Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

its just a question a bout joining the guards pless anse

• 06-11-2013 12:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭

hi al i was just wondring dose any one now what kind of support they give for people how have dyslexia and dyspraxia how want to join the garda at the moment i am 17 in 5 year i was just wanting to find out so i whud now be for had tanke youes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Dyslexia: Not an issue.
    Dyspraxia: Talk to your doctor.

So you are 12?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

So you are 12?

I took from it that he is 17 and in 5th year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭kahmen

So you are 12?
    just to ask do you even now what
    Dyslexia and Dyspraxia is

and to in forme you im am 17 in irland in 5 year in a all irshe seceder scoil

I do, having suffered from Dyslexia all my life (back when nobody gave a ****, and you got a clout around the ear cos they thought you were just lazy). My Nephew also has it, but with a more progressive education system has conquered it completely.
    As for Dyspraxia, I say talk to your doctor because I do not know to what level it impacts on your motor or speech skills, he or she does, presumably as they have diagnosed you as such. They will also be able to tell you whether your level of dyspraxia is compatable with the Garda Medical entry requirements.

No need for the "hattitude". You asked for advice, I am offering it.

im just wodring man and i have sver dislexsay which afects my spelllng reading and all things realy also my dispracsay is manley on wrhithing and hand qye coradanse and it was speche as a chiled

You spelt Dyslexia right the first time. Dyslexia has nothing to do with spelling.

ok explan to how come my spelling is so bad then and just to say theres a thing called spell check on computers
    under my reportt form the department of education spelling is part of it as that is part of my dyslexia there is huderets of different kinds of dyslexia it is not just one typ and ever one fites in to that typ if they have dislyxseya

just a litel pickter that mit help you unnder stand
    https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=617948564895133&set=pb.146950148661646.-2207520000.1384447358.&type=3&src=https%3A%2F%2Fscontent-b-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net%2Fhphotos-ash3%2F1380184_617948564895133_1347596083

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭unattendedbag

There is no support given to applicants applying for an Garda siochana. It's a competition where each applicant has to prove their merits. From what you have mentioned it sounds like you would have trouble passing the verbal reasoning and report writing exercise on stage 2 as its a time pressured test.

Realistically though being a Garda requires a lot of paperwork from notebook entries to statements, files, books of evidence and interpreting law etc. Spellcheck can assist to a certain degree but is no substitute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭thekopend

The best way to find out If they are a disqualification is to contact garda head quarters. If they are not you will more than likely be shot down in aptitude or report writing anyway. Spelling and grammar is very important as a guard. Court cases can be struck out for spelling mistakes. Judging by the posts this will be a major problem for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭thekopend

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    Thank you Professor

I was'nt talking to you Cruz, stop insulting yourself with your unhelpful, idiotic and childish responses to legitimate posts. It must make you fell better about yourself.

tnake you alll for the anseres i will have to email the garda hq to get a mor defint anser

• Site Banned Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Raider190

thekopend wrote: »
    I wasent talking to you Cruz, stop insulting yourself with your unhelpful, idiotic and childish responses to legitimate posts. It must make you fell better about yourself.

Well said

A right little love in you have going with thekopend

His statement is correct your comments are devoid of any intelligence and your sole intention seems to provoke and aggravate posters on this forum. Why do you go troll somewhere else

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Raider190 wrote: »
    His statement is correct your comments are devoid of any intelligence and your sole intention seems to provoke and aggravate posters on this forum. Why do you go troll somewhere else

Pappa Charlie put you in your box

Well papa Charlie is gone why dont you do the same

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Well papa Charlie is gone why dont you do the same
    At the setting of the sun and in the morning we will remember him

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

'Santa Cruz' is it your intention to join the guards? I see your name pop up in every thread relating to gardai and I can't seem to figure out wether you wanna join or your just giving out advice for the sake of it?

jamesr123 wrote: »
    'Santa Cruz' is it your intention to join the guards? I see your name pop up in every thread relating to gardai and I can't seem to figure out wether you wanna join or your just giving out advice for the sake of it?

Fair question but I doubt you will get a truthful answer

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

Fair question but I doubt you will get a truthful answer

Well he seems to think he's a guard already:p.

jamesr123 wrote: »
    Well he seems to think he's a guard already:p.

There are a number of posters on this forum who give that impression and who will blatantly lie about what they are,

Girls, can we take the bitch fight somewhere else and help the OP with his question?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

OP pm'ed by myself with where to seek advice.