Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Antonio Cesaro - The Future

• 10-11-2013 10:18AM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭

Munich, Germany.

Isn't Cena a dote:
    After the match Cena called out Cesaro to translate for him. After saying some nice words about the German crowd, he then wanted to say something about Cesaro which Antonio wouldn’t translate so Cena did it in english saying that Cesaro “went from small shows year after year [..] and is finally standing here in Germany [..] and has earned the respect of the WWE! [..] I also want to thank you for believing in Antonio Cesaro, his first night on a main stage in front of a German crowd! I have been around the world many times and know a good thing when i see one… Claudio… and yes i call you Claudio [..] you know i am talking for real! Congratulation for coming home, this guy has the makings for a future champion.[..]” Then he asked Claudio to hold on to his belt and threw the Title it to him. Claudio was humbled but said there is the wrong name on the plate and gave it back, but promised he would be back in Germany one day as the WWE Champion. Also he finished off by saying whenever he says “we the people” the means the German fans, where he started his career 12 years ago here in Germany. Then he went to the fans and signed several autographs until the staff dragged him away so they could clean the ring.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

rovert wrote: »
    Munich, Germany.

Isn't Cena a dote:

Was a nice moment tbh

danG I knew there was a bit I left out in the WWE tours thread from the show - my german isn't the best but i did know that he said the we the people bit as for him meaning the German people before leading them in saying it. If anyone is interested I did a little (wrote far more than I expected) write up in the WWE tours thread about this show. What I said and what is quoted above mixed is what was actually said i.e he did say the wrong name was on the belt before giving it back but also said stated he wanted to win it for himself and would return as the champ (I might have been wrong when I said he said next time he would be back but I thought thats what he said) otherwise below is almost exactly spot on though... he wasn't like Heyman with his English who took the p!ss out of the Germans speaking in slow mo when he first came out so that they would understand).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

One People One Empire One Leader. Go Cesaro.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

The promo:

ha yeah thats it! was too far away to get a good shot of it myself, as you can tell its essentially what is stated above but he elaborates (in German) a little bit I think

screw it here is what I wrote in the other thread, probably fits better here anyway as it is more news than about the Irish tour
    WWE Munich Show 2013

Paul Heyman comes out (with a leg cast, braces etc and crutches) and bemoans CM Punk putting him in that condition and makes some wise cracks to get the Germans in attendance to boo him such as saying his Mic must have been made in Germany as it was dodgy to begin with. Out came CM Punk to a big pop and signaled he was going to hit a GTS on him, Heyman pleaded with him not to and to leave him alone which surprisingly he did (Heyman did look & sound a little pathetic afterall and Punk did make him say he loves Munich before hand) but when Punk left the ring to go away Heyman started mocking him, flexing his muscles behind him etc much to the crowds amusement / boos. At this point Punk turned back and shot him a look before quickly pulling out a kendo stick from under the ring apron and charged the ring and Heyman who essentially shat his pants at this. What followed was pretty much the same beat down from HIAC just without the cell.

Prime time players vs Hunico & Camacho

nice little opener, nothing too special but Titus was really trying to get the crowd into it. Hunico and Camacho got in some early offense but it was mostly the PTPs

Justin Gabriel vs Ryback

The Munich crowd chanted Goldberg at Ryback when Gabriel got in some decent early offense they actually seemed like they believed he could win but this was one house show (tour) match when the face wasn't going to pick up the win. Ryback was actually pretty impressive as he first hit a powerbomb then a military press slam and finally his Shell Shock on Gabriel before pinning him.

Antonio Cesaro vs The Great Khali

Cesaro is supposed to be heel and Khali face, but not tonight und nicht Auf München. It was role reversal time as Cesaro's pop upon entrance rivalled that of Cena, Punk or Bryan a fact further helped when he said a few words pre fight auf deutch (and that he wore a German Ice Hockey jersey to the ring). Khali played up his annoyance at being boo'd when he lifted up his arms attempting to get a crowd reaction and himself grabbed the mic and said he would beat Cesaro and then beat all of the people in the crowd. 1 night Face/Heel turn accomplished with ease and the match began. Despite having Cesaro in it, this match still included Khali so wasn't all that great but we got his Giant Swing spot on Khali which lead to the 3 count pin. he only did 3/4 rotations this time but damn if it isn't impressive live. He said a few more words in German afterwards but I couldn't properly make out what he said this time, he then wore a German flag like he would usually the Real Americans flag and headed off.

Brie Bella w/Nicole vs AJ w/Tamina

This match was billed by the ring announcer as for the Divas title but after AJ got some boos after bigging herself up on the mic she reacted by informing everyone in attendance that as a result of their actions she wont be defending her title there as they dont deserve a title match. As a result Brie was able to win the match which tbh wasnt great or all that memorable without any storyline repercussions

CM Punk & Daniel Bryan vs The Wyatt Family

This had been advertised as a handicap match but I guess Bray still isn't 100% as he watched from his rocking chair at ringside and although he did occasionally get involved it was (as on Raw & SD) mostly Harper who represented The Wyatts in what ended up a straight tag match. Nice little match and the crowd really got into the YES chants culminating when Bryan hit the shining wizard (think its still just refered to as the move that defeated Cena in WWE atm not by that name tho) on Harper as Punk hit a GTS on Rowan for the 3 count.

15min break followed by the Bellas coming out to announce 2 fellas who won tickets to mania

3MB (Slater & McIntyre w/Jinder) vs The Usos

The was a quick enough bout but The Usos looked good and worked the crowd hard with their I say U you so SO bit both before and throughout the match before winning with the double Superfly Splash.

IC Title match: Curtis Axel (c) vs R-Truth

Decent enough little match where Axel showed a good deal of personality mimicking Truths dancing and croth thrusting at one point and really got the crowd going which impressed me. near the end of this match he grabbed his belt at ringside and signalled that he had had enough of Truth though and went to leave the arena but Truth grabbed him and threw him into the ring belt and all, which he promptly then used to hit Truth and get himself DQd. Truth got the win but no title as Axel kept that but he didn't get to gloat about it as when he tried Truth who had recuperated caught him with a kick to the gut which he followed up with a Corkscrew scissors kick (wiki says he calls it a Truth Axe but ive never heard that tbh)

WHC match: John Cena (c) vs Alberto Del Rio

Cena got a good reaction but fair play to the Munich crowd they were good with the chants all night and we had the lets go Cena / Cena sucks chants going almost immediately - infact where I was sitting myself and the missus (who's reactions to many things at her first show was very funny) couldnt help but notice this little fat kid sitting all on his own (poor kid must been no more than 14 max, ran off the second it ended presumably to find a parent outside) chanting lets go Cena along with all the other kiddies (who werent sitting near us) while their was a big horde of 30ish year olds right behing him replying at the top of their lungs to each timid little chant of his,

The match was good enough especially considering the result was never ever in doubt for even a second. Alberto hit some really sweet kicks but the highlight came after the match and after Cena picked up the win with an attitude adjustment.

After the match Cena got on the Mic apologized that he couldn't say it in German but thanked the audience for a great night even though he said he knew they didn't want to hear it from him. Instead he called back out Cesaro (who he later referred to as Claudio) and asked if he would translate what he wanted to say - Claudio did so (again getting a great reaction when he came out) and it was all the usual stuff about how they WWE love coming to Germany etc but then Cesaro refused to translate a bit and Cena took back the mic saying Cesaro didn't want to talk about himself so he would. He gave the Daniel Bryan esque story about Cesaro having worked his way all around the world in small arenas and had finally worked his way up to working in the biggest company in the world and talked about how that night was a special homecoming of sorts (even though technically he is Swiss) infront of the biggest home audience he has ever been able to wrestle for. Cena gave him his belt asking him to hold onto it for him cos he will need to get used to how it feels and called him a future world champion.

After a few moments with the belt which the crowd loved he gave it back and if my German guesses are correct told Cena that he wants earn that belt for himself not just be given it... Cena looked confused... Cesaro waved and said tschüss (bye) and Cena left with the belt (German crowd loved that), Cesaro then said (I think) that he had worked for over 12 years to get to where he was right now and vowed to keep working so that the next time he is back here standing infront of the munich fans he will do so as the WWE champion!

----

fun show and uaysus I wrote more than I expected there, knew he would but Cesaro clearly stole the show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

very similar to cenas promo about sheamus after they totally misjudged the dublin crowd a few years ago (and thought they could get away with sheamus heel)

say what you want a botu cena - he is a good guy that does all he can for other talent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Cesaro babyface turn can't be far away surely?

He's a great talent and deserves a good push. Almost every time he's gotten in the ring we've had a good match out of it and he's getting more and more over now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

say what you want a botu cena - he is a good guy that does all he can for other talent!

Other than completely no-selling for them anyway.... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Beefy78 wrote: »
    Other than completely no-selling for them anyway.... ;)

More the way he is booked than the guy himself though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Gorm_0

Moneymaker wrote: »
    Cesaro babyface turn can't be far away surely?

He's a great talent and deserves a good push. Almost every time he's gotten in the ring we've had a good match out of it and he's getting more and more over now.

Lacks charisma

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,155 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Gorm_0 wrote: »
    Lacks charisma

Well that's just not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭salacious crumb

Angron wrote: »

Not at all. He has been handed some sh*t gimmicks though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Cesaro is the future, no doubt in my mind whatsoever.

Absolutely. He's a machine.

And he's easily split from Zeb and Swagger. All they have to do is say you ain't a REAL American. It's not a great fit for Cesaro IMO. Preferred Swagger as the southern looking shaggy haired hick with Zeb as the xenophobic bigot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Gorm_0

That's the sole reason he and Jack Swagger were put with Zeb Colter so he could do their talking because they both are not good on the mic, as they lack charisma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Gorm_0 wrote: »
    That's the sole reason he and Jack Swagger were put with Zeb Colter so he could do their talking because they both are not good on the mic, as they lack charisma.

They put them together for a lot of reasons.

1. Cesaro has pretty much nothing to do. A tag team is a perfect solution, especially considering how weak the majority of WWE's teams are. Cesaro is incredibly charismatic and they have no fear of him being on the mic. He was given a mic very early in the WWE run. If he was not good, that wouldnt have happened.

2. Swagger was going nowhere by himself. Stick him with Cesaro and suddenly he is useful again.

3. Zeb was too good to be reduced to the lower card role he would have ended up in had he been left with just Swagger.

The teaming benefits all three. I admit I wasnt too happy with it at first, but they made it work very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Yeah now they've mostly gotten past 'the Real Jobbers' phase they've grown into a good team, Cesaro is getting over and Mantel is ALWAYS awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    They put them together for a lot of reasons.

1. Cesaro has pretty much nothing to do. A tag team is a perfect solution, especially considering how weak the majority of WWE's teams are. Cesaro is incredibly charismatic and they have no fear of him being on the mic. He was given a mic very early in the WWE run. If he was not good, that wouldnt have happened.

2. Swagger was going nowhere by himself. Stick him with Cesaro and suddenly he is useful again.

3. Zeb was too good to be reduced to the lower card role he would have ended up in had he been left with just Swagger.

The teaming benefits all three. I admit I wasnt too happy with it at first, but they made it work very well.

Also Cesaro joined when Swagger got into a little hot water. The WWE needed someone to fill in for him to keep the Real Americans angle going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

gerrybbadd wrote: »
    Cesaro is the future, no doubt in my mind whatsoever.

I am more of a fan of Reigns at this stage, didn`t think i`d say that but both are heading for the babyface turn push at present. I like Cesaro but that yodeling crap and putting him with Swagger has diminished my interest in him.

GTR63 wrote: »
    I am more of a fan of Reigns at this stage, didn`t think i`d say that but both are heading for the babyface turn push at present. I like Cesaro but that yodeling crap and putting him with Swagger has diminished my interest in him.

Reigns certainly has a lot going for him, a great look, a serious finisher. But is he much good on the mic? I think Cesaro edges him here, and in the ring too. But again, Reigns will be right up there in the Main Event in the future. Not bad for a guy introduced to WWE fans as Leakee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Deadlie

Lads, yiz are MILES off. The Future is all Bray Wyatt.

http://www.wwe.com/inside/polls/who-is-the-next-wwe-champion

thats some poll that

2%
    Goldust
    3%
    Cody Rhodes
    2%
    Ryback
    37%
    Bray Wyatt
    29%
    Antonio Cesaro
    19%
    Big E Langston
    8%
    Roman Reigns

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,155 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

I'm quite surprised that Big E isn't winning that one. Shows how much they think of Reigns that he's in there too, but not the other Shield members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Deadlie

I'm quite surprised that Big E isn't winning that one. Shows how much they think of Reigns that he's in there too, but not the other Shield members.

Thought exactly the same myself. I do like Big E, from what I've seen of him and I thought he'd be running away with it, but I was very surprised to see Bray on top. Could it be a fix thing? Like when FM104 or whoever got 'Give Ireland Back to the Irish' voted as the #1 British Song of all time?

Seems mad to me - thought it was gonna be massively favouring Big E and Anto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

Read last week they`re going to be pushing bigger guys a bit more now, that seems to be the reason used for the Wyatts, Big E, Reigns and Big Show push.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

I've been such a mark for Cody for so long now. I just don't get what people don't see in him.

Deadlie wrote: »
    Thought exactly the same myself. I do like Big E, from what I've seen of him and I thought he'd be running away with it, but I was very surprised to see Bray on top. Could it be a fix thing? Like when FM104 or whoever got 'Give Ireland Back to the Irish' voted as the #1 British Song of all time?

Seems mad to me - thought it was gonna be massively favouring Big E and Anto.

Bray has the best gimmick I've seen in a long time (once you ignore the very first promos on nxt where he was practically quoting Cape Fear line for line), and he's fantastic on the mic. He could do with adding a few more moves to his repertoire though, but I hope he has a bright future and eradicates that sh*tty Husky Harris name from everybody's memory.

Cesaro... youtube his 75 best moves. Class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Hierro_4

Never felt Cesaro has what it takes to make it big. Lacks charisma and can't give the fans that electric feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Hierro_4 wrote: »
    Never felt Cesaro has what it takes to make it big. Lacks charisma and can't give the fans that electric feel.

You mustnt have seen the reaction he gets for the Big Swing alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90,377 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    You mustnt have seen the reaction he gets for the Big Swing alone.

The swing has gotten him over with the crowds so a face turn must be on the cards soon, let him destroy Swagger in the process too please :P

It is a shame him and Swagger never got a reign as tag champs though

Hierro_4 wrote: »

You should look up his series of matches with Sami Zayn on NXT. He's the total package

Even the section of DB's gauntlet match a few weeks ago with Cesaro. Absolutely fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭slicus ricus

gerrybbadd wrote: »
    You should look up his series of matches with Sami Zayn on NXT. He's the total package

I agree, the guy has serious star potential. I do not understand how he could be viewed as lacking in charisma or personality (I personally think he has it in bucket loads!!) but everyone is entitled to their opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,016 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

I'm not doubting Cesaro's ability, but they pull this kind of shtick when touring abroad. They had Big Show praising Drew McIntyre as the future at one stage.