Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland 'capital of digital world'

• 30-10-2013 6:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭

Taoiseach Enda Kenny declared Ireland the new capital of the digital world today during a massive internet summit in Dublin where thousands of visitors struggled to get online.
    Innovators, investors and inventors from around the globe were left unable to showcase their businesses during the event at the RDS after the system apparently collapsed under the weight of internet traffic.
    Mr Kenny also shrugged off the embarrassment of international entrepreneurs being left without water during their stay in the capital because of a mystery problem with reservoir supplies.
    "It's been raining in Ireland for thousands of years," he said.
    "We've been well able to deal with shortages of water and surpluses of water.
    "I hope this matter can be resolved quickly."

Ah Enda. You utter plonker. Its at times like this I miss Cowen

Have to say the German salute is coming on well though

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/thousands-gather-ideas-festival-024844285.html#Ib9KSac

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Digital capital, assuming you don't use torrents

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Poor Enda is still using Etch-a-Sketch.

He hasn't a clue what's going on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Sharon Ní Bheoláin is lookin exceptionally hot this evening !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

digital cringe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Embarrassment overload right there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 sparesandwich

Jesus ****ing Christ spot the Irish bloke in that picture!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

Embarrassing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Just switched off Six-one news. Ridiculous to have the main evening national news transform itself into an hour-long advertisement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

"It's been raining in Ireland for thousands of years," he said.
    "We've been well able to deal with shortages of water and surpluses of water.
    "I hope this matter can be resolved quickly."

Wow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I don't get any of these conflab companies :( it's all gobbledygook :( who uses 'em? I don't :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Irish politician knows nothing of technology. Did he give any reasons why we would be? Must be all those multinationals coming here, Asia is the clothes capital of the world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Maybe they need more WiFi s.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 47 197th User Id

If theres anything the non-functioning wi-fi on our trains has thought me its that we're the digital capital of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

If we truly were the capital of the "digital world" then surely we'd be able to generate our own employment in this sector - rather than send Kenny in grovelling for foreign investment.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Digitial capital that blocks websites on a whim if certain companies ask for it. Any chance Ireland had of being referred to as a "digital-friendly country" ended with Sean Sherlock's crusade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Enda Kenny: We are the capital of the digital world.
    Reporter: Do you know what digital means?
    Enda Kenny: We have more fingers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

Maybe they need more WiFi s.

Hahahahahahahah brilliant! :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Lapin wrote: »

I'd eat the arse off her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

Some digital capital when you can't even get proper broadband in the middle of the biggest city in the country,never mind in rural or provincial towns.Kenny is talking out of his arse,as usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

It's the fuckin' Digitalis capital of the world the speed that folks are topping themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

All our international Internet fibers route through either the UK or the US, who we now know are collaborating to tap and spy on all international internet traffic.

So I'd say, with the datacenters of so many large online companies operating from here, we're the digital spying capital of the world, and any company that takes it's data being spied on seriously, should get the fúck out of Ireland.

Not a word from Enda about any of this spying though - you'd think he'd be worried about this threat to our economy.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

We're the e-hub of Europe don't ya known :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Digital jobs??

No thanks.

Sure we were better off when we were building houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Digital Capital of the world ? He hasn't seen my poxy mobile signal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

Pretty sure Enda means owners of Casio watches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

What a funny man, big chance to sell Ireland as a capable IT country and it fails because people can't get online.... so he talks about the weather :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Knob Longman

Gombeen to the core..Ireland 'capital of digital world', He is a lying cúnt..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭diograis

Digitial capital that blocks websites on a whim if certain companies ask for it. Any chance Ireland had of being referred to as a "digital-friendly country" ended with Sean Sherlock's crusade.

hilarious. Now when I want to use piratebay, I now have to type in "piratebay mirror" into youtube and click on the first link. Makes me want to buy CDs again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

"Digital Capital of the World"?? The closest this feckin' island gets to being any sort of "Digital Capital" is the fact that it's full of yahoos and tricksters. And IndaKinny() is a five-star ocean-going clodhopper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭diograis

jimgoose wrote: »
    "Digital Capital of the World"?? The closes this feckin' island gets to being any sort of "Digital Capital" is the fact that it's full of yahoos and tricksters. And IndaKinny() is a five-star ocean-going clodhopper.

agreed. He's embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

He doesn't half get carried away with himself at these things. Maybe if every home in the country had fibre optic broadband, then he can talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

RikkFlair wrote: »
    He doesn't half get carried away with himself at these things. Maybe if every home in the country had fibre optic broadband, then he can talk.

IRELAND ... CAPITAL OF THE DIGITAL WORLD ..... of warcraft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Edna The Overlord of the Digital World

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

Lapin wrote: »
    Wouldnt mind giving her a few digits!

Wahhhhhhhhhhheyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 326 ✭✭Savoir.Faire

Wouldnt mind giving her a few digits!

Wahhhhhhhhhhheyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!

Show her the latest advances in technology courtesy of your 3.5" floppy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Well, when we spawn a home-grown Google, Microsoft, Apple or even a Nokia, Ericsson, Alcatel, Siemens.. get back to me on the digital capital thing.

Until then, we're a digital medium sized town with a couple of Starbucks and a Tesco extra.

We could be *a* digital capital, but we need some big ideas and entrepreneurial attitudes to start thinking global rather than local. Access to finance is a big deal too and I think that's genuinely being worked on with access to bigger markets and investment pools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

Show her the latest advances in technology courtesy of your 3.5" floppy.
    Please stop fantasising about my equipment. It is very unbecoming.

I'll have you know my RAM is more than adequate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

diograis wrote: »
    hilarious. Now when I want to use piratebay, I now have to type in "piratebay mirror" into youtube and click on the first link. Makes me want to buy CDs again.

Google 'pirate proxy' ... first result

You're welcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Fix the fecking water Enda and we can be the capital of Waterworld as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

RikkFlair wrote: »

Guy at work was giving out about lack of broadband in his new house. It's way out the sticks, he knew the place had none when buying yet still it's the government's fault. The mind boggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

There are some rural houses here that are pretty much "off grid". I think we tend to forget that the development pattern in Ireland doesn't really help when it comes to rolling out utilities like broadband and even basic services like sewage and mains water.

Most continental European countries tend to have housing in clusters known as 'villages' and 'towns'. They're an interesting concept alien to most Irish planners.
    You can then put things like running water and fast broadband in rather than having to depend on a well and your own radio link!

There was a lot of slow movement on rolling out services though here and I think the lack of broadband services in some genuinely urban areas until very recently really was unforgivable.
    Eircom only started to react to demand when UPC really ate into their customer base. If it wasn't for that, I doubt we'd have had any movement on FTTC technology.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Shout Dust

Politician in exaggerating shocker. I think people are very negative, this has been reported in America and across Europe. It's a good advertisement and might help encourage companies to set up here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Shout Dust wrote: »
    Politician in exaggerating shocker. I think people are very negative, this has been reported in America and across Europe. It's a good advertisement and might help encourage companies to set up here.

The point is we have no home grown companies all our bright young minds are trapped in scambridge or currently doing a degree in something out date to relate to I.T or Leaving and taking there skills to other countries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Shout Dust wrote: »

Another "Come to Ireland" type campaign huh?

Come to Ireland, it's great.
    That's it.
    Thank you.

Oh, and we have a chancer here who won a €100k who would like to talk to you about creaming off a little off the top from your IP rights. Thanks. Door on the left there.