Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do GoSafe Vans have front mounted cameras/detectors

• 04-11-2013 3:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭

Passed a GoSafe van this morning on Limerick to Cork Road. It was a 100kph zone (Croom), and the van was on the opposite side of the road facing me.

I was doing approx 106-107kph about 100 yards from the van, and slowed down to just under 100kph as I passed. I normally keep to the limits but for some reason I went slightly over after I pulled off the M20. My understanding is the vans take a photo ONLY from the rear window, but is this also used as evidence of what speed you are doing (in which case I was under the limit) or is it possible they use sensors/camera from the front also (would have been over the limit)

Incidentally, the van was probably busy dealing with the 50 or so cars that went booting past on the opposite side of the road at well over 120kph. No one keeps to the limit on that road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭seanmacc

Some of the privatley operated "Go Safe" vans have front mounted cameras as well as the rear mounted ones but those ones are few and far between. I'm told that none of the Garda vans have front mounted cameras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Flaccus

Interesting.

I wonder does the rear mounted camera which takes the snapshot also detect your speed ?
    In which case I am ok as I was under the limit before I got level with the van.

Or another thought - can they detect your speed from the front of the van (not with a camera); and the rear camera just takes a snapshot when you pass anyway because you were over the limit on the approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

I have only ever seen rearward cameras in any speed van, go$afe or actual AGS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

Flaccus wrote: »
    Interesting.

I wonder does the rear mounted camera which takes the snapshot also detect your speed ?
    In which case I am ok as I was under the limit before I got level with the van.

Or another thought - can they detect your speed from the front of the van (not with a camera); and the rear camera just takes a snapshot when you pass anyway because you were over the limit on the approach.

They can detect your speed going in either direction! Feckers done me that way.

I got caught doing 63kmph in a 60 zone back in April. Thought I had reduced my speed in time when I passed the van. I was driving on left side of the road van was parked on right side. Got a picture of my reg on the arse of my car a few weeks later so the camera mounted in the back of the van snapped the picture as I passed it.

You might have got lucky if a car coming against you blocked the camera from picturing your reg plate. Either way you will know in the next 2-3 weeks.

A lady I know got done twice in 30 minutes by the same van at the same spot (Van did not switch sides of the road btw). It was night time and she did not see it on either her in bound nor out bound journey to Galway city from Oughterard. Think it was an 80km zone she was in at the time.

Thanks Fozzie Bear. So it sounds like if you pass them under the speed limit they can snap you from the back of the van, if you are over the limit approaching the front of the van.

Hopefully the 106kph on the speedo was in reality a little over a 100 and I will be ok. In any event I will know in a few weeks. I'm due to loose 4 pointsshortly, and can't really be doing with another 2 as I hear the insurance companies promote you into a new league if you are 6 points or higher. :(

Thanks Fozzie Bear. So it sounds like if you pass them under the speed limit they can snap you from the back of the van, if you are over the limit approaching the front of the van.

Hopefully the 106kph on the speedo was in reality a little over a 100 and I will be ok. In any event I will know in a few weeks. I'm due to loose 4 pointsshortly, and can't really be doing with another 2 as I hear the insurance companies promote you into a new league if you are 6 points or higher. :(

An indicated 106 is likely (depending on the car of course) to be around 100-102 or so, so I would imagine you are going to be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I was doing approx 106-107kph about 100 yards from the van, and slowed down to just under 100kph as I passed.

Assuming you were using your speedo to judge this I wouldn't worry - 106-107 km/h is probably around 98-99 km/h in "real" terms (can vary depending on tyre pressures/sizes etc) so you should be ok*

* Probably! :p

EDIT: Beaten to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Short Answer - no

Longer Answer - Camera faces out back window, but it can detect cars both coming towards it, and driving away from it. If your speedo was giving you slightly over a 100, theres a good chance you were maybe only doing the 100.

Try not to worry.

When I compare my Satnav to the speedo. Speedo - 80, Satnav - 77-78. Speedo - 100, Satnav - 96-97. Speedo 120, Satnav - 115.

I still go by the speedo to be sure though.

:) Thanks.

I was actually coming off the M20 ramp and doing perhaps 30kph (slowed down at yield sign). Seeing as my car goes to 100kph in under 7 seconds in ideal conditions; and I was already at 30kph when I got onto the main road; I think I was only over the limit for 2-3 seconds max. When I reached the front of the van I was below 100kph.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

The camera in front window is only to capture someone interfering with the van it doesnt have speed detection capabilities.

visual wrote: »
    The camera in front window is only to capture someone interfering with the van it doesnt have speed detection capabilities.

As I said, I have never seen one with a front facing speed camera.
    Fozzie Bear said earlier on thread that there was such a thing though.

Thanks lads. I'm happy enough I will be ok. Just the waiting game now.