Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any colour as long as it's not silver (new car request)

• 01-11-2013 11:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭

I'm looking at shedding the silver skin I've been surrounded by for the past 7 years and upgrading to a 2008-2010. I had a silver 98 1.8 petrol Mondeo for four years and I'm driving a silver 1.6 petrol Primera the past three.

To say I've had enough of silver is an understatement. Some decisions you have to make with your heart and I think even if a great deal in that colour came along I'd have to pass.

I'm wondering if anyone would have suggestions in a similar size non silver car?

I've averaged 21,000km per year since 2009 so thinking of the devils juice instead of petrol this time. If it makes sense that is.

That's comprised of a mix of motorway, N roads and shocking local mountain 'roads'. The slight majority being the N and worse roads.

I find the Primera a bit on the under powered side compared to the older Mondeo and I have to admit to mainly searching for those as a replacement.
    I'm open to any make/model and I'm hoping the collective wisdom can point me in the right direction.

Short time lurker on the motor forum by the way (don't use boards much these days) first time poster. Highly informative place thus far.

Any replies much appreciated!
    Cheers,
    R.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

If you're on the back or 'mountain' roads, do NOT under any circumstances get a black car. It will break your heart trying to keep it clean. You clean it today, and tomorrow its back to square one. Black shows up EVERYTHING. It has my head wrecked :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

I'd love to help, however I chose brown as my car colour.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

What's your budget?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,312 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Personally, I like this colour. The colour, not the car, mind! :)

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

Cheers for the replies so far.

Forgot to mention the budget is 15-18k, including the grand I might get for the car I have now.

Kind of had my heart set on black, but current front runner based on other criteria is this car here.

http://m.carzone.ie/used-cars/Ford-Mondeo-TITANIUM-2.0-TDCI-140PS/37713800354471210

I should also mention that I'd prefer to buy from a dealer.

Esel, we're agreed on the car, but not the colour :)
    Cheers once more!
    R.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,632 ✭✭✭✭vectra

White.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dh0011

I would steer clear of red. Tends to look crap as a car gets older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭dylbert

I think some dark metallic blue are nice, I've had two blue cars, they look nearly as good a black when polished but easier to keep clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

Scuba blue on the the VAG line up of cars is the nicest in my eyes at least. http://wfiles.brothersoft.com/2/2012-audi-tt-rs-blue_86497-1440x900.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭wersal gummage

Newer era Subaru legacy within budget?

dh0011 wrote: »
    I would steer clear of red. Tends to look crap as a car gets older.

Only if it's not looked after properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,411 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The best colour is relevant to the make and model of car being bought. White/black, etc can look lovely in some models but terrible in others. OP really needs to narrow down the model first and then explore the most favourable non silver colour available in it.

Another thing is how often does the OP clean the car? Imo if you are a person who only cleans a car occasionally when you can no longer see out the windows then buying a car in colours like white, black, red, etc. is a waste of time. These colours require higher maintenance than your blandish type colours like silver which look nearly the same whether it is clean or dirty. In other words no point in buying black or white if you drive bog roads and only clean your car twice a year.

Cheers all,

Mondeo is leading the pack at the moment, but as ever I'm open to suggestions.
    Are the Subarus a reliable economical alternative?

Wholly agree with you Bazz, colour can make or break a car. Also guilty as charged when it comes to cleaning them.
    Then again if I had a decent car I'd be that bit more motivated to keep it tidy (as I was when the ones I had before were newer).
    Its hard to motivate yourself when a few hours effort still sees you looking at a cleaner ten year old car that you stopped appreciating a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,044 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I quite like alsace granite as a colour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,411 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Probably not the most daring colour but I liked the Sparkling Graphite in my old 3 Series. It really looked well after a good polish:

BMW318d011a_zpsfcea78f5.jpg

Oooh, that 3 series looks good in that colour.

As for Alsace granite, is it not a bit light, heading toward silver?

I personally like this colour in a mondeo (after black and navy) although it is just really a variation of silver

Full-24346039.jpeg

TBH the only colour thats going to look really well on a mondeo is either black or navy, especially in the titanium. Them colours really compliment the silver strip under the side windows and the silver front grill. Makes the spec more noticeable and classy imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

Esel wrote: »
    Personally, I like this colour. The colour, not the car, mind! :)

yuck on car and yuck on colour

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I like bronze/beige/brown colours at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

British racing green

That's a personal favourite alright Biko, but in fairness it's normally only seen in top end cars. I might have to hit the bank up a bit harder.

BRG looks cack on repmobiles, only looks good on sports cars.

Greyish greens look good, pastel shades seem to be back in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,044 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Roen wrote: »
    Oooh, that 3 series looks good in that colour.

As for Alsace granite, is it not a bit light, heading toward silver?

It's pretty much the same as the 3 series, Toyotas version, here it is in the flesh...

Toyota-Yaris-Hatchback-1.8-VVT-i-SR-3dr-in-Alsace-Granite-Metallic.jpg

It's pretty much the same as the 3 series, Toyotas version, here it is in the flesh../

Aha, I was thinking of the granite found in the Alsace region. That's quite a few shades lighter. Better friction though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bmstuff

I don't think silver is really the issue, I think it is more down to your choice of cars.

Both those cars are silver, one is just too boring to look at, it could be blue/red whatever, it would still be boring to look at and drive...

f_345645752-796398485.jpeg

Audi_S4.jpg

bmstuff wrote: »
    I don't think silver is really the issue, I think it is more down to your choice of cars.

Both those cars are silver, one is just too boring to look at, it could be blue/red whatever, it would still be boring to look at and drive...

f_345645752-796398485.jpeg

Audi_S4.jpg

Probably a TDI too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

How about a silver car with black bonnet, roof & boot wrapped in black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭quietsailor

That's a personal favourite alright Biko, but in fairness it's normally only seen in top end cars. I might have to hit the bank up a bit harder.

My 05 focus came in a colour that is British racing green but they called it something else.it's a really nice colour but scratches easily show up on it

Thanks lads, and apologies for not getting back to ye sooner. Was away from connectivity for a bit.

Surprised to here about the focus, then again it's a long time since I was 'in the loop' car wise.

From reading this and the other threads currently running I'm getting fair idea of the possiblities out there. Fiunding it hard to shift away from my initial Mondeo thoughts though.

Silver is still out, unless someone gives me the car and I can afford to spray it (even for that Audi!).

Thanks once more!

A good Haggling could see you in this
    Perfect for long trips
    Diesel
    Economical
    Plenty of power when needed.
    only 58k kms

And above all

Very easy to spot on back roads.

Has some extras as well.
    ie.
    Full leather etc.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Skoda/Octavia/RS-2.0-T/201327215834937/advert?channel=CARS

no-image-large.gif&width=400&height=300

Cheers Vectra,

It's a lovely car, but after driving a couple of Octavias I've ruled them out, mind you I haven't driven the VRS variant. Is here a huge difference in spec and feel between that model and the more run of the mill ones?
    Wouldn't be mad on white either, apologies for not mentioning that in the OP.

R.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

The wheels are as important as the colour to the look of a car.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volvo/S40/1.6-SE-L/36313742404898100/advert?channel=CARS

You did say you're still open to petrol (tax €570)

ttp://www.carzone.ie/search/Mercedes-Benz/C-Class/C180-K-A/36613805323590810/advert?channel=CARS

Or if you liked the Mondeo

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Jaguar/X-Type/2.2D-SPO/201336218140706/advert?channel=CARS

Cheers Vectra,

It's a lovely car, but after driving a couple of Octavias I've ruled them out, mind you I haven't driven the VRS variant. Is here a huge difference in spec and feel between that model and the more run of the mill ones?
    Wouldn't be mad on white either, apologies for not mentioning that in the OP.

R.

Do not rule one out until you test drive one.
    I have driven several standard and elegance models since buying my first vrs.

Never in a moment of madness would I consider buying any octavia other than a vRS.
    No comparison.

The reason I suggested white is that it would stand out on back roads, making it a bit safer for yourself.

Simple to clean as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

vectra wrote: »

The reason I suggested white is that it would stand out on back roads, making it a bit safer for yourself.

Simple to clean as well.

It is interesting how one can find a good reason to buy while trying to stay neutral and having unbiased opinion:D You should be a salesman, Vectra.

In all fairness this is ridicolously good looking Octavia. Never drove VRS one, but am pretty sure it is totally different car. And wouldn't mind driving one. The only question is: Even if white is very easy to be cleaned, doesn't it have to be cleaned like every day? Might be stupid question, but never had a white car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

bright orange :)

Flashback over drive. The first car I drove around in was the exact same as this (minus the white stripes). I had completely forgotten that I ever drove one of these! Could be the reason I'm sensitive about colour.

Nissan___Micra_Orange.JPG

Cheers on the VRS advice. It's on the list!

On the VRS side of things. Am I right to be suspicious of a car that goes up for sale shortly after being serviced?
    I see a fair few of them up for sale on the car giant site.

From a nice guy point of view the owner services car to increase sales value, from a suspicious point of view, the mechanics spotted something at the service that will need work, so the car is offloaded once it's been run as far as it can.

http://www.cargiant.co.uk/Skoda/Octavia/details-614743-Skoda-Octavia.asp?viewtype=0

I've read up on the mammoth import thread by the way.

wonski wrote: »
    It is interesting how one can find a good reason to buy while trying to stay neutral and having unbiased opinion:D You should be a salesman, Vectra.

In all fairness this is ridicolously good looking Octavia. Never drove VRS one, but am pretty sure it is totally different car. And wouldn't mind driving one. The only question is: Even if white is very easy to be cleaned, doesn't it have to be cleaned like every day? Might be stupid question, but never had a white car.

Don't know all about that now..
    The name "Arthur Daly" springs to mind :D
    On the side of white being cleaned.
    I had my one from Oct 2010 and drove approx 150kms daily for 5 days a week,
    Only when we had the snowy weather and the roads were filthy slush did the car get very dirty. I would wash it twice weekly. But then again I am a bit OCD with my cars so twice weekly for my might be once a fortnight for another driver.

At the end of the day. Drive 10 cars al different colors along the same roads doing the same mileage and at the end of the week they will all be as dirty as each other. I just personally find the white the easiest to clean.

Cheers on the VRS advice. It's on the list!

On the VRS side of things. Am I right to be suspicious of a car that goes up for sale shortly after being serviced?
    I see a fair few of them up for sale on the car giant site.

From a nice guy point of view the owner services car to increase sales value, from a suspicious point of view, the mechanics spotted something at the service that will need work, so the car is offloaded once it's been run as far as it can.

http://www.cargiant.co.uk/Skoda/Octavia/details-614743-Skoda-Octavia.asp?viewtype=0

I've read up on the mammoth import thread by the way.

Service history would be vital there.

The one you pointed to is the PD engine,
    Whie it is a good engine they did suffer injector issues which are covered under recall and should have been replaced. Again service history would verify this,

Then the PD engine was notorious for giving DPF trouble, The only long term solution for this is to take it to someone like Joe Power and get a DPF delete done and map out to suit, while getting that done you could get him to remap the car as well if you wished, I think it can give figures of 220 bhp and 340lbs/ft torque which makes it a different car to drive apparently.

The one I linked to is the CR engine.
    Much smoother to rive than the PD engine.
    I think I only ever heard of one or two giving DPF issues but as I say, it is rare enough.

Best thing is to drive one and see how you get on.

Thanks Vectra,

How can you tell that one is PD and the other CR? Is it purely an age thing or are there other identifiers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭noelf

If you're on the back or 'mountain' roads, do NOT under any circumstances get a black car. It will break your heart trying to keep it clean. You clean it today, and tomorrow its back to square one. Black shows up EVERYTHING. It has my head wrecked :mad:

in other words get a silver car

noelf wrote: »
    in other words get a silver car

It's the only colour that works!

Thanks Vectra,

How can you tell that one is PD and the other CR? Is it purely an age thing or are there other identifiers?

PD is rattly

CR is much quieter and smoother

CR came in here sometime around 2009 as far as I am aware.
    I know some UK models had the cr engine in 2008.

Open the bonnet and one of these will greet you.

PDvsCR.jpg