Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cows carrying pedigree embryos

• 07-11-2013 4:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭

Hower ye lads!
    Does anybody know of anyone who sells cow's already carrying ped ch embryos.
    R any info on the subject would be great
    Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 FYM

your best bet is to ring some of the embryo transfer companies and ask them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

FYM wrote: »
    your best bet is to ring some of the embryo transfer companies and ask them

I've e-mailed two separate crowd's but have got feck all back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    I've e-mailed two separate crowd's but have got feck all back.
    If you use an ai man he might be able to point you towards a few .
    Would it not be easier to buy the cow yourself and the get the embryo you like to put in her ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Try the ch breed society, they could point you in the right direction. Also I've seem powerful genetics advertise embroys but they may have been lims

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

is it not better to have a heifer carrying an embryo, we never put embryo's into cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

whelan1 wrote: »
    is it not better to have a heifer carrying an embryo, we never put embryo's into cows
    True, I'd say moy was suggesting to buy the cow/heifer and flush her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Was Rose Goulding not doing this a few years back?

I've plenty of good cows that I could use as recipients but ET can ne touch and go so id rather buy a heifer scanned in calf already carrying the Embryo. It's the best way to access excellent cow families without having to fork out a huge amount of mula. There was a fella in the journal afew months ago that did ot alright.

i dont understand why you are using cows as recipients, sure we all have good cows:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Did anyone else read the report about how the cow carrying the embryo has an effect on the calf, something about a transfer of some genetic material from the cow carrying the embryo to the embryo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

RobertKK wrote: »
    Did anyone else read the report about how the cow carrying the embryo has an effect on the calf, something about a transfer of some genetic material from the cow carrying the embryo to the embryo.

I did. I nearly fell off the chair when I read it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Digits

RobertKK wrote: »

Any link to that report?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Digits wrote: »
    Any link to that report?

Sorry no, it just came into my head that I had read it somewhere, most likely the farmers journal or the farming independent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

We use ET's here with mainly heifers but some cows as well. They carry all our own embryos so far although two embryos from another herd are about to be transferred to cows.
    I'd give you the names of the crowds we use but it may be of no use to you depending on where you are. Also it's not CH we use.

i dont understand why you are using cows as recipients, sure we all have good cows:o

Your point being?
    Don't bother throwing the maiden Heifer card please.

We use ET's here with mainly heifers but some cows as well. They carry all our own embryos so far although two embryos from another herd are about to be transferred to cows.
    I'd give you the names of the crowds we use but it may be of no use to you depending on where you are. Also it's not CH we use.

Im down south my friend! Do they cover that area?

Your point being?
    Don't bother throwing the maiden Heifer card please.
    my point being we where never advised to put embyroes in cows but each to their own

Completely depends on the cow according to my man.
    I have a few contenders.

And if you look at the OP youll see I was looking to buy a cow/heifer already carrying the Embryo.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Lord jasus !

exactly what i said, good luck with your embryo transfer

Hum,
    Sure twill b grand

last time we did et we got 8 eggs, 8 pregnancies and 8 bull calves, never did it again...price was crap for bulls that year:(

Ped somethings I take it?

angus