Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Insurance claim pay direct to me.

• 12-11-2013 4:30pm

I was involved in an accident last week, the other driver admitted liability and the insurance company has approved my claim.

The insurance company wants to pay the company who estimated me for the repairs.

I plan to fix the car myself.

can I request them to send me the cheque?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭MagicFairyDust

Yes you can

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Yes you can

You can request it, doesn't mean they will do it.

OP, most insurers have a network of recommended repairers in order to ensure that the best possible repair job is done at the lowest possible cost to them.

They are well within their rights to insist using one of them to fix your car as they are the ones paying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

What you're proposing is exactly why they wont do it, Its pretty much insurance fraud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭TheBoffin

Yes you can

You are not under any obligation to take it to a specific repair shop nor are you under any obligation to repair the car. The money is compensation for loss/damage of the vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

OP, most insurers have a network of recommended repairers in order to ensure that the best possible repair job is done at the lowest possible cost to them.

They are well within their rights to insist using one of them to fix your car as they are the ones paying.

But it's the other party's insurance company who have admitted liability, the OP can get the car repaired where they like, to my knowledge. Not so sure about giving them a quote from a bodyshop, fixing it yourself and then pocketing the difference though. They probably need a VAT invoice for tax purposes.

No they are not. It is up to the OP where their car gets repaired if the OP has agreed a payout with the insurers they are entitled to be paid that directly.

It's a myth that you have to use insurers recommended repairers.

What you're proposing is exactly why they wont do it, Its pretty much insurance fraud.

How pray tell do you figure this? The OP's property was damaged and they are being compensated for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

The OP got a quote for work done by a garage. He wants to take that money, keep it himself and fix the car himself.

Unless the OP is in fact a Mechanic with a registered buisness, he is commiting insurance fraud by using a garages quote for personal gain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭discombobulate

The OP got a quote for work done by a garage. He wants to take that money, keep it himself and fix the car himself.

Unless the OP is in fact a Mechanic with a registered buisness, he is commiting insurance fraud by using a garages quote for personal gain.
    No the OP has had X amount of damage done to his car so deserves to be compensated for X amount which would allow for the repair to be done by a professional repairer. If he decides he wants to do it himself what's the issue? He didn't ask someone to crash into him

Jaysus lol the insurance company inspected the car agreed a price to repair the car. If someone damages your property you are entitled to compensation the OP has been compensated and is indeed entitled to do what ever they want with said compensation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Its not insurance fraud. The car has x amount of damage to it, the insurance companys pays out x, they are all square. If the OP uses that money to go on a holiday instead of fixing the car then its their own lookout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,702 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Jaysus lol the insurance company inspected the car agreed a price to repair the car. If someone damages your property you are entitled to compensation the OP has been compensated and is indeed entitled to do what ever they want with said compensation.

+1 If the OP wants to do the job himself, he is entitled to do so. The insurance company presumably had the vehicle inspected by an assessor so as far as they are concerned the estimate is an accurate reflection of what a professional would charge to repair the damage and the OP is entitled to a cheque for that amount.

If the OP has the skills to do the job himself then he is perfectly entitled to do so and good luck to him. He is also entitled to put the money in his pocket and not repair the car at all, it's his choice.

Someone mentioned VAT - not applicable. If you get the repair done in a body shop, you are the customer, not the insurance company so they can't claim back the VAT.

• Strangely enough they actually did not send out an assessor.

There seems to be some debate about my rights regarding this,

Should I just request they send me the cheque and see how they respond.

As for the people who are claiming insurance fraud, I got the quote because I could not quote myself! (or doubted they would except it if I had attempted to)
    I will do the repairs, I will pay for the parts and I will do the labour, where is the fraud?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Ask the question and see what they say. But you wont be the first person to have asked this and it shouldnt be an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭discombobulate

I'm sure you could also ask your own insurance company for advice. Was it their approved repairers? They may just get the garage to do the assessment for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,794 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Yes certainly entitled to get a cheque directly to you.
    I know if claiming on your own policy, they will pay you less Vat if you want paying that way.
    Maybe be different when claiming off other party but I suspect you may get amount less vat.
    To say its fraud is crazy. If you were using a fraudulently obtained garage INVOICE, that would be fraud. Using a garage quote is standard practice and indeed nowadays, there seems to be very little room for bulking up insurance repair quotes so if insurer is happy with the figures I don't see an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

OP you are entitled to take the money and not fix your car if you want. The lads mentioning fraud are completely wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Like fluck they are.

Nonsense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

His asset (the car) is reduced in value by the amount of the agreed repairs. He is being compensated by the wrongdoer.

There is no gain, no fraud and no problem :rolleyes:

• I've emailed them requesting the cheque,

thanks for the replies, I'll post back the response I get tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,252 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

What has a mechanic got to do with a bodyshop ?????
    The OP can use the money to go to disneyland if they like....another party caused an agreed amount of damage to their property, that party's insurance company has agreed to compensate them for the agreed value of that damage. End of story.
    The Op could even have sold the car in the meantime. Does that mean that they are not entitled to anything ?
    Please stop making up rubbish, it doesn't help a person with a serious question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,252 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

I've emailed them requesting the cheque,

thanks for the replies, I'll post back the response I get tomorrow.

You are also usually entitled to claim for approx 10% of the repair cost to cover depreciation to your car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭knipex

Myth..

You can get a car repaired where ever you want however the insurance company will only pay the estimate / agreed price.

The crap about approved repairers is just that, crap. All it means is that they were willing to put their hands in their pockets to buy an certain piece of quotation software etc and meet "minimum" standard. I know a number of "approved" repairers I wouldnt trust to paint a bike and I know a number of small independant guys who are fantastic.

Ring the insurance company and tell them you want to get the car repaired at a different location and to send you the cheque. If they try to insist that you get it repaired at their "approved" workshop politely decline..

bullsh1t..

Strangely enough they actually did not send out an assessor.

There seems to be some debate about my rights regarding this,

Should I just request they send me the cheque and see how they respond.

As for the people who are claiming insurance fraud, I got the quote because I could not quote myself! (or doubted they would except it if I had attempted to)
    I will do the repairs, I will pay for the parts and I will do the labour, where is the fraud?

If its an approved garage they probably have the appropriate quotation software to give the estimate (which they will have paid for ) hence no need for an accessor.