Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How does everyone lift their cows?

• 02-11-2013 1:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭

How does everyone lift there cows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

td5man wrote: »

Have a proper harness thingy here. Does the job, but waste of money in my view (was my dad who got it ha), once a cow is at the stage that she needs a harness to getup, she is unlikely to recover, better off calling the knacker and saving yourself the hassle. Any of the cows we have lifted with it have all still ended up going to the knackery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

have the hip lifter, but its padded , its a great job. Main thing is to make sure their kness dont get grazed or cut that is the final nail in the coffin..IT's a one man/woman operation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Timmaay wrote: »
    Have a proper harness thingy here. Does the job, but waste of money in my view (was my dad who got it ha), once a cow is at the stage that she needs a harness to getup, she is unlikely to recover, better off calling the knacker and saving yourself the hassle. Any of the cows we have lifted with it have all still ended up going to the knackery.

We lost 2 downer cows in fairly short order 18 months ago and had another one down when I found a 4th unable to get up. In desperation I googled it and the consenus amongst the researchers was that they don't know what causes most of it. The other thing they were also fairly unanimous on was that the only way to save them is time and plenty of it as soon as they are found down. Basically the best cure for a downer cow is a farm relief milker. We saved the fourth one and the only difference between her and the rest is the amount of time we put into lifting her and exercising her at the start. Nerve damage happens as a consequence of them being down rather being a cause of them being down at the outset. Keep them rolled and lifted and be prepared to spend the day at it. With heifers trading @ €1300 min how many ways could you spend the day that would earn you more? Plenty of fluids, I keep meaning to invest in one of bobs drenching pumps and I know I'm going to be kicking my own ass one of these days because I didn't get it.

did you ever realise how much they eat when you are carrying it to them

freedom, if I read that correctly you paid the frs milker to do the lifting and exercising? Point taken that if you do manage to save her its well worth it instead of a heifer at 1300, but it usually happens around calving season, and your under enough timepressure then anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

whelan1 wrote: »
    did you ever realise how much they eat when you are carrying it to them

The problems start when they stop eating. TBH any cow I ended getting fed up drawing feed to died as in if they're down that long they don't make it. The research I read seemed to indicate that the nerve damage gets worse as time passes and the cow is still down. Rest is no good they need to be lifted asap. We saved another one last Autumn in like Flynn ASAP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Timmaay wrote: »

Is that the full sheet type, I thought they would be a good job.
    Was wondering if the harness would be better than the hip clamps. :(
    have the hip lifter, but its padded , its a great job. Main thing is to make sure their kness dont get grazed or cut that is the final nail in the coffin..IT's a one man/woman operation

Did the hip clamp you have come with the padding on it?
    Ifind that you need something to lift the front at the same time.
    Was wondering if the sheet type would be better as it could be used to lift the cow out to the field.

The problems start when they stop eating. TBH any cow I ended getting fed up drawing feed to died as in if they're down that long they don't make it. The research I read seemed to indicate that the nerve damage gets worse as time passes and the cow is still down. Rest is no good they need to be lifted asap. We saved another one last Autumn in like Flynn ASAP.
    yes we lift them asap too, but then you hear the odd story- probably bs- of cows that where down for a month and got up ... a week is long enough to be working with them, its very hard on your back rolling them etc

Did the hip clamp you have come with the padding on it?
    Ifind that you need something to lift the front at the same time.
    Was wondering if the sheet type would be better as it could be used to lift the cow out to the field.
    yup , we got it in slane farm services about 5 years ago was around 200 euro, we lift them with the digger , depending where they are with the back arm or the front, lift them as high as you can...make sure it is on tight, lad i had working here didnt tighten it properly and dropped the cow, needless to say she was worse then:mad:

yup , we got it in slane farm services about 5 years ago was around 200 euro,

Any chance of a pic of it?

will do my best, comes with a handle for tightening it http://images.getprice.com.au/uploadimg/1973/250_201613.jpg very similar to this... had one years ago that wasnt padded and it wrecked the cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

hiab:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Some people would get rid, and just say that the animals that don't go down or cause problems are the ones to be breeding the next generation from.

mf240 wrote: »
    Some people would get rid, and just say that the animals that don't go down or cause problems are the ones to be breeding the next generation from.
    most of them dont recover to breed anyways

Yeh full sheet job. Probably lifts the cows better, but you have to roll the cow over her back onto it (takes two men), and then if you don't have it perfectly aligned over her, she can slip out of it. And it cost well more than 200quid :rolleyes:

Have a neighbour like that, id like to give them a chance but the majority of them don't make it. :(

That's the other thing if you do get them up they will be dry and you will have to mind them to get them fit for the factory.

But when it comes down to it I'm not ruthless enough and will usually stay trying to get them going, but in the back of my mind I know the smart thing would be to have them collected once they go down.

That's the other thing if you do get them up they will be dry and you will have to mind them to get them fit for the factory.

But when it comes down to it I'm not ruthless enough and will usually stay trying to get them going, but in the back of my mind I know the smart thing would be to have them collected once they go down.
    ye, you know after a day or two what the chances are but we all hope for a miracle , normally a good cow too

normally a good cow too

i have yet to loose a bad animal

Agreed, if a cow is down for say a week she will have stopped milking (or else worse again get mastitis), and have lost a shed load of BCS, best you can hope for is to fatten her back up into some shape to sell on.

well actually a few years ago the biggest bitch of a cow i had fell over the bridge of the river and broke her hip:eek:

Maybe she jumped off on purpose, the samaratans must have been engaged.

Had a heifer turn very awkward and go down in the yard on us last year, we got her somewhat mobile again and walking, but she would never put weight on the bad leg, all the muscle wasted away, my dad fed her away, eventually flogged her onto a dealer for 150quid, she had probably ate that in nuts over the time she hung around here, then vet fees etc. Actually I've gone very slow on calling out a vet to fallen animals here also, which my dad isnt happy about, but the vet usually never does anything other than say they were crocked and gave a shot of painkiller/etc, which I can do myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Hiab into knackers lorry, td I have a padded hip lifter here, instrument of torture IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Don't. When she's ready, if ever, she'll get up.

I visited someone recently in hospital who couldn't stand. I didn't see the medics trying to lift them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭quader

saw this a few weeks ago taught it a very good idea http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oy4M1RY8N8U hope to make one over the winter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Bactidiaryl

Have to agree on the vet thing a waste of time when their down. When I have one down the first thing that needs to be done is off the concrete straight away and on to a straw bed field or somewhere with plenty of grip and maybe shelter depending on time of year. Leave then for a day or so and give plenty of fluids and energy food ( good silage or grass and ration). When I then go to lift them again with lifter ( its the hip one I have) I make sure to have a person at the front with a snozzle so they don't pull away from the lifter when pressure is being released from loader. The first three days is the most important and survival rates are diminishing after that. We give them a week before losing heart. I can't say that I've ever had much success with anti inflammatorys so now we just stick with pen strep if there's an infection a mineral dose and usually calcium and whatever goodies are lying around. I think if cows are in good condition to start with they are less likely to go down I find. But who am I to take advice from anyhow. When I pass the knacker man on the road he gives me a big wave and flashes his lights. That says it all I guess.

delaval wrote: »
    Hiab into knackers lorry, td I have a padded hip lifter here, instrument of torture IMO

If you are on your own and cow has to be moved how do you suggest it's done?

That belly band in quader video could be a useful addition the hip clamp is very hard on the cow if you have no help.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

On my own here and I absolutely hate downer cows. now it's 24 hours then BANG, no more feeling guilty about the bitch suffering when I'm flat out in the month of March.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Massey10

delaval wrote: »
    Lifting them out of a concrete yard with one has to be better than seeing them slipping around trying to stand .If your on your own its the best way to move them .I also use a sling just behind the front legs .

Massey10 wrote: »
    Lifting them out of a concrete yard with one has to be better than seeing them slipping around trying to stand .If your on your own its the best way to move them .I also use a sling just behind the front legs .

I dont like the sling behind the legs i think it squeezes the heart, even though i do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

I got a skip bag a few years ago, cut down 2 sides to make it in to a cradle. I put a sling under her front shoulder and lift it slightly off the ground. Then I can slide the bag under her belly and use that to lift her.

yellow50HX wrote: »
    I got a skip bag a few years ago, cut down 2 sides to make it in to a cradle. I put a sling under her front shoulder and lift it slightly off the ground. Then I can slide the bag under her belly and use that to lift her.

there is someone with the mind engaged, im robbing that idea if I have to move animal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Massey10

I dont like the sling behind the legs i think it squeezes the heart, even though i do that.
    Have never seen one get a heart atack when getting a lift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

there is someone with the mind engaged, im robbing that idea if I have to move animal

Work away bob, I don't think I can patent it.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Often do with a sling or a rope to move out of where they are, just one loop behind the front legs and one in front of the back legs and up she goes.dont think the vets are cost effective nowadays for them but lifting or messing with fr nowadays is a complete waste of time.l

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

yellow50HX wrote: »

Done the same ourselves here last year with sucess. You need to do it immediately before they hurt the knees or loose courage. Circulation is key.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Massey10 wrote: »
    Have never seen one get a heart atack when getting a lift.
    No but did see a freshly calved downer having a prolapse:(

While we are on the subject what do you think of this?
    http://www.producer.com/2013/07/pilot-project-shows-dead-stock-composting-safe/http://www.producer.com/2013/07/pilot-project-shows-dead-stock-composting-safe/

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

We roll into a loader bucket and out to the field. The one tonne bag is a great idea if your on your own

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

have a hip life yoke but also had 2 big fert bags stitched together, and on my own lift at hips then jump down pull under cow bags let her down, put loops of fert bags over sprongs and lift again then take off hip yoke ,saved a few this way until i gave it to some one and say no more.