Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some people and their personal hygiene

• 08-11-2013 1:46am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭

So I was at the gym this evening, sitting down on one of the machines just about to do a set when some lad walks by me and this smell hits me in the face. It's a smell that could only be achieved by something decomposing, mixed with a sort of sock stew and a hint of poo. It was utterly vile. And here's this fella walking around in his tracksuit inflicting his rank noxious smells on the rest of the gym-goers oblivious to himself. Ten seconds later I saw a woman behind him in the queue for the water fountain turn on her heels and gawk. I know how she felt.

Then in the pub tonight I happen to be standing behind a youngish enough fella, looked to be a student. Then it hit me. Shit. It was shit. Not even fart, this lad smelt like he had shat himself. It was festering in his jocks and making its way into my nostrils. I slowly backed away and waited for another chance to order.

What the hell is wrong with some people? I won't leave the house unless I've had a shower. I have to have one in the morning, I will 99% of the time have another in the evening depending on whether I go for a run or go to the gym or do some kind of exercise. I'm conscious of smelling bad. I would hate if someone thought I had poor personal hygiene. Are these people unable to smell themselves? Why inflict it on others?

I won't even get started on the amount of lads I see in bathrooms coming out of the stalls and walking straight out the door without washing their hands. Vile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

But we are having water problems!

That many smells, ever think it is you?! Paranoid yet?

Smelly focker :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Says the poster who is using a filthy keyboard to type his post, and in the process, probably touched his face with the **** of mites and bacteria.

FearDark wrote: »
    I won't even get started on the amount of lads I see in bathrooms coming out of the stalls and walking straight out the door without washing their hands. Vile.

Saves you washing yours though, not much point in doing it when you see someone else walk straight out.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

When I was in 5th and 6th year we had a German exchange student in our class who refused to wash. Actually refused. It was horrible. You could smell her from a mile away. And she wasn't a small girl either which didn't help, especially after P.E. We used to all sit on the opposite side of the classroom from her to try get away from the smell. She wasn't a fan of the whole brushing her hair or her teeth (on which she had braces) either so yea...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

So I was at the gym this evening, sitting down on one of the machines just about to do a set when some lad walks by me and this smell hits me in the face. It's a smell that could only be achieved by something decomposing, mixed with a sort of sock stew and a hint of poo. It was utterly vile. And here's this fella walking around in his tracksuit inflicting his rank noxious smells on the rest of the gym-goers oblivious to himself. Ten seconds later I saw a woman behind him in the queue for the water fountain turn on her heels and gawk. I know how she felt.

Then in the pub tonight I happen to be standing behind a youngish enough fella, looked to be a student. Then it hit me. Shit. It was shit. Not even fart, this lad smelt like he had shat himself. It was festering in his jocks and making its way into my nostrils. I slowly backed away and waited for another chance to order.

What the hell is wrong with some people? I won't leave the house unless I've had a shower. I have to have one in the morning, I will 99% of the time have another in the evening depending on whether I go for a run or go to the gym or do some kind of exercise. I'm conscious of smelling bad. I would hate if someone thought I had poor personal hygiene. Are these people unable to smell themselves? Why inflict it on others?

Hmmm. So everywhere you were,you detected a smell? Was it your own socks?

And..in the pub after the gym? Doesn't that defeat the purpose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Chucken wrote: »

Stop mutilating his post. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

I was playing poker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Stop mutilating his post. :D

Nah :D
    I was playing poker.

Did you win?

Drinking after the gym is feckin class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,188 ✭✭✭dee_mc

One of the couriers who delivers to the place I work smells so bad on a Tuesday it makes me want to vom. Any other day of the week there is no noticeable smell, but for whatever reason Tuesday is a stinky day for him... I've had customers ask if we have a sewage problem in the few minutes after he's left the shop...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,898 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Wash hands after using the public bathroom. No !
    That's silly

So you walk into a bathroom, put your hands on the door handle , that same door handle you just know has the germs of 100's of men on, ,you then proceed to handle your self with these hands , the same hands that you just got contaminated with who knows what, you then wash your hands and leave by the same door LOL You're crazy

You wash your hands before you use the bathroom silly !!
    Then again after, then use some clean tissue to open handle of door when leaving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

Wash hands after using the public bathroom. No !
    That's silly

So you walk into a bathroom, put your hands on the door handle , that same door handle you just know has the germs of 100's of men on, ,you then proceed to handle your self with these hands , the same hands that you just got contaminated with who knows what, you then wash your hands and leave by the same door LOL You're crazy

You wash your hands before you use the bathroom silly !!
    Then again after, then use some clean tissue to open handle of door when leaving

I smell an OCD alert!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 645 ✭✭✭loveBBhate

When I was in 5th and 6th year we had a German exchange student in our class who refused to wash. Actually refused. It was horrible. You could smell her from a mile away. And she wasn't a small girl either which didn't help, especially after P.E. We used to all sit on the opposite side of the classroom from her to try get away from the smell. She wasn't a fan of the whole brushing her hair or her teeth (on which she had braces) either so yea...

Fcuking hipsters.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 645 ✭✭✭loveBBhate

This could have been OP's 30th gym session in a row with no pub sessions in between and on this night he was simply treating himself to a Smirnoff :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Untouchable Peasant

this smell hits me in the face. It's a smell that could only be achieved by something decomposing, mixed with a sort of sock stew and a hint of poo.

Then in the pub tonight I happen to be standing behind a youngish enough fella, looked to be a student. Then it hit me. Shit. It was shit.

Have you checked your shoes? Maybe you've stood in something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i work in a shop in in mayo
    there are customers that cause you to open the loading bay and the front door to get some air
    i worry that the next people think its us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

its the same **** every single time some boys need to grow up and not rely just on looks i hate that . its useless to think only because she pretty u could go out with her .. uhh SOME BOYS ARE JUST D!CK$ .thumbs up if you agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Does anyone else flush public toilets (work or pub) with their feet?
    Or open toilet door handles the same way?

Im a fcukin jacks ninja.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I giggled like a schoolboy reading the first post. Our new Flutterin' Bantam!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

My current crappy job has the added bonus of dealing with some of the smelliest feckers I've ever met. There is one man in particular that has such a strong odour it makes my eyes water every time he comes in. He is such a nice man and always chats away, but I swear I don't breathe in while talking to him. I really can't describe the smell but it's not the usual pissy or ****ty stink you get off smelly folks.