Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"The Purge" for the Gardai?

• 08-11-2013 10:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭

You know the film The Purge where one night a year everything is legal?

Well I was thinking that the gardai often know who the culprit is to a certain crime but their hands are tied by "The System" so even if they may know who did a crime they may not be able to do anything over some technicalities.

Should we let them lose one night of the year to round up scumbags and beat the living crap out of them (a few may even go missing)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Na, there would be some cleaning bill for the leather on those Dail seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

That's what you want to let loose, a culchie with a grudge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

A secret , unofficial , Garda snatch van should be doing the rounds all year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

Are you serious Biko? You know what happened to Steve Biko in South Africa at the hands of police. Have respect for your namesake dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭razorgil

unfortunately, with the drop in the number of guards, we might need more than one night!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭The Big Smoke

If there was a purge type scenario in Ireland, every Guard would GTFO of Ireland fairly sharpish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

Grayson wrote: »
    That's what you want to let loose, a culchie with a grudge.

Thats why we invented Gaelic football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Sure we'd all be dressing up as Gardai if that were to happen.... Then how would they know whos the real Gardai? Garda batein' Garda, Gardception

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

dgt wrote: »
    Sure we'd all be dressing up as Gardai if that were to happen.... Then how would they know whos the real Gardai? Garda batein' Garda, Gardception

The decision on who was the real Garda would be decided on the strength of their accent, nGhaardai, vheicale etc.