Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen Jacket, AH advice needed.

• 04-11-2013 7:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20

Howrya lads,

I was out on Friday night. I got chatting to this girl for a while, and things were going well. We went our separate ways early in the night but agreed to go for a drink and a dance later before the night ended.

Anyway close to closing time, I left my jacket down near me and turned to talk to a friend. I turned back two minutes later and my jacket was gone. Walked outside into smoking area and there was a lad wearing the jacket. I told him take it off, he was adamant it was his. He wasn't too drunk, and was fairly convincing. There was some wear and tear on the jacket that I thought was on my jacket, but ultimately I couldn't be sure. Particularly I remember the button on the right sleeve being loose and thinking ''that was definitely on mine''. The manager and bouncer came over and the kid gave out his college ID number, his mobile, his facebook page etc. His main argument was that if he nicked it he'd have ran off and not stayed and protested his innocence.

All whilst this was going on the girl from earlier was leaving, and was waving me to come with. However I couldn't leave the bouncer, manager and the kid and she was at a distance that I couldn't explain what was going on so it probably appeared to her that she called me and I didn't come along so she left.

Anyway, we couldn't do anything about the jacket. Manager said he could pull the cameras up on monday and would be able to see for definite who did it.

So I went home having lost the jacket and lost the girl.

Spoke to my brother the next day and he mentioned that my jacket had a loose button on the right sleeve without me ever mentioning it, thus confirming that it had to have been mine.

Popped into the bar this evening.

The manager told me the kid had came in at 3pm looking for his passport. the manager goes to him ''that jacket you were wearing on friday wasn't yours was it?''. and the kid said ''no it wasn't". The manager said ''you told me ten times that jacket was yours'', and the kid protested that he was drunk etc. Then the manager said ''and the second jacket you took as well, that wasn't yours either''. The kids faced dropped. Manager said ''drop the two jackets in by five o clock and do up a letter of apology for the two lads and then they can decide whether or not to get the guards involved''. (the manager didn't even need to check the cameras at this point, he just teased the admission out of the guy).

Ultimately I'm delighted to get my jacket back, sickened to have lost the girl. It was worth about 80€, the other jacket the kid took (maybe his mate whipped it) was worth 200 €.

One of my friends insists I should still report it to the guards and give the kid a scare. lowest denominator in society sort of thing. I was raging on Friday night but since mellowed over it. I'm not pushed either way, more so sickened to have lost the girl, although there is a good chance I could head to the same bar the next couple of Fridays and I would run into her again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Let me get this straight, you gave up the chance of the ride all because of a poxy jacket?

Bloody hell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭HomelessMidge

What advice do you need?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

What advice do you need?

how to sew a button on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

BNMC wrote: »
    Let me get this straight, you gave up the chance of the ride all because of a poxy jacket?

Bloody hell!

It wasn't just any old jacket. It had 'wear and tear' and a 'loose button'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

AH, HERE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

Report him to the guards OP
    If you don't report him he will continue to try rob other innocent peoples jackets
    So I think you should report him so see won't try do it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

What advice do you need?

Which blog website to sign up to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

Report the cúnt, he's obviously used to the aul stealing and you have evidence, might make him think twice again. Plus it cost you a jump with yer girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

Report him to the guards OP

And report her as a missing person while you're there. Problems solved!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

sickened to have lost the girl. It was worth about 80€

It sounds like an expensive one, my local mart sells girls for €60 and the buttons aren't loose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

could have been worse than a jacket thief, OP, you could have met the underpants ghost. Mind yourself out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

i know a few assholes who steal multiple jackets on a night out. Some to be "funny" and others to be asholes. Report him as he probably does it a lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Which blog website to sign up to.

And an agent for the movie rights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Immediate reaction was that the guy and the girl were working together.

She/he spots a mark, she distracts and he scoops the jacket with the hope of phones/wallets/ID and the like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Think of it this way op

This gal was keen for loving...stone made for the roide..peeled out for it..couldnt get enough mickey

And you let her go elsewhere for it just coz of a sh!tty farmers jacket

Bula bos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

MadsL wrote: »
    Immediate reaction was that the guy and the girl were working together.

She/he spots a mark, she distracts and he scoops the jacket with the hope of phones/wallets/ID and the like.

Think you watch too much tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Eire Go Brach

My Jacket got lifted Saturday. North face. I'm well pissed of.

I'd say zero Tolerence. Go all the way with him. He needs to be tought a valuable lesson. Specially if he stole the 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Since when are kids allowed to drink in bars?

Specialun wrote: »
    Think you watch too much tv

I think I'm a realist. Good looking gal wants to ride the OP, but is too impatient for the ride to hand around while he gets his jacket back.

It's a handy scam, drunk guy wants the ride more than his jacket if they get caught. Girl tries to get him to leave. Guy pretends he's drunk.

I bet you didn't get her number OP, nor her real name.

http://wikitravel.org/en/Common_scams#Theft

All whilst this was going on the girl from earlier was leaving, and was waving me to come with.

A co-incidence don't you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

MadsL wrote: »
    I think I'm a realist. Good looking gal wants to ride the OP, but is too impatient for the ride to hand around while he gets his jacket back.

It's a handy scam, drunk guy wants the ride more than his jacket if they get caught. Girl tries to get him to leave. Guy pretends he's drunk.

I bet you didn't get her number OP, nor her real name.

http://wikitravel.org/en/Common_scams#Theft

That's the first thing I thought of! Chances are, a lot of guys would follow the girl, leaving the kid in the jacket behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Jacket €80. Hooker €76.50.

You're up three fiddy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

You let a bloke walk away with your jacket?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

If you do find your w'an again, OP, you should keep the jacket on while riding her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Howrya lads,

I was out on Friday night. I got chatting to this girl for a while, and things were going well. We went our separate ways early in the night but agreed to go for a drink and a dance later before the night ended.

Anyway close to closing time, I left my jacket down near me and turned to talk to a friend. I turned back two minutes later and my jacket was gone. Walked outside into smoking area and there was a lad wearing the jacket. I told him take it off, he was adamant it was his. He wasn't too drunk, and was fairly convincing. There was some wear and tear on the jacket that I thought was on my jacket, but ultimately I couldn't be sure. Particularly I remember the button on the right sleeve being loose and thinking ''that was definitely on mine''. The manager and bouncer came over and the kid gave out his college ID number, his mobile, his facebook page etc. His main argument was that if he nicked it he'd have ran off and not stayed and protested his innocence.

All whilst this was going on the girl from earlier was leaving, and was waving me to come with. However I couldn't leave the bouncer, manager and the kid and she was at a distance that I couldn't explain what was going on so it probably appeared to her that she called me and I didn't come along so she left.

Anyway, we couldn't do anything about the jacket. Manager said he could pull the cameras up on monday and would be able to see for definite who did it.

So I went home having lost the jacket and lost the girl.

Spoke to my brother the next day and he mentioned that my jacket had a loose button on the right sleeve without me ever mentioning it, thus confirming that it had to have been mine.

Popped into the bar this evening.

The manager told me the kid had came in at 3pm looking for his passport. the manager goes to him ''that jacket you were wearing on friday wasn't yours was it?''. and the kid said ''no it wasn't". The manager said ''you told me ten times that jacket was yours'', and the kid protested that he was drunk etc. Then the manager said ''and the second jacket you took as well, that wasn't yours either''. The kids faced dropped. Manager said ''drop the two jackets in by five o clock and do up a letter of apology for the two lads and then they can decide whether or not to get the guards involved''. (the manager didn't even need to check the cameras at this point, he just teased the admission out of the guy).

Ultimately I'm delighted to get my jacket back, sickened to have lost the girl. It was worth about 80€, the other jacket the kid took (maybe his mate whipped it) was worth 200 €.

One of my friends insists I should still report it to the guards and give the kid a scare. lowest denominator in society sort of thing. I was raging on Friday night but since mellowed over it. I'm not pushed either way, more so sickened to have lost the girl, although there is a good chance I could head to the same bar the next couple of Fridays and I would run into her again.

Nice story, OP. I suppose the main question here is, should you come out straight away or wait to see if it's just a phase you're going through. I think we both know the answer here.

Hint: Xmas might be a good time to let the family know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

You haven't said if the girl was hot or not, detrimental to this story if not given, and impacts the quality of advice the experts of AH can provide.

On a scale of 1-10 is the preferred yard stick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Pass on the message that you'll let it go if he buys a pint. Meet up, drink pint and then kick his head in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Why don't you say your down a few quid as well? And you want that back or else you go to the Garda .

Shaft the ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 TheRingslayer

You haven't said if the girl was hot or not, detrimental to this story if not given, and impacts the quality of advice the experts of AH can provide.

On a scale of 1-10 is the preferred yard stick

she was pushing close to an eight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,583 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

This is why I always dress like a hobo. I don't get my jacket lifted and I don't have to worry about ladies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

kona wrote: »
    Why don't you say your down a few quid as well? And you want that back or else you go to the Garda .

Shaft the ****.

This is true, whatever the last amount you took out of the atm was in your coat at the time, and is now subsequently missing...either this goes to the guards or you cough up the money.

what's he gonna do, claim he's only a coat thief?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

kona wrote: »

Shaft the ****.

This lad cost you an 8 on the Richter scale, as in how hard her bed would have been shaking, he needs a good scare as well for being a right cùnt, no telling how many jackets he's stolen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

weemcd wrote: »
    This is true, whatever the last amount you took out of the atm was in your coat at the time, and is now subsequently missing...either this goes to the guards or you cough up the money.

what's he gonna do, claim he's only a coat thief?

This would make the OP also a thief. Not the thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

maybe the girl was his sister and he was just trying to stop the op from riding her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

He deserved a beating! Least ya could do is report him to the Gardai. Little shît bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

When you say she was an eight, do you mean she was an 8 at 2? You know, a 2 at 8 and an 8 at 2. ;)

You did have a few pints on you after all. :D

Be honest OP, when was the last time you had a chance with an 8. You were scammed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Untouchable Peasant

Even if someone took €80 cash from you, how would you imagine that you should waster more than five minutes on it when someone you wish to consume is about to leave. You're not really a ring slayer are you? Well, not any ring that counts anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I know it's a given but it's becoming really obvious how little people on here get laid that they'd give up 80 euro for a chance at it. Go get yerselves a prostitute ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭Degringola

OP why did he go into the bar next day for his passport or am I missing something. Did they confiscate it the night before or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 TheRingslayer

Degringola wrote: »
    OP why did he go into the bar next day for his passport or am I missing something. Did they confiscate it the night before or what?

he lost it on the night out and thought he might have left it in there. turns out somebody had handed it in. he didn't come across too drunk but he must have been.