Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, kids in my area emptied their halloween bags to find politcal party cards.

• 02-11-2013 2:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

Doesn't matter which party.

I think this is an utterly wrong practice on so many levels!

It reminded me of the uproar around Operation Christmas Child's Shoebox Appeal when they were found to be putting Christian pamphlets in it.

But I'd love to know what kind of twisted individual thought this was a good idea? If I was the parent I would personally go to their house the next day and hand everything back, and I'd have a thing or two to say to them!

bet they handed out apples and nuts too :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Beggars can't be choosers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭BQQ

]

Which party?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Anyone receive Christmas disabled artists cards and never pay for them, well neither did my family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

They should be happy they got something.
    Back in my day if a child had the audacity to arrive on a Fine Gael doorstep unannounced, demanding tribute, they would meet the end of a brute fist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

What party?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

ColeTrain wrote: »
    They should be happy they got something.
    Back in my day if a child had the audacity to arrive on a Fine Gael doorstep unannounced, demanding tribute, they would meet the end of a brute fist.

I DEMAND TRIBUTE.

It really doesn't matter which one! It's wrong for people to be putting across their political agendas by handing them to children stapled to sweets.

What if they gave children business cards for a "Call 1800-69-69-69 for flirty fun.... and maybe more" service?

It's repulsive! Don't open your door at all if you're only going to use Halloween to support your political party by immoral means.

• Site Banned Posts: 257 ✭✭Driveby Dogboy

grand for roaches tho'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Anyone receive Christmas disabled artists cards and never pay for them, well neither did my family.

They're always drawn so poorly and then they expect payment! Not a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭BQQ

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    What party?

Nice post.
    Wish I'd thought of it. :p:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

Vote Halloween Party no. 1

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

I think this is an utterly wrong practice on so many levels!

It reminded me of the uproar around Operation Christmas Child's Shoebox Appeal when they were found to be putting Christian pamphlets in it.

But I'd love to know what kind of twisted individual thought this was a good idea? If I was the parent I would personally go to their house the next day and hand everything back, and I'd have a thing or two to say to them!

bet they handed out apples and nuts too :mad:
    So on behalf of the children you don't have, from the area you're sort of proximate, you might hypothetically seek some passive aggressive retribution on the basis of some perceived political sleight?

Is clutching at straws a traditional Halloween game in your house? Or Third Party Bobbing for Offensive Apples?

I DEMAND TRIBUTE.

It really doesn't matter which one! It's wrong for people to be putting across their political agendas by handing them to children stapled to sweets.

What if they gave children business cards for a "Call 1800-69-69-69 for flirty fun.... and maybe more" service?

It's repulsive! Don't open your door at all if you're only going to use Halloween to support your political party by immoral means.

I wouldn't get too worked up about it. Some political fanatic wants to brainwash your child into something their father believed in. What harm can they do and sure the kids are happy out with the sweets too.

ColeTrain wrote: »
    I wouldn't get too worked up about it. Some political fanatic wants to brainwash your child into something their father believed in. What harm can they do and sure the kids are happy out with the sweets too.

I don't even have children, so I'm not overly worked up, but the bit in bold is a bit worrying. In those words you've broken the act down into what it fundamentally is... and I think it's both strange and worrying. :confused:

I really hope someone said something to him at least!

I don't even have children, so I'm not overly worked up, but the bit in bold is a bit worrying. In those words you've broken the act down into what it fundamentally is... and I think it's both strange and worrying. :confused:

I really hope someone said something to him at least!

Ah sure it's been going on for centuries and sure what harm did a little indoctrination ever cause? Certainly none come to mind. The kids got the sweets though, I can certainly see one positive in your story!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Young people, all of us, are continuously subject to indoctrination. It's very difficult, and a work in progress, to shake all that shit out out of your head.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Wow.... I wanted a Snickers bar instead I got a Fianna Fail card!
    Lol what're people thinking

Wow.... I wanted a Snickers bar instead I got a Fianna Fail card!
    Lol what're people thinking

I think he stapled them to packets of crisps... :rolleyes:

Probably those rotten Aldi onion rings* :mad:

*Disclaimer: Aldi crips are lovely, but their onion rings are beyond minging!

Completely agree.... They've this horrible crunch... And the smell! Oh it's sick.

They're so bad I nearly started a thread on it the other night... Went to put my hand in the multipack bag, and all that were left were the onion rings!! :(:(:(

Ye may start one! I'd post a rant to end all on it about those horrible things...
    Sometimes they're overcoated in the seasoning.... Euck!
    They're manky...
    Up at 3am talking to a random person over the internet about some cheapo Aldi products! Who said the internet wuzzen' beneficial? :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 645 ✭✭✭loveBBhate

BQQ wrote: »
    Which party?

Halloween Party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Can we have a sweep on which party. I bags Shinners!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Was about to say that it must be shinners

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

MadsL wrote: »

:D If the sweets were ammo drops or Semtex chewy toffiees with some explosive caramel nuggets,well then maybe it was them, on the other hand

I would rather think its labour with a mixed bag of broken promised chocolates or it could be FIanna Fail with lovely iced crumble and glanced butterscotch sweets,lovely looking on the out side but rotten to the core and last could it not be FG with Enda the good trying to sell some sticky apples and hoping some child bites...:):P

Anyway come on OP, it's Saturday and we need to slag some political party of.

Name the party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Same difference really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Kid finds ‘Passion Parties’ business card in Halloween bag http://casscounty.fox4kc.com/news/news/352943-trick-kid-finds-passion-parties-business-card-halloween-bag

could be worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

This statement is incorrect!
    Aldi onion rings are the shizzle!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Surely the name of the party is very relevant? Otherwise we're complaining about the idea in general? If this is the political tactics of one particular party, surely it's relevant to know who's responsible for this? If I was treated badly by a company, it'd hardly be worth my while if I complained about it but didn't name the company to warn other people of their wrong doing?

NAME THE BLEEDIN' PARTYYYY!

The shoebox people are still doing pamphlets afaik

Surely the name of the party is very relevant? Otherwise we're complaining about the idea in general? If this is the political tactics of one particular party, surely it's relevant to know who's responsible for this? If I was treated badly by a company, it'd hardly be worth my while if I complained about it but didn't name the company to warn other people of their wrong doing?

NAME THE BLEEDIN' PARTYYYY!

Yous can all thank LegsEleven for their convincing argument :P

IT WAS THE FOOKIN' LABOUR BASTARDS :mad::mad::mad:

rabble rabble!

MadsL wrote: »
    Yous can all thank LegsEleven for their convincing argument :P

IT WAS THE FOOKIN' LABOUR BASTARDS :mad::mad::mad:

rabble rabble!

:D:P:D

realies wrote: »
    :D:P:D

Ignoramuses :rolleyes:

Just remember guys, when you "assume" you make an "ass" of "u" and "me". :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

was it for local election candidate?