Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FFer in corruption shocker

• 12-11-2013 6:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭

In an unprecedented and out of character turn of events, a former Fianna Fail senator has been jailed for extortion.

From RTE:
    A former senator has been sentenced to three years in prison, with the final year suspended, after being convicted of extortion.

Francis or Francie O'Brien from Latton, Castleblayney pleaded guilty to a charge of demanding €100,000 with menaces from a Department of Agriculture vet, Michael Heelan, in Co Monaghan.

The 70-year-old, who served over 20 years as a Fianna Fáil senator, told Leitrim Circuit Court that he was ashamed of what he had done.

Detective Inspector Fergus Traynor said the defendant went to Mr Heelan and said he had been told that blood samples and other animal testing equipment had been found after being incorrectly disposed off.

O'Brien was aware that there had been a previous incident involving Mr Heelan and told him it could go away on payment of €100,000.
    The court heard that O'Brien was acting as a messenger for others who were involved.

Mr Heelan went to the gardaí who investigated the case.
    They arrested O'Brien when he brought Mr Heelan to a shed to show him the bags of material they had found.

Judge John O'Hagan said the former senator and county councillor had betrayed the trust of people.

Instead of going to the gardaí, he had participated in this abominable crime, the judge said.

This organisation is rotten to the core. I'm sure there are some honest members but how anyone could give this shower a vote after all that has happened is well and truly beyond me. FF needs to be dismantled.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

I'm not even shocked, politics in this country is rotten to the core and they are all in on it in some way or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

I'm sure there are some honest members...

I'm sure there aren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Very unlucky.

He got caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

So thats one corrupt politician down

Only 999 more to go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

The same lad that borrowed €10 million from Michael Fingleton to buy a load of agricultural land outside some village no one's heard of in County Monaghan. If that wasnt idiotic enough, he didnt even have the smarts to pay off the FG and SF councillors to vote in the rezoning of the land to let him build on it.

You'd think 30 years as a FF politician would teach him a thing or two in ensuring that your corrupt deeds went rewarded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,070 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

In an unprecedented and out of character turn of events, a former Fianna Fail senator has been jailed for extortion.

From RTE:

This organisation is rotten to the core. I'm sure there are some honest members but how anyone could give this shower a vote after all that has happened is well and truly beyond me. FF needs to be dismantled.

Both of them are on holiday at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I am quite cynical of all yes all the members of Dáil Éireann at the moment and there parties

Cynical... concerned only with one's own interests and typically disregarding accepted standards in order to achieve them.
    "a cynical manipulation of public opinion"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Can we get the fella with the crutch to have a chat with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

They all do it. The stupid ones get caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Bertie Ahern is sitting on a golden toilet seat somewhere reading this on his gold-plated iPad and tutting to himself.

"Amateur!" he's thinking in his gold-plated brain.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

The only thing that surprises me is that Rte actually reported the story!

Wonder will champagne socialist duffy cover it tomorrow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The only thing that surprises me is that Rte actually reported the story!

Why did that surprise you? Have you never watched the news before? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Surprises me he was jailed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

The only thing unprecedented about it is he admitted it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

woodoo wrote: »

fair play to him, he admitted it as soon as he was caught red handed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Cool Mo D

From RTE:

...I'm sure there are some honest members...

I think this WAS the honest member - he actually pleaded guilty when he got caught!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

Wonder has biffo's mate(management consultant:D) surfaced yet after taking off running across the fields after his car was rammed...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Just said on the news that this fianna fail convict will continue to receive he's senators pension while in jail.

Who says crime doesn't pay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Just said on the news that this fianna fail convict will continue to receive he's senators pension while in jail.

Saw this in the paper. It should be suspended while we pay for his three meals a day and put a roof over his head!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

sure what else?

Neil Young is stuck in my head now thanks to this thread

I've seen the needle and the damage done.... :)

Can you post cds in to the joy, does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

woodoo wrote: »

Not a very FF thing to do, admit wrongdoing. The rest of them must be disgusted with him (for owing up that is).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

Im pretty surprised to see it didnt take a multimillion tribunal - though someones actually going to jail, so that'd be the obvious indicator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,737 ✭✭✭weisses

2 days in jail and he will be "francine"

Good