Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help regarding databases

Options
  • 14-11-2013 1:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭

Hi, I want to start learning a bit about databases. I have some Java, HTML and CSS experience and have just started to learn some SQL (when I say just started I mean I watched a few videos on Youtube last night).

I understand the basic concept of a database but as this stage I have no clue how you would call methods to retrieve the data from your database etc...

To give an example lets say that you have a small website and a database which stores the login details for all the registered members of your website and you wanted weekly analysis on the number of registered members who visited your website more than once in the week. How would you go about achieving this.

I know this is a very general question and there are more than likely a million ways to answer it but i'm just looking to build up an image around the use of databases.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

If it's an existing database, you would check the schema and see if the information you want can be derived from the database. To achieve the one you have listed, for instance, you'd want to know whether the logins are persisted in the database. If not, you'd either be out of luck or need to corroborate with another data source (logs, analytics, e.t.c).

This information would not be automatically stored in the database. The only things that are stored in the database are things you explicitly decide to store.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker