Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Japanese Classic Cars

• 30-10-2013 6:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭

I'm a bit of a Japanophile when it comes to cars. Highlighted most recently last weekend at the Ballinakill Classic & Vintage Show when the car I got most excited about was an automatic Mitsubishi Sapporo that was suffering a bit from tincan syndrome and looked to have gone quite a while without a wash.

Are there many on here with Japanese Classics? I've a 1984 Mazda RX-7 FB myself and would love to meet up with other owners of Japanese Classics. Maybe even set up some sort of club. Any interest in that? Outside of Toyota, there doesn't seem to be that many around the country. Maybe the Irish Toyota Classics Club would branch out to allow its brethren to join in the fun :pac:

Also, if anyone has a 70s Datsun 160j, 120y or B110 coupe they want to get rid of, I'd be interested in hearing about it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Between me and a friend have Datsun..
    79 Sunny 120Y saloon
    74 Sunny 120Y coupe
    74 Sunny 100A 4 door
    76 Cherry 100A Estate
    80 Cherry 100A FII
    81 Cherry N10 GL Coupe
    79 Violet 140J (Irish)
    79 Laurel 200L C230 (Irish)

And a 76 Mazda 929 plus a few examples of fairly modern Jap tin.

Yes, it's a disease...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jayo_M

Pictures, whenever you're ready ;) Particularly the 120y coupe, 140j, C230 and 929. Do you get them out often?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Probably not quite classic yet but it stinks of petrol, gets very hot and has no drivers aids what so ever so eh, it may as well be. :pac:

9942325803_55ce19e054_c.jpg
    Roadster by CianRyan, on Flickr

9942136404_211066f5cf_c.jpg
    Roadster by CianRyan, on Flickr

If that Eunos is classic, then ya can count my Eunos as being classic too ;)

'91 Eunos Presso V6
    402834_3727031375792_1830584902_n.jpg

'84 Mazda RX-7
    jpfst111.jpg

Two real beauties there, mate.
    You don't at all have a thing for Mazda's, do ya? Haha

You could say that :-D It was only ever Nissans in my house growing up, so I've got big Datsun love, except for a Presso V6 my Da bought that was identical to the one I gave no, except for the Mazdaspeed bits. I'm a sucker for nostalgia :-D

There was never anything decent in my house growing up, so I've had to break my own path. :p
    I'm a Nissan/Datsun fan boy at heart. If I could go out tomorrow and buy my perfect car it would be a 240Z.

Nice choice. I'd love to see that 240z on DD up close.

Most of it wasn't decent! All Almeras and Micras other than an 85 Cherry Turbo with a canvas top and a 98 200sx, but it bred dome brand loyalty into me haha.

Yeah it looks in great condition. It pains me how expensive they're getting lately though, especially seeing as they were made as an affordable, entry lever sports car.
    Definitely not entry level classics. :/ I'm always on the look out for a dog rough one to restore myself, only way I can see myself in one!

Ah here, an S14 in the family will turn anyone into a Nissan fan. Haha
    My dad had an Almera when I was younger too, he traded in a Lada for it so it was like an absolute luxury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Jap tin is the best. My daily is a 97 Accord 2.2 with 343.000 miles up and still runs like a clock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭junkyarddog

Couple of mine.
    First is my '78 Ke35,owned this for 20 years now.
    20130113_170234.jpg
    Got this lady in the shed too,a JDM Prelude 2.2 Vtec,love love love this car.
    Owned it since '02,my daily for 7 years,apart from coil failure it was totally reliable.
    Best car I have ever owned,she will see road again(when I can afford to tax it!)
    20130224_133455_zps265cc4a4.jpg

My cousin had a Ke just like that in Sydney, he was over visiting in 2007 and his mam sold it while he was here! :eek:
    Thankfully my mother knows better, that's just unforgivable.

Beautiful cars!

Love that KE :-)

I was tempted by a Prelude, always liked their shape and the interior, but the tax is a killer :-( My Presso is in a similar state st the minute!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 sam898

Closet Jap fan here too. We have a KP30 in the shed waiting to be restored and I'm combing the classifieds near daily for an early Celica TA22/23. Love the RX7 above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

1991 CRX and 1991 MR2 here. Probably won't be considered classic for another couple of years but next on the list is a Mark 1 MR2.

As someone mentioned above, it's a disease. Hell of a Datsun collection by the way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Very nice KE35,

I put a Gt 2.0 ltr twin cam twin 48 weber celica gt engine into a ke 35 corolla, 30 years ago, I reckon it did 0-60 in around 5 seconds.

Pic to follow .

I'll (hopefully) be heading out to Cars & Coffee this weekend at the Cherrywood Business Park in my RX-7, hopefully some of you guys make it out too :)

I'd love to, if I could ditch the girlfriend for a while.

Sure bring her out, she won't be the only WAG out there, that's for sure!

She'd absolutely kill me, she hates cars more than anything. Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭The Big Red Fella

This is my mates Carlos sainz!
    20121128_110641.jpg
    This is my 1976 Ta23
    polishing013.jpg
    131cleaningbodysealer001.jpg
    celica012.jpg
    This is in storage since 2009
    20130820_143314_zps99d2e9d4.jpg
    [IMG][/img]20130820_143301_zpsb71a26b7.jpg

I've always been a fan of CS models but they don't even compare to that ta23! Awesome machine, fair dues! Would love to get a look at that in the metal!

That Ta23! Holy crap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 sam898

polishing013.jpg

What an amazing looking car! Lucky man!

She is called "The Rusty Lady" well cos she used to be:D
    Picture14-1.jpg
    Picture7-3.jpg
    celica023.jpg
    celica021.jpg
    celica017.jpg
    127inprimer019.jpg
    20130314_100734_zpsa3ca7c80.jpg
    20130821_115420_zps7b339271.jpg
    20130821_130702_zpsa74990e0.jpg

Jesus I am super jealous of that. One of the cars I'd want in my dream garage! Fair play. If ya ever want to sell (why would you!) let me know haha. :-D

Not for sale i have it 13 years complete restoration all T3 control arms 4 links etc rose jointed adjustable whiteline swaybar lowered hardened stainless zort, electric windows all 4, c/l leather retrim tv dvd 3 screens, sent a rhd dash to canada to get the mirror stainless water cut! bootbuild some blast from her lol! this is my 12th ta22/23 celica i did own one ta40 !

Same dream I have for a 240Z, that's the kind of machine gay dreams are made of. :)

The Big Red Fella - do you have T3 coilovers on the Celica? I'm thinking of investing in some for my FB.

No i have Kyb inserts, Dobinson lowering springs, T3 roll centre adjusters & control arms, go for T3 stuff very high quality!

I was hoping some of you guys would have made it out to Cars & Coffee yesterday. Was an awesome turnout, great way to spend a Sunday morning. I don't know if I'll take the FB up over the winter months (fear of the salt :p) but it would be great to get some of these machines altogether in the one place. Let me know if any of ye plan on heading to C&C over the next few months! (First Sunday of every month without fail :) )