Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Burnt motor out on Einhell table saw

• 03-11-2013 9:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭

Have a Parkside (aldi/lidl job) table saw that's basically an Einhell RT-TS 1825 U rebranded.
    It hadn't been used in a while, when I powered it on it'd trip a switch on the board. Figured it was probably brushes, there were a pair of spares that came with it so threw them in and she started away grand.

Was using it for about half an hour (easy stuff, ripping pine t&g board) when the motor went to half speed, then clouds of smoke and gone.

Any ideas what would have caused this? And is there any way to get it fixed?
    Are there motor rewinds places around anymore and if so - any idea on cost?

Mods, move if appropriate, dunno if this is the place to be asking?

r2at.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Einhell seem to do the motor for £68 in the uk. Not paying that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,414 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

Is there a starting capacitor external to the motor? Sounds like the centrifugal switch that takes care of the starting on the motor is faulty. The windings may well have been damaged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭cerastes

Do you have the receipt? Im serious,
    If you do, and its inside 3 years?? for Aldi, not sure about Lidl timeframe.

But I did have a battery powered screw driver, it quickly became knackered after much haggling with them, I got a replacement, its dead handy and I use it all the time.

I got an Einhall replacement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 brendantuffy

i think a small trip to the dump is in order

I think Aldi have some kind of table saw still in stock, I was in there today and saw a few, but I didnt look closely so Im not sure if its what the OP has.
    I'll have a look if Im down there in the next few days.

Outside the 3 years, or inside it without a receipt, it may well be worth scrapping or holding onto if it can be turned into something useful, It might make a suitable bench for something, maybe a drill or a tile cutter, if so, maybe I can add it to my hoard of scrap :)

and the OP can look in Aldi :) that could be cheaper than buying replacement part

Is there a starting capacitor external to the motor? Sounds like the centrifugal switch that takes care of the starting on the motor is faulty. The windings may well have been damaged.

If it had brushes, wouldn't that be a universal motor? so there wouldn't be a starting capacitor?

Smoke coming out of it lol :)
    Reminds me of a challenge drill someone gave me, when I put it under pressure smoke started emanating from it.
    I keep it to mix stuff, or if anyone asks me for the loan of a drill, I dont give out my good drill :D

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,350 Mod ✭✭✭✭fergal.b

Did you clean the commutator on the amateur before you changed the brushes, if the old ones were worn down they may have stuck to the commutator in places leaving scorched rough spots these can cause the new ones to wear out very quickly.

fergal.b wrote: »
    Did you clean the commutator on the amateur before you changed the brushes, if the old ones were worn down they may have stuck to the commutator in places leaving scorched rough spots these can cause the new ones to wear out very quickly.

Funny thing was the old brushes weren't actually worn all the way down. I had a look in through the holes and all seemed well before I swapped them out.
    I recon I bought it in early 2009 so nearly 5 years old.

I must have a look at the brushes again, but with the smoke I'd fear I'm wasting my time either way.

So nobody refurbishes motors anymore?

Just seen the same saw again, branded as SIP 01918
    http://www.donedeal.ie/tools-for-sale/sip-10-table-saw/4472406

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

Was there a very pungent smell when it was smoking? Usually it's one of the signs a motor is burnt out.
    Electrical Rewind Services in Limerick used to give a very good service. Presume they're still in business.
    Try the golden pages.

Oh it was definitely burnt out, know that smell well.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,350 Mod ✭✭✭✭fergal.b

It might be cheeper to get another motor than getting it rewired, I think the motor is a willkommen 220-240V 50HZ something like this http://www.ebay.at/itm/Wechselstrom-Motor-ME-15-63-2-Miele-T-Nr-1880307-NEU-OVP-220-240-V-50-60-Hz-/230947399317?pt=DE_Elektronik_Computer_Haushaltsger%C3%A4te_Staubsaugerbeutel_PM&hash=item35c589a695

Or here is the parts list http://www.einhelltools.co.uk/pdfs/store/16884.pdf You could give these a call and see if they have one. http://www.einhelltools.co.uk/cmspage.php?page_id=13

It might even be cheeper to dump the lot and buy a new table for £131.99 http://www.worldofpower.co.uk/einhell-rt-ts-1725u-table-saw-blade-240-volt-1700w.html Most of these power tools are considered disposal nowadays :eek:
    it would cost me more in copper wire and time to rewire one than you can buy the whole table for.

The last motor I did looked liked this

20130107_124510.jpg

But I think it was worth the effort to bring this baby back to life :)

20130128_184127.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

That's a quality job Fergal, fair play to ya.
    It's true that it's generally not feasible to rewind small motors anymore, but a rewind electrician should explain that
    and quote beforehand.

Might have to do a Frankenstein job on it. It'd kill me to throw it out as its been so handy until now.

Fergal, that motor you posted looks completely different.

Looks like this

434064601907.png

That other pic is one of an induction motor

The motor in the photo is from an old INCA combi tool but the motor was made in Ireland. The one on the ebay link would be the same sort of power output as yours. Parkside might have sourced their own motor to lower the price. If you are going to strip it down look at the bearings to see if they are sized up or anything that might have put a strain on the motor to cause it to burn out, these motors are pretty bullet proof so if they do burn out there is usually a reason for it like too much strain put on them.The main thing that burns are the brushes sticking or the coating on the wire coil.

20130109_111250.jpg

Just to be clear, once you get the smoke its fecked, right?

Not necessarily it could be any number of things like a single wire going to the motor, sticking brushes, bearings overheating, build up of sawdust, faulty switch and so on, if you find it is the coil of wire on the motor that has burnt then I'd say it was fecked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Mrmozer

I had the same problem. It was used 1/2 and smoked. Died.
    I brought it back to them and they replaced it without any problem.
    There's a 2/3 year warranty with this.
    2 years for definite.
    Tip::::
    When buying from aldi or Lidl
    KEEP YOUR RECEIPT.
    They exchange or refund without problem not like the grilling other places give.