Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

6 year jail term for man who kidnapped and tortured teenage boy

• 08-11-2013 6:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.newstalk.ie/Dublin-man-jailed-6-years-for-kidnap--torture-of-teenage-boy
    A man has been jailed for six years after he tied a 14-year-old boy to a radiator, threw boiling water down his trousers and removed skin from his knees, knuckles and fingertips with a cheese grater.

A victim impact report before the court said the now 16-year-old boy had burns to his genitals and inner thighs. It was initially believed he would need skin grafts but the skin has since healed and he continues to receive treatment.

His mother outlined in the statement that the assault has changed her son's life and he has since left school.

Judge Desmond Hogan sentenced him to a total of 9 years in prison with three suspended for this and other offences, including assault causing harm and burglary.

Wtf.. why do people convicted of such heinous crimes have any time suspended from their sentence?

And this last bit seems really odd to me
    He [the judge] said Ellis has "a propensity to do very violent things", and that he seems to be getting worse. However he commented that it is Ellis's drug-taking that leads him to commit crime, not his mental problems.

How can he be in a position to make that assertion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

What a twisted fock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

http://www.newstalk.ie/Dublin-man-jailed-6-years-for-kidnap--torture-of-teenage-boy

Wtf.. why do people convicted of such heinous crimes have any time suspended from their sentence?

Doesn't that criminal have schizophrenia? I would assume that plays a role in the judgement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

The cheese grater thing is rotten, if I saw that in a movie i would flinch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Doesn't that criminal have schizophrenia? I would assume that plays a role in the judgement.

Well according to the Judge himself, his mental issues don't play a part in his actions... the evil drugs are to blame =/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Six years sounds about right for the other crimes he was convicted of. For what he did to that boy he should be spending the rest of his life in a secure mental institution. Got to say, I feel glad reading that story that someone else got to him between the boy escaping and the Gardaí arresting him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

He has 26 previous convictions for road traffic offences, burglary, criminal damage and theft.

Why the hell are these fvcktards allowed out in society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

Yes.....father....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Read about a while ago...

Apparently when the Guards came to arrest him at his house, he had been badly beaten up (this was after the kid got away) wonder how that happened :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

That's the good old Irish justice system for ya :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

mandatory treatment, lifelong random/weekly clean tests are also part of the order I presume?

6 years, bit off for good behaviour, 4.5?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

We can thank stupid fúcktard judges and their muppet sentencing for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

We can thank stupid fúcktard judges and their muppet sentencing for that.

no, you can thank the legislation that encourages such lenient sentencing

Hopefully some prisoners who dont indulge in child torture will think badly of him, and inflict some damage on him with a few home made implements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

That sentence is a joke, wonder how long he would get if it was the judges son - im sure he would blame the drugs then.

I couldnt read the full story, it was making me sick:mad:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

iguana wrote: »
    Six years sounds about right for the other crimes he was convicted of. For what he did to that boy he should be spending the rest of his life in a secure mental institution. Got to say, I feel glad reading that story that someone else got to him between the boy escaping and the Gardaí arresting him.

He should have got longer and the Judge also said the following -

After reading probation, medical and psychiatric reports Judge Hogan noted that Ellis has a very high risk of re-offending.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭mewe

That's ****ed up! Horrible what that young fella endured and will endure with post traumatic stress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Thank God he wasn't importing dodgy garlic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

The kid is (by the sounds of it) so traumatized that he can't even go to school anymore; wonder if he is even well enough to go outside (may end up serving a much longer involuntary 'jail sentence' of his own, than the attacker).

This is an insanely lenient sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Our Judges need a "Refresher course".

Rubbish, suspending part of a sentence has nothing to do with any legislation. But rather the whim of an idiot judge.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 6,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sheep Shagger

Hope he gets a broom handle in prison.

Sick ****er, this is the reason the death penalty needs to come back. This guy is only going to cost the tax payer money with jail terms, he needs just needs to be killed to save everyone the hassle and grief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

That sentence is a joke, wonder how long he would get if it was the judges son - im sure he would blame the drugs then.

I couldnt read the full story, it was making me sick:mad:.

The judge didn't make that decision. he had expert medical and psychiatric reports (As another posted noted). That means that he had evidence which he examined. That's far more thought than you gave before jumping to conclusions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

Rubbish, suspending part of a sentence has nothing to do with any legislation. But rather the whim of an idiot judge.

you obviously have no basic grasp of how Irish criminal law works so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

On first reading I thought you were telling him that he obviously had no grasp of how criminal Irish law is. It makes more sense.

care the demonstrate that? Or is it that you can't.

remember, there were medical and psychiatric reports. they stated that he had a high chance of re-offending (which the judge noted) but I'd bet they also said that the drugs were the main cause. It's hard to tell from a short article which would find it impossible to detail every aspect. However considering the drug bit followed on from the mental health bit in the article, I think we can assume it.

That would mean that the guy could claim diminished responsibility for his actions. Which would mean that if the judge didn't knock a bit off, the guy probably would have had the sentence lessened on appeal.

Honestly, this is how I see it. The guys a paranoid schizophrenic. I would have given him a lesser prison sentence with a slightly longer over all sentence. the difference would have been served in a secure psychiatric hospital to insure he gets better. Prisons are hardly a place to get treated for a mental illness. Without the proper treatment he's probably going to be worse when he gets out.
    If we don't make sure it can't happen again, then we are failing both him, his victim and his potential future victims.

As for those calling for the death penalty, they should move to Texas. they have no trouble murdering those that are deemed vulnerable. Such as those with mental illnesses, low IQ's or even children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Did the legislation force the judge to suspend the last 3 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

What purpose would locking him up for life serve? Deter other mentally ill people? Because, surely, their own rational would then prevent them from committing such a crime, after hearing of this case.

Oh wait! It's just tool for society to seek revenge, that's right.

He should be treated as far as possible. If he's a threat to society and continues to be deemed so, then he should be kept out of society in humane conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

19543261 wrote: »
    What purpose would locking him up for life serve?
    What purpose do you think, it keeps him away from harming anyone else. He's going to be out in 3 or 4 years, he's tortured one person and what's to say he doesn't do the same to someone else.

Would you be happy if he moved in beside you? If not, who would you like him to move in beside?

I'm sick of the sentencing in this country. Judges hop into their Mercs and drive home to Foxrock, while the rest of us have to live alongside these guys. Elected judges is what we need.

hmmm wrote: »
    What purpose do you think, it keeps him away from harming anyone else. He's going to be out in 3 or 4 years, he's tortured one person and what's to say he doesn't do the same to someone else.

Would you be happy if he moved in beside you? If not, who would you like him to move in beside?

I'm sick of the sentencing in this country. Judges hop into their Mercs and drive home to Foxrock, while the rest of us have to live alongside these guys. Elected judges is what we need.

Or have a guy who's cured locked up forever?

Those aren't the only two options.

Grayson wrote: »

Those aren't the only two options.

Would you be happy enough to have him live beside you and your kids if he got the old "sane" stamp on his hand on his way out the door?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

What purpose would locking him up for life serve? Deter other mentally ill people? Because, surely, their own rational would then prevent them from committing such a crime, after hearing of this case.

Oh wait! It's just tool for society to seek revenge, that's right.

He should be treated as far as possible. If he's a threat to society and continues to be deemed so, then he should be kept out of society in humane conditions.

Eh.. That's the point. You literally answered your own question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Grand, then commit him to a mental institution and only let him out when he's cured.

Right now, he'll be out in 3 or 4 years, cured or not.

Grand, then commit him to a mental institution and only let him out when he's cured.

Right now, he'll be out in 3 or 4 years, cured or not.

Not cured, just not a threat. It's not possible to cure someone of something like that. But it's possible to get them to a stage where they can manage it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

P.Walnuts wrote: »
    Read about a while ago...

Apparently when the Guards came to arrest him at his house, he had been badly beaten up (this was after the kid got away) wonder how that happened :pac:

I wonder why they didn't finish the cnut.

An incredibly ironic post there. The length and severity of an individuals sentence will be decided upon by an individual trial judge. You just don't seem to understand, that legislation will do nothing to stop lenient and incompetent sentencing by some judges.

Sorry for not being clear. I actually did say he should be kept from society and treated. Putting someone in jail wont lower the propensity to re-offend.

SV wrote: »
    Eh.. That's the point. You literally answered your own question

How did I? Jail is not treatment.

Not cured, just not a threat. It's not possible to cure someone of something like that. But it's possible to get them to a stage where they can manage it.

So you'd be happy to take the chance with your own family living beside him?

Putting someone in jail wont lower the propensity to re-offend.

I reckon the chance of him reoffending while in jail is somewhere on the region of 1% with a 1% margin of error.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

6 years, that poor young lad was tortured in such a brutal way, how can 6 years be enough for that. Yes prison is for rehabilitation but it is also meant to be punishment. That boy is going to have to live with this for the rest of his life, how could do something like that to another living thing. What if when he gets out he does something similar to another person.

He should have been locked up for an indeterminate length is a psychiatric hospital and not been left out until they are as near to certain as possible that he won't reoffend. He clearly needs help that time in prison isn't going to get him but if they are going to lock him up then is shoukd have been for the longest time possible. We all have sob stories, everyone has difficulties but this isn't the X factor it's a court of law, if that's the case then anyone with a mental health issue and/or a drug problem and go whatever they like to whoever they like and get out in 4-5 years probably less with good behavior, after all a prison year is only 9 months or thereabouts, which is another load of ****e btw.