Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are school days best days of your life

• 04-11-2013 7:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭

I'm in secondary schoo now. Every older person are constantly telling me these are the best days of your life. Now obviously I can't know whether this is true or not as I've never experienced anything else. I understand why people say this. We spend the day hanging around with our friends having the craic while also not having a worry in the world ( not doing lc this year ). I was wondering whether this statement is true in regard to your life.

were your school days the best of your life ? 26 votes

yes
    0%
    no
    100%
    KilOitbad2dabonecrosstownkGreen GiantJen Pigs Fly[-0-]RayMDanteScrambled eggrainbowdropthebull09Professional GrieferCaliforniaDreamwonderboysamanndubakuraWhatsernamex33PizzamanIRLEireGreginnocent_lover 26 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Nope not for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Not on your life! School was an absolute bore for me. Hated every minute of it. Got to University and they were the very best days of my life...until my daughter was born and every day since then has been the best day of my life :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Prodgey

College is better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Prodgey wrote: »
    College is better.

University even better than mere IT's and Colleges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Eoin247

If you're lucky enough to as you said ''not have a worry in the world'', then yes they probably are the best days. For me my LC days and beyond are better than my pre-LC days in general.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

A University is a college or a number of constituent colleges!
    Which Irish University do you think ranks above TCD? (Trinity College Dublin)
    Obviously you never made it to 3rd level!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Hell no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Weekends are way better!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭grimm2005

I'm a couple of years out of college and so far I would say definitely college, not school. so yeah, go to college, increased job opportunities and a massive amount of craic, it's win-win

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

College is better than school, but neither are the best days of your life.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

grimm2005 wrote: »
    I'm a couple of years out of college and so far I would say definitely college, not school. so yeah, go to college, increased job opportunities and a massive amount of craic, it's win-win

Not in Ireland anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Primary was great, Secondary was terrible, College was great, work is mehhh

I'd vote college overall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

I'd love to go back to school. Hated it at the time. Got in with wrong crowd and started smoking etc etc. But I just wanted to my own thing which was game and play sports. Now it's work bills etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Never went to college because I hated school so much I left when I was 15 so I can't speak for college.

But school, No they are not the best days of your life, Not by a long long shot.

Fucking shithole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

But you have to deal with people with opinions like this on a day to day basis. IT's are winning this one hands down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

The last two years of primary school for me were amazing! I had the Master and he was very old school. Believed in having us out gardening and looking after ducks while also teaching us basic algebra and the modh coinniollach.

Best well rounded education I ever received in school.

College was amazing as well! Join every society you can!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Are school days best days of your life

No, but my Uni years in London certainly were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

28 years old and working. I'm enjoy right now.

Primary - meh, Secondary - terrible, College - meh

Spent a lot of primary in fear due to the teachers smacking the crap out of us. Hated everything about Secondary school. Worked a lot during college, so between work, exams, lectures etc. it was very draining. The 6 weeks I spent unemployed whilst in college (in between jobs) was the best time of my life but more because I wasn't working.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 29 Cold Chocolate

I'm in secondary schoo now. Every older person are constantly telling me these are the best days of your life. Now obviously I can't know whether this is true or not as I've never experienced anything else. I understand why people say this. We spend the day hanging around with our friends having the craic while also not having a worry in the world ( not doing lc this year ). I was wondering whether this statement is true in regard to your life.

If you live a crap life then yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

I'm sure it's true for a small minority of people who manage to integrate well into places like prisons and/or can befriend nerd, jock and sociopath alike, but I think the poll confirms that most people find life a lot better once they leave school.

Third level is another story entirely- even for a social train wreck like me, university was a great experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Personally I hated school. I feel a lot better about college. Had an awesome 4 years in a great job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

Wompa1 wrote: »
    28 years old and working...
    ...Spent a lot of primary in fear due to the teachers smacking the crap out of us.

In Ireland? In the 90's? Where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Primary was great laugh
    Secondary was boring - good friends but incredibaly boring
    College was great craic but no money
    Working now and is great, have few bob to able go on weekends away and eat decently

I'd vote work - but mainly because i like my job which helps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Never went to college because I hated school so much I left when I was 15 so I can't speak for college.

But school, No they are not the best days of your life, Not by a long long shot.

Fucking shithole.

I really value you your opinion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Wompa1 wrote: »
    28 years old and working. I'm enjoy right now.

Primary - meh, Secondary - terrible, College - meh

Spent a lot of primary in fear due to the teachers smacking the crap out of us. Hated everything about Secondary school. Worked a lot during college, so between work, exams, lectures etc. it was very draining. The 6 weeks I spent unemployed whilst in college (in between jobs) was the best time of my life but more because I wasn't working.

You have been watching too many 1940s documentaries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭coffeelover

Primary - meh
    Secondary - terrible expect for LC year. Had such a great year.
    College - terrible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Loved school but college is far, far better! Less rules and more fun. Great craic altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭JenEffy

Nope. I hated school. Unless you have tons of friends, are good at studying and are a morning person, school is awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Primary- meh
    Secondary- meh
    College- meh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 496 ✭✭renraw

Having teachers throw dusters in your general direction! Nah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I'm in college now and its just as meh as primary and secondary. I hope this isn't the highlight of my life.. I'll only be 23 by the time im out... and i expect to live to at least 113 years old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭burrenguy

i'm in school now too.
    It's okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Jesus, no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭tosspot15

Absolutely hated primary and secondary school. Glad to see the back of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

no
    I really enjoyed the last two years of secondary school. All the idiots and troublemakers either left or were 'asked' to leave in fourth year, so there was a much nicer atmosphere. Everyone got along really well and because we had a reputation for being really well behaved, we could kind of get away with anything. It was great - being treated like adults, but with none of the responsibilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭certifiedcrepe

The people that I personally know that had a great time in secondary school was because they had their groups, all very "hope ur ok hun" type of people.

I hated school, but university so far has been a great experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Best day was the day I left the place.

The 13 years in school felt like a lifetime, the 21 years since I left seem to have gone a lot quicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭musicfan1ie

I enjoyed school, probably because I played a lot of sport. Also, school wasn't overly strict on homework, so it left me with a lot of free evenings. Obviously, I did some study, but not to the level of other schools. I couldn't believe some of the stuff I heard when I got to college.

But, uni was great. No stress, great life chilling out and learning some interesting new stuff. I loved it. But, then I always had a relaxed attitude about exams - as in I never saw them as life ending. I'd work hard and then, give the exam my best shot. If it worked out, then great. If not, I couldn't have done anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Primary - Had my good days and bad days, did hate PE and the way GAA was treated as a religion that you MUST DO! Bloody hurling with no helmets from 3rd to 5th class, pointless thing to play if you weren't playing on an extra curricular outside school team. Culchie dickhead of a teacher barking at us from the sideline, Don't know how many times I wanted to tell him to "F**k Off" yes as a 9 -11 year old that's what I thought. Also got the impression that the hurlers/sporty people got a way easier go of it and were favoured over the rest of the class. Got an easier punishment if they misbehaved in class. Going by what I remember I was the only one to notice it!

Secondary - Christ, what a kip! My folks put my name in for the CBS but apparently at the time (2002) you couldn't get in if your father or a brother didn't go there. My Dad didn't and I have no brothers so I ended up being stuck in a vocational school, the worst school in the town! It was more of a lunatic asylum than a school with the shyte that went on in there! On the day I left in 2007 I was glad to see the back of it. The teachers were sound but the disciplinary policy was non-existent, students just ran amuck and did what they wanted. It was a real eye opener going from what was a fairly strict primary school into that place let me tell you.

Whenever I talk to anyone about secondary school, mostly fellas I would talk to, they all seem to have had a really good, positive, fun time in secondary school. I'm actually jealous of them as I feel I was robbed of it as in my school you would really have to become a bloody nutter, thug, drug addict or general disrespectful arsehole that disrupts the class constantly in order to fit in, which I refused to do, so pretty much everybody made school life difficult during that time.

When I talk to most females though their account was quite bad, those convent schools are meant to be awful for bullying and whatnot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

I hated school. I was badly bullied in primary and in my first secondary school. Liked the second secondary school I was in, but at that stage I'd hated school so much it didn't really help. College has been a mixed bag so far, overall it's grand. But if these have been the best days of my life I'm going to have a crap life!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Your late teens and early twenties are the best days of your life. All the good stuff in life is new and you dont have the bad sh1t on your plate yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

no
    Not too sure if I'd call them the best of my life, but I do appreciate them more and more with the passing of time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

It's pretty good from the point of view of having no real responsibilities.

3rd level could be even better - no real responsibilites and a (small) bit of money to spend and loads of freedom.

I think early working days can be best. Work for a couple of years then take some time off to enjoy the world! That's if you can find a job!

Being responsible (earning a living, paying the rent, feeding your family) can be tough going - rewarding too as well of course. Enjoy the freedom while you can!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Sierra 117

My school days were the worst of my life. My life has been infinitely better since the moment I finished my final Leaving Cert exam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Utter bollix from my point of view. National school was way worse than second level.
    Had a weather beaten old crone of a teacher who still doled out corporal punishment and a little sh*te of a classmate who picked on me.