Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Former Garda to be sentenced for passing on Data

• 09-11-2013 3:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/former-garda-to-be-sentenced-for-passing-on-confidential-information-1.1587605

A sacked garda was before a court yesterday for passing on confidential information to third parties. Daniel Tarrant (51) personally and indirectly accessed confidential data on the Garda Pulse system to give to retail security firms who were clients of his partner.

Det Garda Sgt Tommy Murphy said that the garda’s motivation had been to help his partner preserve a good business relationship with the firms as she had no licence to provide security services.

Tarrant, Kiskeam, Mallow, Co Cork, pleaded guilty at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court to three charges of disclosing personal data between December 23rd, 2008 and July 16th, 2009. He also pleaded guilty to illegally possessing a single-barrel shotgun in October 2009, at Ashbourne, Co Meath.

Det Garda Sgt Murphy told Colm Ó Briain, prosecuting, that Tarrant explained the gun was a family heirloom he inherited after his father’s death which he had never bothered to register.Gardaí began investigating Tarrant’s mobile phone records after a tip-off from the National Bureau of Criminal Investigation in November 2011 about data protection breaches. Tarrant, who had been stationed at Finglas Garda station, was dismissed after 27 years in the force following the investigation. He is entitled to a pension but he will not have access to it until he is 60.

The information he accessed from Pulse records related to a security firm’s business competitor on one occasion and on another it was personal details of a known shoplifter. Tarrant admitted he had accessed the records personally and by asking colleagues. Det Garda Sgt Murphy agreed with Dominic McGinn SC, defending, that there was no criminal context in Tarrant’s offences. He said his client acted out of “misguided loyalty” to his partner and asked Judge Mary Ellen Ring to recognise that Tarrant has already been punished through losing his career and good character.Mr McGinn told her there was no reality in a fine, which is up to €100,000 for a Data Protection Act breach, since his client was “on the breadline”.

Judge Ring adjourned sentencing for a Probation Services report to see if Tarrant was suitable for community service in lieu of a prison sentence for the firearms offence. She remanded him on continuing bail until next month.

Fair play to the Gardai and the DPP who seem to be tightening up on their approach to members abusing pulse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

jonsnow wrote: »
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/former-garda-to-be-sentenced-for-passing-on-confidential-information-1.1587605
    Fair play to the Gardai and the DPP who seem to be tightening up on their approach to members abusing pulse.

Indeed, no one can be above the law, and it is refreshing to see the Gardaí being so pro-active in weeding out crooks within their own ranks.
    Fair play indeed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

He was "27 years in the force" and is now “on the breadline”.
    How is that possible :confused:

I'm pretty sure that the Pulse system is mis-used on a regular basis like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭shankespony

Typical slap on the wrist, its a joke, I see Garda Commissioner had penalty points erased!!! Eamonn Dunphy called it right in the Irish Post recently no accountability...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Typical slap on the wrist

He lost his job, got a criminal record and is awaiting sentencing, and you call that a "slap on the wrist":confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

he only one they caught.
    i can only imagine there are many others breaking laws in many various ways that will never be caught.

he'll get probation and he'll still get his pension at 60.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

I saw him getting caught on Love/Hate. He seemed to take it well. Seems his Da was a very sound Gard. Probably very dissapointed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I saw him getting caught on Love/Hate. He seemed to take it well. Seems his Da was a very sound Gard. Probably very dissapointed.

I knew his father from crumlin. He'd be so disappointed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

I knew his father from crumlin. He'd be so disappointed
    Nidge has a lot to answer for..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Typical slap on the wrist, its a joke, I see Garda Commissioner had penalty points erased!!! Eamonn Dunphy called it right in the Irish Post recently no accountability...

This not a case of slap on the wrists. He lost his job and has a conviction.

If you google the commissioner having penalty points erased you would find his case was exempt from the rules of penalty points because he was acting in the course of his duty.

And how can you say there is no accountability when they are a number of Gardai before the courts/have been convicted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Thats good coming from a cocaine snorting drunk driver who has failed at everything he's ever turned his hand to.

Failed Footballer.

Failed Broadcaster.

Failed Radio Host.

Failed Journalist.

Failed Human Being.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Does anyone else not find the most disturbing part is that he had a gun and wasnt bothered to register it? He is stationed in Finglas so he would have seen his fair share of gun related murders. But wasnt bothered ensuring his gun was register and probably wasnt locked in a gun safe. It could have been stolen and used to kill someone.

I hope they put him away for the gun possession

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 121 ✭✭Mark Twain

snubbleste wrote: »

I'm pretty sure that the Pulse system is mis-used on a regular basis like this.

No it isn't. This man was caught, sentenced, lost his job and has a criminal record as a result. There will be no pitchforks at dawn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

TheNog wrote: »
    how can you say there is no accountability when they are a number of Gardai before the courts/have been convicted.
    Because it's the thing to say. You know that adolescent/teenage thing of hating any authority figure just because they're an authority figure? Some people never grow out of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,124 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Because it's the thing to say. You know that adolescent/teenage thing of hating any authority figure just because they're an authority figure? Some people never grow out of that.

And others never develop the cojones to question any form of power. The Irish are probably one of the best examples of that. It wasn't so long ago since people were alienated and ridiculed for their criticism of the church. These days it's aimed at those who dare to criticise state forces.

We still have a bizarre amount of deference towards those in positions of authority.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 121 ✭✭Mark Twain

And others never develop the cojones to question any form of power. The Irish are probably one of the best examples of that. It wasn't so long ago since people were alienated and ridiculed for their criticism of the church. These days it's aimed at those who dare to criticise state forces.

We still have a bizarre amount of deference towards those in positions of authority.

We have one of the finest police forces in the world. A testament to the bravery of those involved in the foundation of the State, and of our progression as a social democracy. Mistakes will happen, people will slip through the cracks, folks will succumb to temptation and exploit their position of authority. This will always happen.

It's all a bit Rage Against the Machine in AH these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Go into any **** hole in the inner city and see how much "deference" even young kids have for authority. They laugh at the Guards.

There is feck all respect or fear of authority any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Paulzx wrote: »
    Go into any **** hole in the inner city and see how much "deference" even young kids have for authority. They laugh at the Guards.

There is feck all respect or fear of authority any more.

This by no means exclusive to Dublin. It does happen but thats been happening for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

hfallada wrote: »
    Does anyone else not find the most disturbing part is that he had a gun and wasnt bothered to register it? He is stationed in Finglas so he would have seen his fair share of gun related murders. But wasnt bothered ensuring his gun was register and probably wasnt locked in a gun safe. It could have been stolen and used to kill someone.

I hope they put him away for the gun possession

So if it was registered then that's a surety that it won't be stolen??? Who said it wasn't stored in a gun safe?

Yeah he should be locked up in prison for keeping his dad's gun without a licence.

Do you not check your replies for ridiculousness before posting because yours is littered with it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

And others never develop the cojones to question any form of power.
    I'm not defending that either, but sometimes people just dislike people with a level of power just because of that power - no matter what they're actually like.
    The Irish are probably one of the best examples of that.
    I don't know if that's true - bit self flagellating, which is just the other side of the same coin.
    It wasn't so long ago since people were alienated and ridiculed for their criticism of the church. These days it's aimed at those who dare to criticise state forces.
    Alienated and ridiculed for criticising state forces? Ah now...
    God I really don't think so - I think it's a very Irish trait to be constantly moaning about any part of the establishment; lots of "I know my rights" (but not responsibilities). I'm not saying people should just put up with abuses of power - of course not. But as I said, it's often not abuse of power that's seen as the problem, just power itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Thats good coming from a cocaine snorting drunk driver who has failed at everything he's ever turned his hand to.

Failed Footballer.

Failed Broadcaster.

Failed Radio Host.

Failed Journalist.

Failed Human Being.

Come on, he's good on that Apres Match.