case of wild animals anyway.

You must be joking ? the unions wouldn't like that !

IF it doesn't involve dancing on stones in pot holes the council will do nothing about road kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 stonecipher

I came across this scum post on Facebook.

Also from yesterday evening.

I also think the 6 who liked the post are just as bad.

280565.png

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Yeah, then boast about it on facebook...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

To be honest I can't see a vet helping unless there was some money in it for them.

Pack of pricks tbh. I dispise them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Going from memory and open to correction

If you knock down a dog your obliged to report it to garda.
    Any damage to your car owner is responsible.
    Finally if you break hard or swerve to avoid the dog resulting in accident your responsible.

There is no doggy ambulance or hospital only vets and they are private business so will want paying as you discovered

There isnt much you can do except take out the wheel brace and finish off the dog. But everyone would think your cruel and a distress owner isn't going to appreciate your just putting dog out of its misery.

As fas as I understand you only need to notify the Gardaí if you can't identify the owner or person in charge of the animal.
    I don't think you can be held responsible if someone rear-ended you after braking hard to avoid an animal, but if you swerved into their path you certainly could.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

You have a lot to learn if your looking after livestock.

What do you think the vet does. Injection to kill the dog or breaks out the defibrillator and gives it mouth to mouth.

You'd kill a sick calf with a wheel brace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

Rasheed wrote: »
    You'd kill a sick calf with a wheel brace?

IIRC, farmers are required to call a vet to put down most animals.

The vast majority of farmers don't do this. Certainly with sheep, most would just slit their throats and get on with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

IIRC, farmers are required to call a vet to put down most animals.

The vast majority of farmers don't do this. Certainly with sheep, most would just slit their throats and get on with it.

The post I was quoted said "You'd have a lot to learn if your looking after livestock". I'm around farms and farming a good while, and while you'd always have the odd loose cannon, I've never come across a farmer that would promote killing an animal with a wheel brace or other such violent measures.